We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bridgeport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bridgeport
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pricey for what you get”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The rooms are large and clean, but that's where it ends for the price. There was little service--1 person working the desk so you had to stand in line every time you needed anything. Slow service when something needed in your room. We only stayed for a night on our way to another location, but I was underwhelmed. The bell captain was nice, inexpensive parking...

Room Tip: Pick another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for the feedback about the Bridgeport Holiday Inn. We appreciate it. We certainly apologize your stay was less than outstanding. That is definitely not our standard and we will use this information to make sure others are not disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    90
    46
    17
    13
See reviews for
58
53
17
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

So 2 nights per week (except for vacation from work weeks) and occasionally 3. I have to stay in the area as I am an ER nurse and live in NYC. The 12 hr commutes are not feasible. I do NOT get reimbursed for this at all by my employer.
I typically stay at the Trumbull Marriott. But past 2 mos I have alternated a little. This is my 3rd stay here in less than 2 mos.
The rooms on the 7th floor are pretty quiet the entire time which is essential and welcome! The view from the even side number rooms is actually cool. The rail station, the summer carnival lights....I get way more TV channels here than at Marriott!
The room has been super clean EXCEPT for the one stay where housekeeping must have been in a hurry and left the opened and used soap and shampoo behind from the prior customer. Ick.

There are indeed unsavory characters that lurk in the driveway and occasionally filter into the lobby during the day...and I get enough of that at work. But that is locale fault.
Check in is quick which is good.
They DID say on my first stay here there would almost always be a shuttle courtesy van to the hospital saving me from a ghetto cab ride? But this has only actually happened half the time. Disappointing!
I have to say for now?
I prefer the Marriott as with my gold status even there?
I have concierge floor/lounge/breakfast/evening apps and dessert benefits.
And honestly? SOMETIMES....the rate difference is only about 5 dollars.
I LIKELY will be back...but I think it may need at least ONE perk for being a potential weekly customer.
Like...they give you a 5 dollar discount for their bar. I don't drink alcohol. Make it a 5 dollar applicable to room service?
Or if I am staying THREE nights like this week? One comp room service?
Marriott let me "challenge" their tier status....as I KNEW I would have enough night stays over the 2-3 upcoming mos.
And that was fabulous.
Fast track!!
I must say I prefer the scent of the soap, shampoo and conditioner better here at Holiday Inn.
That made sound trivial...but not to me!
After 12 hrs in an ER?
And being a semi snob for bath products?
Remember the access to what I have at home in NYC....I truly appreciate that fact.
Marriott needs to change theirs for me!
The pillows here vs Marriott are superior and the beds themselves so far are equal to me.
My rooms at Marriott are more spacious but honestly? I am not using that as deciding factor as I live in a NYC apt and am fine either way.

The front desk staff here at Holiday Inn varies huge! A couple have made me feel like a bother just for kindly saying "may I please have a high floor room at far end of halls" ???
Some are SUPER friendly.

I am hoping some little perks will pop up here at Holiday Inn because I would LOVE to be able to make the stays 50/50 asap!
And who knows?
By winter?
Perhaps I will primarily stay Holiday Inn.
Also, we have temp doctors in my ER, they LISTEN to my hotel reviews as they find out quickly I have been staying in the area for 2 yrs now....when I still had a car I typically stayed off exit 35 of I-95 in Milford at every place from Red Roof to Springhill Suites Marriott.

I definitely have it down to this Holiday Inn and Trumbull Marriott.

And I hate to say but the food menu is better in Trumbull...but here at Holiday Inn?
There are super local other options.
Two Boots nearby?
That started in my beloved west village of manhattan where I live!!
Most unique and terrific for Bridgeport area!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westvillageyogini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We will have to see what we can do to make Holiday Inn your #1 choice all the time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is located right off 95 and isn't too hard to find. When I arrived I was welcomed by a very friendly front desk associate and a beautiful lobby area. You have to pay to park but being a hotel guest you get 50% off and the parking garage is located just behind the hotel. Had some food and drinks at their restaurant Martini's and that was very enjoyable. Room was nice, the layout was different from other hotels but very clean and spacious. AC unit was a bit loud and did not get too cool but still had a comfortable nights sleep. Attended a meeting in one of their meeting rooms and it was a beautiful room and they supplied delicious snacks throughout the day. Would stay here again if I return to Bridgeport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We're glad you enjoyed it. Our apologies for the A/C issues. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Being #1 out of 1 hotel in Bridgeport seems like it would be a "Gotcha!" Truth is, this is about the nicest Holiday Inn I've stayed in. Clean, fresh spacious rooms, friendly responsive staff and a convenient location. Some (though not a lot) of neighborhood dining options - certainly enough choices for a short stay. In all, a very good value. Would I stay here again? Yes, I'm planning on it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaoquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you for the kind words about our hotel. We look forward to seeing again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I stayed here for a night with our 2 year old baby, mother, sister, and young nephew & niece. The staff was super friendly and accommodating. They had free food for the kids, and the closet was big enough to fit our pack-n-play. This was the most child-friendly hotel we've had so far on our trips with our baby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stella089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Come back anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The Holiday Inn in Bridgeport was truly a pleasant surprise! From the bright and cheery lobby area to the nice large rooms it was a pleasure to stay here. But the incredibly friendly and helpful staff are what really made the stay special. Thanks to Raymond and Grace for going the extra mile. If I ever return to Bridgeport I'll stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiliaRethman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Closter, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I decided to stay at this property because me and my girlfriend were on our way to Foxwoods Casino. I didn't feel like driving the full 3 hr ride so we decided to stay here. The check in process was awesome. The front desk guy was friendly and very knowledgeable of the area. We checked in around 5:30pm. I think he is one of the few superstars of the hotel. Anyway when we got into the room there were a few things that irritated me about this place. First the minute we enter the door was open and the housekeeping forgot to remove the safety lock on the door. Another issue was the shower curtain. It smelled funky and i didn't feel like moving rooms because it wasn't a big deal. As long as i shower i don't really care but housekeeping needs to do a better job. The TV was on so i guess the housekeeper watched some tv before she left but she also took the remote control which bothered me. I had to call the front desk to bring me another remote control. The room was clean but those were the 2 things that bothered me. Before checkout me and my girl decided to go eat some breakfast. Being a priority club member i got 2 vouchers for 5 dollars off which was awesome. My gf asks me if i want bread. I go sure. She comes back and tells me the bread is moldy. I go and look at the bread and it was pretty nasty. i told the breakfast person and he just took it and didn't apologize to me at all. I'm shocked on how unprofessional he was. That really ruined the experience from the hotel because its a fabulous hotel and the food was really good. Dinner was excellent but the moldy bread in the morning was definitely terrible w/o an apology. At checkout i told the lady i'm checking out but she just said okay bye. I would definitely try this place 1 more time if i head up to foxwoods but i'd think about it

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yami78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
I apologize for what you experienced during your stay. That is definitely not our standard. I hope you will stay with us again so we can show our true commitment to guest satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgeport
2.7 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 5 in Stratford
211 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Circle Hotel Fairfield
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Hi-Ho
Hotel Hi-Ho
#2 of 3 in Fairfield
160 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
3.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Stratford
Rodeway Inn Stratford
#3 of 5 in Stratford
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bridgeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bridgeport

Property: Holiday Inn Bridgeport
Address: 1070 Main St, Bridgeport, CT 06604-4220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bridgeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bridgeport 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn hotel, Bridgeport is an elegant high rise in the heart of downtown on Fairfield County's gold coast. Bridgeport, Connecticut borders Fairfield, Trumbull, Shelton and Stratford. Bridgeport is home to many corporations, General Electric, Aquarion, Health Net of the Northeast, Sikorsky Aircraft, Connecticut Post, Unilever, R.C. Bigelow to name just a few. Whether here for an overnight stay, a conference or that all important social event, the Bridgeport Holiday Inn will help plan it all. The beautifully appointed ballroom makes this hotel the perfect venue for your wedding ceremony, reception or family reunion. Our upscale guest rooms offer comfort and amenities one would only expect from a full service hotel that includes complimentary wireless high-speed Internet. The Bridgeport Holiday Inn is easily accessible from major highways that include I-95, Wilbur Cross Parkway, Route 8/25 and within walking distance of the train and bus stations. Enjoy fine dining within Park City Grill, our restaurant serving the finest Continental cuisine or room service if you prefer fine dining within your room. Other amenities include our lovely lobby lounge, the Blue Martini, business center, new expanded fitness center with the latest equipment, guest laundry & enclosed swimming pool. An award winning staff eagerly awaits your arrival. The Holiday Inn hotel, Bridgeport loves motor coaches and tour groups. The hotel's 209 rooms are all interior corridor rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Bridgeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bridgeport Hotel Bridgeport
Bridgeport Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing