We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day on water”

Indian River Marina
Ranked #3 of 13 things to do in Clinton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great day on water”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Yesterday my husband and I (from CO) rented a tandem kayak from Indian River Marina. We had to call for reservations since it was Sept and mid week. Off season. Cathy answered the phone immediately and with good information on tides and directions we headed off. The facility was clean and we noticed immediately what nice equipment they had. Clean and up-to-date. We rented at other places around the country and this by far was the best. The routes to take and safety information were given by Cathy. The map was easy to follow. Cathy told us about a lovely sandy island where we had lunch and just enjoyed walking around. If you only want to rent for an hour it is worth the time. If you want to go longer you will find more than enough places to go and still not see everything. The prices were fair and it is a lot of fun. We didn't go on the sound and had more than enough places to kayak. It is for all levels of experience. We are in our 70's and had no problem. We certainly hope to return when we come back to CT and HIGHLY recommend you rent your kayak, paddle board or canoe here. Read the other reviews. They give more information. No need to repeat. It was a wonderful day. Thanks Cathy.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ginger j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First Rate Operation”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My sister and I rented kayaks from Indian River for the first time, and boy are we glad we did. We will be back, for sure. The facility and equipment is clean, well maintained, and has restrooms where one can change clothes, if needed. The people were nice and very knowledgeable. They provide a laminated map of the area, which fits neatly under the straps of the kayak so that it can be viewed while paddling. There were several choices of kayak types, and plenty of boats when we went. After a succinct safety review by Kathy from the Marina, launching was a piece of cake. Lots of interesting things to look at in the area, and there was plenty of good bird watching when we went. I can't wait to do this again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank marianna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, CT
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great kayaking experience”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Thanks to TripAdvisor we found a great new place to kayak. My wife and I had a friend with us so we needed to rent a third boat. Cathy at Indian River Marina was terrific and she has a great launching area. She provides a good selection of kayaks and all the necessary equipment, but she also gives you an excellent overview of the area with a map and photos of landmarks.

The Indian River leads into Clinton Harbor which is fun, but you can also venture into two other rivers from there or head out into the Long Island Sound. Lots of good kayaking adventure that can be easily tailored to a novice skill level or expert.

Clean bathroom and changing facilities are just a plus.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MeridenTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great kayaking experience”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Following the advise of other TripAdvisor reviews, we went to Clinton's Indian River Marina to kayak. My wife and I have our own equipment, but we had a guest with us who needed a rental. Cathy and her staff were most helpful. We were allowed to launch at no cost because our friend rented. (If you just want to launch, there is a modest parking/launching fee).
Nice faciltiy with clean bathrooms and a changing room.
Cathy provides a laminated map of the area and provides a helpful orientation including photos to help paddlers new to the area. It is helpful because there are many alternative areas to paddle. The Indian River feeds into the Clinton Harbor. From there you can access two other rivers or paddle around several marinas. If you are more experienced, you can venture out into Long Island Sound.
The tide is not a major factor due to plenty of good channels, but of course high tide allows you to enter many more areas than are available at low tide.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mainelovers1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent place to visit”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This place has a ton of kayaks for rent with a quick and informative instruction piece in the beginning. Its is safe and fun for all ages and the staff is extremely friendly and knowledgeable. The river is beautiful and you have a short paddle to the town beach or Cedar Island. Love it!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimbys K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian River Marina also viewed

 

Been to Indian River Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing