We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"God's Waiting Room!" Great Place, Great Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hearth

Hearth
Ranked #8 of 63 Restaurants in Brookfield
Price range: $0 - $13
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“"God's Waiting Room!" Great Place, Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

Yes, a lot of people call the Hearth, "God's Waiting Room" because, frankly, the majority of its customers are elderly and very elderly. (My Wife and I are exceptions, thank you). But don't let that scare you off. Yes, the decor is reminiscent of a long-ago era and the only change that we've noticed in years is the replacement of the amber water glasses with clear! There's be a completely different dining experience if anythng major was changed. Boy will you be served delicious, home-cooked food. Bob, the owner, prepares the food right at his station that faces you as you walk in. You may not believe it so you'll have to try it yourself but his New York Sirloin is better than I've had at Jim Barbarie's in Danbury. Yes, I swear it! The food is consistent and consistently delicious and the wait staff has a witty, sharp sense of humor. If you're ready to dole it out, you'd better be able to take it. Are you reading this, Dee?

I wholeheartedly recommend the Hearth. You'll not only enjoy the food but you'll enjoy the experience. Don't be shy!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Bins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    18
    4
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Salem, NY
Level Contributor
122 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good enough but hardly great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

The Sunday night we visited the clientele was definitely of the older set. By contrast the wait staff was quite young as if the grandkids were waiting on their grandparents. The restaurant feels like the sort of place you would find in a rural area, quiet with comfortable warm/woody decor, nothing fancy; a step above a diner. Our meal tasted quite a bit better than it looked. You can eat here fairly inexpensively for the area if you choose to. The service was attentive. From where I sit neither a 1 star or 5 star rating seems even possible, and a 4 is a stretch. So a 3 it is.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Swegnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sourthern New England
Level Contributor
122 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Been going for years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I have been going here for years. We enjoy the early bird specials. Food is plain and simple just as we like it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jbackus8746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Can't Say Enough Good Things About the Hearth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

December 7th, 2013 - needed a nice place for a family celebration of our mother's 90th birthday. There were 18 of us, no children. The room was beautifully decorated for the holidays, the tables placed in a U-shape which facilitated conversation. The service was impeccable and the food fantastic. Soup AND salad, entree choice of sliced steak, baked scrod, or stuffed chicken breast (pre-selected and choices communicated to them a week before). Fresh green beans, a twice-baked loaded potato, basic beverage, peach cobbler ala mode = $18.95 per person, including tax and 15% tip, to which we added another 5%. I cannot use too many superlatives to describe our experience there!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Judi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, CT
Level Contributor
328 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Old reliable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

I've been eating at the Hearth for 50 years now, it's just a comfortable place to go. We used to kid that only old folks would eat there but I'm in that group now and enjoyed my lunch.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robstainedglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hearth also viewed

 

Been to Hearth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing