We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, fabulous staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bridgeport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bridgeport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We booked this hotel at the last minute as we needed to get an early morning ferry to Port Jeff. To tell the truth we didn't think it would be much good as it was the only hotel in the area so had no real competition. How wrong we were!
Free parking, free pool, free breakfast! The room was huge, clean and very comfortable but the best thing about this hotel was the staff.
The receptionist was a lovely, bubbly lady called Olivia for whom nothing was too much trouble. She recommended some good places for food and drink in the town and then hunted down decaf coffee and fresh milk for us at 1am. She loved my husband's English accent and we all spent ages chatting about the Olympics and what London is like. Breakfast was good and hot and the lady who waited tables and assisted was also lovely.
We stayed in about over a dozen different hotels in the USA in the summer and the standard was really high but this was amongst the best for customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noodun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2012

Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad you enjoyed our Holiday Inn. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 246 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed here with my husband and dogs for 3 nights during the recent hurricane Sandy and have to say I was very pleased. Everyone at this hotel had a smile and you can tell they all enjoyed their jobs and loved working at this property. The great stay started at check-in and continued over the course of the 4 day stay with the staff at the martini bar, restaurant, room service and housekeeping. I am from Fairfield , next town over so I am well aware of the area surrounding the hotel. We just wanted a warm place to sleep and hot shower since we lost power and we ended up getting so much more. Thanks again for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeinct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you! So glad you enjoyed your stay even though it was due to a hurricane. All of us here at the Holiday Inn really do like taking care of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a nicely maintained hotel that has the ambiance of an upscale establishment. Our 8th floor room was huge, with a king size bed, 37 inch flat-panel TV and refrigerator. We found our room to be clean and well-maintained.

In general, we had a pleasant one night stay. One issue with the room was poor soundproofing. Sound leaked through the window frame and we could hear our neighbor's voice as he spoke on the phone. I am certain that he didn't realize that we could hear his phone conversation. Fortunately we didn't hear our neighbor's TV. The management should improve the soundproofing.

There are two computers in the lobby in a glass-walled room for guest use. I was able to access my airline boarding pass. However there was a problem with the printer connected to the computers. One of the desk clerks was kind and helped me print our boarding passes using the front desk printer.

The hotel is located in a gritty area where you would not want to walk about at night. There is a McDonald's, a Dunkin Donuts and a Chinese restaurant across from the hotel. We did not eat in the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honorablejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate the information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times. As a woman travelling alone, I do not venture out to explore the area around the hotel - it does not look too safe.
The rooms are very nice. Comfortable beds, big-screen tvs, nice bathroom area.
I eat dinner and breakfast in the hotel - they are usually ok.
This time - not so great. For dinner, I ordered the special - broiled scrod. It was tasteless. as was the rice and vegetables that came with it. Maybe if there was a slice of lemon to put on the fish it might have been a bit better. Waitress was very friendly though - great service.
For breakfast - they seemed to assume everyone wanted the buffet. I was not offered a menu and had to inquire about other options. Not given silverware either - I took some from another table. The coffee was horrible - tasted like they made it the night before. They used to leave a coffee pot on the table but this time they served individual cups.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglishMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, General Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you so much for your feedback. I will be sure to pass this information along so that others are not disappointed in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

While I am not a big fan of Holiday Inn, I was pleased with the accommodations provided at this hotel. We traveled to NY for a family event and could not find a hotel anywhere near our destination. Hurricane Sandy left NY in bad shape.
We stayed in Bridgeport because it was the only place we could find. While the area around the hotel wasn’t perfect, the hotel met our needs. The room was clean and bigger than we expected. If you are in the area and need a place to stay this may meet your needs.

Room Tip: We were in a corner room on a Saturday night and didn't hear a sound.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donoteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

So glad you were pleasantly surprised! Thank you for staying with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Comfy king bed & pillows.
Bountiful breakfast buffet. Hot & fresh.
Convenient location near 8/25 connector and I-95.
Near hospitals and Trumbull Mall. AA baseball (bluefish), hockey (sound tigers) and concerts @ the Webster Bank Arena right down the road.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LHorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Ms. Val was great to my family and me. I really want to give ms. Grace a great big thanks for all she done for me, holiday inn she's great and please make sure that she knows. It. Ms. Barbette thames family.



  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mesayme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for the kind words about our staff. So glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgeport
2.7 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 5 in Stratford
221 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Fairfield Hotel
3.5 mi away
The Circle Hotel Fairfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Shelton
4.6 mi away
Hotel Hi-Ho
Hotel Hi-Ho
#2 of 3 in Fairfield
212 reviews
5.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Milford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bridgeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bridgeport

Address: 1070 Main St, Bridgeport, CT 06604-4220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bridgeport
Price Range: $116 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bridgeport 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn hotel, Bridgeport is an elegant high rise in the heart of downtown on Fairfield County's gold coast. Bridgeport, Connecticut borders Fairfield, Trumbull, Shelton and Stratford. Bridgeport is home to many corporations, General Electric, Aquarion, Health Net of the Northeast, Sikorsky Aircraft, Connecticut Post, Unilever, R.C. Bigelow to name just a few. Whether here for an overnight stay, a conference or that all important social event, the Bridgeport Holiday Inn will help plan it all. The beautifully appointed ballroom makes this hotel the perfect venue for your wedding ceremony, reception or family reunion. Our upscale guest rooms offer comfort and amenities one would only expect from a full service hotel that includes complimentary wireless high-speed Internet. The Bridgeport Holiday Inn is easily accessible from major highways that include I-95, Wilbur Cross Parkway, Route 8/25 and within walking distance of the train and bus stations. Enjoy fine dining within Park City Grill, our restaurant serving the finest Continental cuisine or room service if you prefer fine dining within your room. Other amenities include our lovely lobby lounge, the Blue Martini, business center, new expanded fitness center with the latest equipment, guest laundry & enclosed swimming pool. An award winning staff eagerly awaits your arrival. The Holiday Inn hotel, Bridgeport loves motor coaches and tour groups. The hotel's 209 rooms are all interior corridor rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Bridgeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bridgeport Hotel Bridgeport
Bridgeport Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing