We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a Place for Friday Night Pizza” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vespucci's

Vespucci's
Ranked #5 of 51 Restaurants in Cheshire
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cheshire, Connecticut
1 review
“Not a Place for Friday Night Pizza”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had an abysmal experience picking up my pizza. Got there after calling ahead and being told to come in 45 minutes, and then had to wait ANOTHER 45 minutes. Pizza wasn't that good either--many better choices around town. Don't bother with this place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    57
    16
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
82 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“As close to home made as you can get”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This restaurant has been around for over nine years and this week was the first time that I had an opportunity to check it out. It was packed so it took a little longer than expected to get served but we wound up placing it with the owner's son who saw the need to assist instead of just supervising. He boasted how his dad has been the primary chef since it opened.
The chicken soup was better than I make at home and my veal entry was so tender and drenched with lemon sauce like I prefer, and the vegetable side dish was just as enticing. It also came with a salad, freshly baked bread, and a dish of rice. Even had a couple of scoops of vanilla gelato which I usually pass on. Noticed all the while there, a large number of take out orders for pizza and other items kept coming in. To say this place is popular is certainly accurate, and after finally enjoy my perfectly prepared meal, I can see why!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Waiter was preoccupied and meal was tainted...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I have only been there twice now and I will never return again and I will tell everyone I know of the terrible service. I ordered a smoked salmon sandwich it came with sweet potato fries. We asked for water and our waiter brought it to us in plastic cups and no straws. I had to look around for straws and couldn't find any. So, I walk towards the entrance and found a waitress hiding in the kitchen alcove picking her nails with a straw. Anyway, I got the straws and went back to my group. So shortly thereafter we were served our lunch order. I couldn't believe they used stale bread and spoiled salmon, the sandwich was suppose to be dressed with arugula with dressing and cheese of some sort. It was awful, the salmon was thick and off color. I pointed it out to the waiter when he graced us with his presence, he was so preoccupied with a couple of other patrons who were discussing realty. We were three guests of a total of 5 people in the place. I am shocked that he didn't even offer me anything else to eat or offer to take something off the bill.

I was violently ill the next morning and it pretty much lasted all day. I will never return again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JuwelsMorelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
76 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food, great service- and at a reasonable price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We live in Cheshire and love Vespucci's for both a great pizza for take out or a nice dinner on a date night. The food is really good and we have always had great service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank noworriesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
120 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Close by”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Went here last night for the first time.
The menu has a good variety of classic italian items, along with a few nice steak options. I requested Filet with au poivre instead of the bernaise it comes with, it showed up with bernaise, but not a big deal because the bernaise was tasty. Filet was cooked perfectly. house made mashed was nice but could use a touch of garlic. Green beans were over cooked for my liking, Classic presentation.

My wife had the lobster rav and liked it alot. I doubt these are made in house, but you never know. Even if they are bought, they looked to be of very high quality. Basil/Pesto Cream sauce on that was a unique pairing, but worked.
I had a taste of the Tortellini Alla Romano and thought it was great. It's pretty much a carbonara sauce, which is one of my favs.
House wines were passable, we didnt have dessert.
Server was very attentive and kitchen was fast. A+ except for the incorrect sauce
Prices are fair for the area.

Hoping to see a rabe, sausage, white bean app, but there wasnt one currently on the menu. Maybe next time, We will be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MATTfromCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vespucci's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing