We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Local Gem with Amazing Food and Service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of C.J. Sparrow Pub & Eatery

C.J. Sparrow Pub & Eatery
Ranked #17 of 51 Restaurants in Cheshire
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Level Contributor
82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Local Gem with Amazing Food and Service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

My husband and I just tried CJ Sparrows this past week as we had a Living Social coupon. We could NOT have been MORE impressed with the food, drink, and the service was exceptional. Our waitress was beyond friendly and personable and gave us great recommendations. The menu has everything from burgers (amazing!!!) to ahi tuna and everything in between. The smoked gouda appetizer is to DIE FOR!!!! We both had burgers and they were top notch. The also offer local Cheshire made beer that my hubby loved and their martinis are out of this world. Can't say enough great things about our experience - we will back many more times!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ljp2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cranston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to catch a bite & pint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I live in a neighboring state, so when friends took me to C.J. Sparrows, I was delightfully surprised. The food tastes great, bar service is fast and friendly, its affordable, and the staff are knowledgeable and welcoming.

I always try to stop in whenever I am in town. If you're in the area, I highly suggest you stop in. They even have events from time to time (like karaoke, I believe).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ezriela86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
105 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

Seven people met here for a mini-reunion. We were given a great table in the back. Everyone had a good time with good food. The oriental salad is hardly pub food served in a large wooden bowl big enough for a family! The special appetizer we had was the bomb. Great plaace for singles, couples or friends in a cozy atmosphere. The band playing was extremely good and most of us danced. A good time by all.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Loretta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food and Nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The martinis are great, I like to see what comes out of the kitchen before I order, usually that helps me decide. Not this time everything that came out of the kitchen looked great. I had the onion soup yummy. I then had the pastrami really good and I love the cole slaw. The peanut butter pie is amazing, I had one to go too We will be back, a little hard to find at night but once you get in everyone is very friendly, I like that. Will be back this month.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dormaggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
229 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Suprisingly Good Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

C. J. Sparrow's sits in a small strip mall and is almost not visible from the street. Parking is limited in the front but there is plenty around back. The overall experience with the food was very good. Sparrows has a surprisingly large menu and a list of daily specials that exceeds what one would expect in a small pub like establishment. They are particularly known for their burgers and mine was cooked perfectly and nicely served. I rated the place a bit lower because of the overall ambience and cleanliness. It could use some sprucing up to go along with its excellent menu. If you like good food at a reasonable price, this is the place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DACETC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C.J. Sparrow Pub & Eatery also viewed

 

Been to C.J. Sparrow Pub & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing