We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Great German Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Trattoria

La Trattoria
Ranked #4 of 36 Restaurants in Canton
Price range: $14 - $44
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
West Hartford, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Another Great German Night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Once again the staff at La Trattoria has excelled with another of their German Nights. These are held twice a year and not to be missed. The food was delicious and the best Weiner Schnitzel I had since leaving Germany. All the fixings and extras were appreciated.The ambiance as usual was super. Our server who was new to German Night made our evening pleasant and enjoyable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    25
    12
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
411 reviews
279 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 465 helpful votes
“Very nice ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Last minute decision. We have lived 10 minutes away from this restaurant for 12 years, but other than a going to a private party, we had never been there. We will be back. Varied menu, very tasty and fresh. Chicken francese was crisp, subtle lemon sauce, fresh pasta. helpful friendly staff. large drinks. great fresh bread. Peanut butter pie for dessert was wonderful. only complaint was that the ceasar salad was not a ceasar salad. no cheese, no anchovies, just romaine lettuce and a forgettable dressing. It will not keep me from going back, though. Everything else was great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MMouseMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Run down and sticky”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

Sorry Trattoria. For many years you were THE place to go for a special treat. But after a long absence and a return to visit the area you have dissappointed us with less than mediocre french onion soup, stale bread, expensive oysters the size of a pea, and a fra diavolo with a tomato sauce that appeared thickened with corn starch. All at high end prices. We will not go back until you renovate those booths, remove the disgusting carpet and cook well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank msototar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
244 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Dinner on a rainy day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Service was good. Dinner was okay. The figs stuffed with blue cheese as an appetizer were good. One of us had the salmon with mashed cauliflower & spaghetti squash with marinara sauce. The salmon was dry. The cauliflower was like eating oatmeal - blah and mushy. The spaghetti squash must have been the end of what was available as there was a big piece of rind in it. The marinara sauce over-poweed the delicate taste of spaghetti squash. The mussel appetizer was okay. On the Olio Santo dinner you received 4 shrimp and you couldn't taste the garlic or red pepper flakes that were supposed to be in it. A large amount of spaghetti.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RGM-PJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“La Trat Treats Us Like Family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

My family and I are big fans of La Trat in Canton. We go at least once a month - and if my parents happen to be visiting, this has become the go-to place for all of us to have dinner together. The staff know my kids by name, and they treat everyone with such care - it shows every time. This is the first thing that keeps us coming back.

Of course, the other reason is the food. There is truly something for everyone on the menu, and if you don't see something you want or are in the mood for, just ask - they will make it happen. For instance, my oldest is a vegetarian, and while much of the menu has a meat component to it, if she asks for something to suit her needs, it is never an issue.

The food is always delicious - and the portions are large. They are one of the few places in the area that still offer traditional, table-side preparations of things like Caesar salad and Steak Dianne - the flambe for that one is really fun to watch!

One thing to note, give yourself enough time to enjoy your meal - this isn't an eat-and-run kind of place. This is leisurely dining, and you'll be happy to make the time. We're big fans of La Trat, and will be back again soon!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ContentQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Trattoria also viewed

 

Been to La Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing