We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ortega's - CLOSED

Ortega's
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Clinton, CT
Level Contributor
175 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Ortega's in Groton is really good, so I tried this place because I heard it was the same family. Please do yourself a favor and stay away. Lousy atmosphere, food less than mediocre.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    2
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Should have known we’d be disappointed by the continuous lack of cars in the parking lot. There are never more than two cars in the parking lot of this restaurant. Unfortunate because this area, right on the shoreline, should be hopping all summer long. Food was mediocre at best, and the service was dismal. After visiting one time -- the only reason to even give the place a second glance -- is to see IF there are any cars in the lot, when passing by to visit another restaurant. Really wonder how this place is still in business.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Level Contributor
185 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Perfect, casual Mexican joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is no frills, nothing fancy Mexican food. My husband and I eat here regularly. We've sampled the menu and enjoy a variety of what they have. Compared to some of the Mexican in other towns, we've found this to be less pretentious (nobody is trying to add special sauces or "flair" to an old cuisine) and more predictably good. I've also gone here with large groups, and that has worked out well. I see the reviews where people complain that it's not fresh. I haven't had that experience, and after spending a lot of time in Texas I think that I have a pretty high standard of what good Mexican should be...simple food with a lot of taste.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank climberchica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Does not taste fresh as advertised”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I ate here for our anniversary. The place is very clean and nicely decorated. The food did not taste fresh, as advertised. I ordered guacamole, and it tasted like it came out of a jar. My enchilada's taste and texture were like frozen food heated up. The wait staff was pleasant upon entering, but became gruff when asked questions about choices. They advertise about 8 Flavors of margaritas, but they were out of the first 3 that I requested. We were disappointed and won't go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MightyPotanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
170 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Place with a past”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

So sad how many restaurants this place has been over the years. It's constantly changing hands, with the failing of another restaurant. I think the building is jinxed! Anyway, I did eat here just like I did every other restaurant that was here. Seems to be a lot of mixed reviews, but I thought it was good. Food was tasty, staff very friendly, and bathrooms incredibly clean. Too bad the parking lot is always empty...I see another changing of the guard in the near future.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ShorelineGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ortega's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing