We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of Chundu Island Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zambezi National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chundu Island Camp
Reviewed December 30, 2013

John and Sarah immediately welcome you into their camp as if it is your own home, with welcome drinks and snacks and discuss what you want to do with your time on the island. The rooms are lovely, with mosquito nets and huge beds. The outdoor bathrooms are luxurious! We were there in the low season but still managed to see buk, hippos and crocodiles. The open campfire is fantastic to sit around after amazing meals with John and Sarah and their library is open to quests, with everything from native wildlife to Jamie Oliver. Will definitely be back. Ps be sure to try all the local hot sauces!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 30 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

Stayed here for the first three days of our second trip to Zim at the end of November. Stunning location, lovely rooms, excellent service and really good food. The hosts were away but we were left in the very capable hands of Holly and Stewart, who made our stay wonderful. Unexpectedly good game viewing given we were outside of the dry season, including a leopard and elephants drinking from the Zambezi.
Would not visit Zim again without staying here.
The only negative was that we should have booked for longer!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 12345Xyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at Chundu Island in early November for 2 nights. I wished I had of booked for longer. It was beautiful. The hosts, Jon and Sarah made my experience even better with their warm and pleasant personalities. My chalet was beautiful - and the outdoor shower was luxurious!

We saw lots of wildlife– including elephants, elan and the shy finfoot.

Will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This really is a once in a lifetime experience, we spent two nights and it wasn't long enough! Jon and Sarah were fantastic hosts with such warm hearts. We were delighted with our chalets - they are very luxurious and we had the most comfortable beds in our whole time in zim. The showers are amazing and the water is always hot. We had river cruises, game drives and a nature walk. We saw elephant, hippos, zebra, giraffe, buffalo, eland, sable, wildebeest and a jackal. This is also bird watchers paradise and we saw too many to mention, including a schalow's turaco which my husband was delighted about! The food was wonderful - Sarah was cooking whilst we were there and she really did herself proud! Thank you so much jon and sarah for a wonderful stay,we will never forget it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane-ewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Recently, I was fortunate enough to visit Zimbabwe for the first time, and even more fortunate to have been staying at Chundu Island! Our hosts, Jon and Sarah, picked us up in the town of Victoria Falls and we began a one hour game drive through the Zambezi National Park, tracing the River, to the camp. It didn’t take us long to spot the first game as we encountered an elephant road-block... This presented the first of many magnificent photographic opportunities during our stay.

Chundu Island is an island in the magnificent Zambezi River, only accessible to those staying at the Chundu Island Camp. It seemed as if we were treated to a private sanctuary in the middle of the Zambezi National Park, a place where we could truly unwind and soak up the unspoilt nature.
We arrived to a delicious lunch and then were showed to our tent. I couldn’t believe my eyes when I opened to door to a kind-sized bed with crisp, white cotton linen that engulfed me during my afternoon siestas. I also loved the en-suite outdoor bathroom, where I enjoyed many a lingering shower under the stars.

We will most certainly be visiting Chundu Island again. Until then I will dream of the view from the deck over the Zambezi, being serenaded by hippos and watching the thirsty game drink from the opposite bank.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roanna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A camp on an island on the Zambezi in a National Park not far from Victoria Falls, what more can you ask for! We were delighted to spend three nights with Jon and Sarah and the resident bush buck on chundu Island. We spent mornings doing bird walks on the island followed by boat cruises along the banks of the Zambezi and in the afternoon we went on game drives in the National park. The bird life was amazing ( African Skimmers, rock pratincoles, Brownhooded Kingfishers, white fronted bee eater ) as well as the wildlife that we saw ( Elephants 100+, Buffalo, Hyena, Ant Bear and many more ). We slept amazing well in comfortable beds and ate great food. Chundu Island was the end point of our three week trip and it was also the highlight.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trebern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Chundu is so close to bustling Victoria Falls, only 15km upstream yet so far away from civilization, you feel you are in paradise. We spent one night as [part of a group of 6 and Sarah and Jon made us so welcome. Great food service and warm hospitality. This is a birders paradise, with specials such as Finfoot, Pels Fishing Owl, Half Collared Kingfisher and Rock Pratincole on your front doorstep. We even saw a Finfoot from the bar area! Go there before the masses find out. Awesome!

Room Tip: All rooms face the river so any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChrisW311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah N, Manager at Chundu Island Camp, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Thanks Chris for the review! Was so great to have you all out here. Recently seen the Shalow's Turaco in the bar area which was a real treat (the Finfoot is still cruising around in front of the deck) and we saw the African Skimmers in the beach on the western end. So looking forward to having you back for a visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chundu Island Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chundu Island Camp

Address: 22kms Upstream | Zambezi River Victoria Falls, Zambezi National Park, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Zambezi National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Zambezi National Park
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A private Eco Lodge set 22kms upstream along the Zambezi River on an island, Zimbabwean side. Close enough to the Falls to enjoy all it has to offer, but far enough away to experience authentic African hospitality. Small and personal with only six lodges the Camp is a favourite for "off the beaten track" guests as well as individual travellers. Camp managers Sonia and Garry and their gracious staff, along with a sprinking of up close and personal game encounters, make this an excellent choice. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing