We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel Living, Swiss Style”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maya Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nax
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Going by a majority of the other reviews and the nice website, we booked this place for a 3 night stay. We decided to check out after the first night, for no fault of the establishment or its owners - the owners were absolutely lovely, in fact. But we made up our mind to write this review to tell everyone what the other reviews DON'T tell you.

First, the PROS:
- Lovely owners, very courteous and welcoming
- Spectacularly clean and crisp place
- Nice views 9though hardly the best in Switzerland!)
- Fairly peaceful
- Pretty nice place for its class (mid-range motel-style living)
- All rooms are identical but use different local wood, which is a nice little touch.

Now, the CONS:
- NOT a design hotel. Yes, it is made of straw. However, does that have any palpable impact on your experience here? No. Does the design honour the fact that it is made of straw? Not really, apart from the fact that every room has a straw "window", where it hasn't been covered up by wood.
- Tiny, stuffy rooms, poor space planning. All rooms are more or less the same size and are pretty poorly planned. At 20sqm, you get two single beds pushed together, a small table, an armchair that is too big for the room, a huge and not very pretty floor lamp, two tiny bedside tables with unremarkable lamps, a "wardrobe" space that is in effect an open shelving system, not quite enough for two adults, and a cramped bathroom with poorly designed drainage and a somewhat fancy but completely ineffective ventilation system. We had to move some furniture around just to be able to walk around the bed, to free up some space.
- All rooms are lined up against two open porches / decks / balconies on either side - exactly like a motel! So you get no privacy whatsoever when you step out of your cramped room. You don't even get much privacy when you are inside your room as the doors are glass fronted, so you have to keep the curtains drawn, which doesn't do much to improve the feeling of claustrophobia in the room.
- The bathroom floods as soon as you start taking a shower. And there is nothing you can do about it. The fancy and massive shower head is in fact disproportionate to the size of the bathroom, and at least in our bathroom, the floor gradient wrong, leaving us with a permanent puddle. Plus, the "shower curtain" is effectively a very narrow strip of curtain that doesn't actually curtain anything. Result: a permanently soggy, partly-flooded bathroom.
- The room was too stuffy and hot in August, and the only way out was to leave the door open - in which case, you had road noise and no privacy.
- While it overlooks a beautiful vista on one side, the property is just by the side of the main village road, which means you overhear all (albeit sparse) traffic that goes past, and again - no privacy.
- The village is pretty characterless - all new-builds and nothing to see or do. We couldn't eat in the in-house restaurant because the menu didn't suit us, so we walked down to the only Italian place in the village on the recommendation of the host. (This meal was amazing and was the highlight of our stay in Nax!)
- The "garden" area is wild grass, un-mowed and full of chirping crickets and bees - if you fancy lying in the grass and reading a book, or even walking barefoot, you do so at your own peril. So your options are: cramped room, shared deck space with no boundaries, or roadside wilderness.
- Poor bedding - while it may be organic and eco-friendly, the sheets were rough-spun and therefore uncomfortable to sleep on, the "pillow" was a large, uncomfortable euro-sham (square cushion style thing) - one per person, the mattress was rock hard (and we prefer firm mattresses!). Did not sleep well.

Cannot comment on the food as we did not eat here.

We were attracted to this place for its eco-friendly credentials and the fact that they sell it as a peaceful haven - it is certainly eco-friendly but very uncomfortable, and peaceful only if you shut yourself in your room, or are happy relaxing communal style in full view of the village road.

Not our thing, unfortunately. To their credit, the owners promised us a refund if they managed to re-sell our room. Again, no fault of the owners, it is just not the type of place we like to stay in.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travellingflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayaguesthouse, Inhaber at Maya Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to publish your review about our hotel.
We perfectly understood, as you explained us, that our location was not lively enough to meet your expectations and that you were looking for a more touristic destination.
Indeed, our region is great for soft tourism. Guests who choose our destination are looking for peacefulness close to nature.

We are sorry to read that so many other points appeared negative to you. The perception of every one can differ; however, we would like to clarify some of your points:


We are surprised that you found our 21m2 large rooms too tiny and that you had to move furniture around. As a matter of fact, the room you occupied is especially designed for persons with special needs. The space between the furniture and the walls is large enough to move around in a wheel chair.
The bathroom equipment is from an Italian design company called “Gessi”. As one can see on our own and the guests pictures the equipment is of high quality and reflects the spirit of the house. All furniture is hand made by a local cabinet maker who very frequently wins prices with his works. We are sorry to hear you did not like them.

Our hotel is the last house at the end of a 400 inhabitants mountain village. The small street leading to us is the end of this village, before the meadows begin. It is not the main street. On the contrary, it is extremely quiet as there is no transit.

Our garden is mowed every week. The wild grass you mention is actually the prairies surrounding our property. These flowery prairies are actually the beauty of our mountain village.

The day you stayed was indeed a hot August day. However, the particularity of this straw bale construction is that it creates a very healthy and comfortable living climate inside. The temperatures in the rooms are surprisingly fresh in summer and warm in winter.

Regarding the dinner, I personally kindly offered you to adapt the menu because of your food allergies but you declined my offer. Your wife seemed to be allergic to fish, beef, vegetable and everything else we proposed. The only thing we could not offer was pizza, because it was too late to make the dough.

We are surprised you mention single beds pushed against each other because we don’t have any single bed in our hotel. All our rooms are equipped with king size beds. You can read on other Tripadvisor comments how people appreciate the quality of our bedding (read the comment “where one can rediscover the meaning of 'sleep'”). Every morning our guests tell us how well they sleep.

You mentioned the flooding in the bathroom. We checked everything and could not find anything in particular. There was no flooding whatsoever, at least when one person at a time was having a shower.

We read your other reviews of other hotels. You seem to complain about the same things in most hotels even if they are in different countries.

Finally I would like to comment on your early departure. You wrote that you booked the hotel for three nights. In fact your booking was made for four nights. You left this place because it was too quiet for you. You told us that nothing was wrong with our hotel but that you expected something more like Zermatt. We took one night off after you threatened us to put a negative comment on various platforms. I agreed not to charge you for the whole stay even though we were entitled to and we have to pay commission for all of it. We promised to refund you if we could rent the room to somebody else, but unfortunately this was not the case. I think it is highly disappointing that people are given the opportunity to press hotel owners by abusing reviews and giving false details. This leads to misinformation for other travelers and a great damage to the travel industry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
There are newer reviews for Maya Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 189 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Worm welcome and a hot cup of coffee was waiting for us when we arrived.
This guest house (I would say A boutique hotel) feels like brand new, well designed and great location for skiers, hikers, travelers with family .
The perfect location, 15 min from Sion , on a mountain in the village of NAX , make this place perfect to relax, hike, and enjoy great food with the best view in Swiss.

Mountain view from any point any room , amazing sunsets!

We traveled with our 1.5 years old baby, they took care of everything we needed, always with smile. really makes you feel at home.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED , great facilities.

Room Tip: 8 different rooms , each made from different kind of wood- WOW
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yahavc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayaGuesthouse1973, Owner at Maya Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Hello Yahavc,

thank you very much for your review. We miss you and your lovely family already.
We are looking forward to meeting you again at the Maya Guesthouse.

Love

Lisa and Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

It's an original concept that deserves to be encouraged: a hotel made of straw. The people who run it are really friendly and do their utmost to be of assistance. The place is quiet, with exceptional views of the mountains. The bed was confortable. They put a small choices of books in your room. We were disappointed to have only a shower, but it was our fault, since we did not look carefully at the website.

The main and actually small downsides are:
- it's a bit in the middle of nowhere. So perfect if you plan on going hiking or if you want to rest. Less good if you want to grab a coffee and croissant in a village in the morning.
- it's communal style, with a shared big balcony and a shared diner table in the evening. So be prepared to meet the other guests and chat.
- as mentioned previously, a bath tub would be enjoyable after a long walk. But the shower worked well too.
- the room is a bit bare, but that's of course a personal/subjective view.

Try it for an original experience and for the beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayaGuesthouse1973, Propriétaire at Maya Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Hi,
Thank you very much for staying at the Maya Guesthouse and for your review and recommendation.
The location is indeed very quiet. This is actually exactly the reason why we chose these place to build our hotel, far away from mass tourism.
The peacefulness and stunning view are an invitation to "dolce farniente". It is also the perfect starting point for hiking at any season.
It is our conceptual choice to have a minimalist design in our bedrooms inspired by natural materials, to offer a relaxing atmosphere. We hope you felt anyway comfortable in our "Pear Tree" room.
Thanks again for recommending the Maya Guesthouse and we sincerely hope to see you back for another romantic stay.
Kind Regards
Lisa and Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

  End of March 2013 ,I was looking for  somwhere where my sister could  learn skiing  and I could walk . By accident  I find an  accommodation in  Nax in Swiss Alp  by Swiss.com.
I immidiatley booked it for three unforgettable  nights.
I never been in this part of Switzerland and I  didn't know what to expect. 
What we found was a fantastic guesthouse which was made of straw bales and the whole building was Eco friendly with  an amazing view and sunny weather and friendly  host.
The rooms were well designed  by local craft man by using local  natural  wood and  the bathroom was designed  by  top the range Italian bathroom fittings  .
The rooms were large, light and fresh.The beds were  fresh ,clean  and comfortable.
The breakfast and dinners were made  of fresh of local product  by local chef . The homemade marmalade were amazing( made by Lisa's mother).

Be able to sit in the Sun in the balcony in the afternoon ,  greeted by kind people like Lisa and louis ,have  a warm cup of tea  ,watch Swiss Alps covered by  snow  and breath fresh air  was an unforgettable memory.

 Lisa and Louise  are unique people ,they are welcoming, warm,friendly , helpful and they make you to feel at home  all the time 

Maya house is unique place with Lisa and Louise.Highly recommended.

Simin from Iran

Room Tip: Clean and fresh rooms. Good afternoon tea and home made cakes ,fresh ,healthy food , good breakfas...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Persians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayaGuesthouse1973, Owner at Maya Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for your nice review. We appreciated very much having you here with us. We enjoyed your company and the conversations. We are already looking forward to welcoming you again in our straw bale hotel.

Louis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We booked at Maya by chance, we were just looking for some nice place to stay for one night near Sion. The guesthouse is well situated, not too far from the highway, but already in the mountains. The hosts are very warm and welcoming persons and they have set up a project that suits them very well. The quality of materials chosen, of the bedding, were remarkable and we slept strikingly well - the atmosphere in the rooms was very pure, it has to be the straw effect!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maillart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was simply looking for a place to stay during the Rallye du Valais...what I found was a fantastic and new B&B in a superb location and mainly for me, in the middle of one of the rally stages! The owners, Louis and Lisa made me feel truely at home with a fantastic evening meal, a great breakfast and overall great service. The room had everything I needed and the whole construction and Engineering behind was as well impressive. I am definetely taking the whole family soon.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
Thank Carlos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

WOW!
We were one of the first guest in the newly opened straw bale hotel Maya Guesthouse in the Swiss Valais.

It is amazing! The walls were one meter thick, just the depth of the straw bale. The rooms were purely natural. The walls covered with clay, the sealing was made out of wood. The furniture was all hand made by local artist. They used local wood to furbish each room with a different type of wood. The bathrooms were very modern with italian design.
Never slept so good. Was it the fact that no noise came from the outside (even between the rooms they used 1 meter thick straw bales), or the fresh air in the Swiss Alps, or the fact that for the first time we experienced a completely chemical free environment? We do not know. What we do know is that they did not save money on the bedding. The mattresses were just right and the duvet the finest quality.

In the morning we were served local delicatessen for breakfast together with home made bread out of the wooden stove. Incredible, but the oven even produces hot water for our showers just by using the exceeding heat.

All in all it was an unique experience. The little village of Nax is very picturesque and the landscape around it just breathtaking.

We will certainly get back to the Maya Guesthouse for our next vacation. This time we will stay a little longer to benefit from the micro climate in Nax.

Lisa and Louis were the hosts one wants to have when being on holidays.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdaskal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nax
7.8 mi away
Hotel Nendaz 4 Vallees & Spa
2.0 mi away
Hotel Des Vignes
Hotel Des Vignes
#1 of 1 in Uvrier
65 reviews
20.9 mi away
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
Chalet Hotel Schoenegg
#12 of 111 in Zermatt
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
452 reviews
6.0 mi away
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
#1 of 41 in Crans-Montana
285 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Baths of Saillon
The Baths of Saillon
#1 of 1 in Saillon
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maya Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maya Boutique Hotel

Address: Linzerbot, Nax 1973, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Nax
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nax
Price Range: $228 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maya Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Maya Boutique Hotel is the first Hotel built entirely with straw bales. Nestled between fields and meadows it thrones on a high plateau just above the capital of the Valais, Sion. Enjoy the stunning view over the Bernese Alps and the nature around the hotel. Each of the eight rooms is dedicated to a different type of wood of which the furniture was made by hand. The straw bale walls create a very cozy living climate and get you rest and a pleasant sleep. All rooms have their private Italian designed glass bathroom.New! The Scandinavian Barrel SaunaEnjoy unforgettable and relaxing moments in the new Scandinavian barrel sauna with the round panoramic window.The Maya Boutique Hotel is the ideal hide-away for a romantic escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Maya Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing