We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reliable Food and Diverse Menu”

Applewood Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #14 of 136 Restaurants in Bristol
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Southbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
95 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Reliable Food and Diverse Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Applewood has evolved over the years from a place that I used to avoid to one that I now frequent about once a week. Significant improvements in the preparation of the food, along with their participation in the American Airlines Dining Program have made me a true devotee of this place.

As with most diners, you can get just about anything you want. What makes Applewood different is that most dishes are handled very well Daily specials are truly that...special. You can get Baked Stuffed Shrimp, a three course meal, for $10.95. You can't beat that! Also, some special treats include their burgers which leave the fast food places in the dust and the outstanding lobster bisque on Saturday nights.

Service is fast and friendly in a clean, comfortable setting and a convenient location. There is outdoor seating but I've never seen anyone occupy that area. Most diners evidently decide not to opt for the charm of eating a few feet from Farmington Ave. traffic.

See you there as I continue to eat my way to my next vacation!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank REGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    21
    10
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
82 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“gourmet food at a diner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We go to this diner at least twice a month sometimes more. It is our go to when we can't agree. We have had a lot of their specials. The fish is what we mostly eat because we know it is fresh and not frozen. If he runs out of fresh, he will tell you its frozen. Always fresh vegetables and real mashed potatoes. The turkey dinner is real turkey. The soups are made daily. We especially like clam chowder on Friday and Saturday is lobster bisque. He has also been doing lately lobster dinner specials. He always has fresh clams and scrod. Great food at good prices.The dinners include soup and salad. Most specials are 10.95.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arubaduke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ct
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Typical diner. Went during the big outage last year. Was surprised.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

This isn't the typical place we eat. The storm took out the towns power for weeks and thus was one of the open ones.
Portions are just right, no wasted or over eating. Very inexpensive . fast service, decent coffee!! ( I shudder over most inexpensive eateries coffees.)
The prices make this a local hang out for seniors and families. Much better then fast foods (M and B places that only offer you heart attacks and obesity )

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cherlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
227 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall of amazing food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Awesome disco fries!!! Sadly they use to give u a large amount but cut back and give a small plate. The food doesn't take long to cook. The French test is the best around.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leahb1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, CT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Just like a home alsmost”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Friendly place...Owners care about diners...Staff is experienced...Food is good solid American fare, plus some ethnic dishes...Greek salad is tasty and french dip is above average...Good breakfasts too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank editor01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Applewood Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Applewood Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing