We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Going Back” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Bridgeport

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Bridgeport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bridgeport
Somerville, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Going Back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Deplorable front desk?
Or could it be management?

My boyfriend and I stayed for a quick weekend excursion and were MORE than disappointed with the lack of communication amongst front desk attendees. Aside from a non-existent protocol for parking and fees, everyone we came in contact with could use a trip back to English class.

Different hotel next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AboutandBeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
I'm so sorry the information you needed was not communicated to you at check-in. Thank you for letting me know so it can addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    82
    43
    16
    13
See reviews for
53
53
15
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fishkill, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Went for a spur of the moment road trip to go to Beardsley Zoo. Parking is in a public lot for a fee, bring your ticket in for validation. We checked in at night and the front was not very helpful or forthcoming with information, such as parking, location of elevators, amenities, etc. The smoking room was smelly, but that is to be expected. However what was not expected was huge carpet stains all over. TV was a good size and lots of channels. We went downstairs for a late dinner and the dinning too was barely occupied. However, we were not seated for a while. We were first asked to sit at a mini table in the bar for some reason. Again few people in dinning room! Service was poor but the busy boy/waiter was hustling. We had almost all the appetizers and they were good. Yummy! Nighttime was nosy...lots of street traffic, cars, bikes, trucks! Breakfast in the morning was a buffet with all the basics. Good for 9.95. We went to the zoo for a few hours, which was a short drive. Since the hotel is across front the courthouse, there was lot of city traffic and population.

Room Tip: Settled for a smoking to be on the end of the floor, not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
My apologies for your disappointment and thank you for letting me know. I can assure you that is not our standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Midway our journey decided to call it a nite. No reservation but room was available. It was clean and well-appointed with comfortable bed and pillows and friendly hospitality staff. would stay again. Parking directly across from side entrance of hotel. Garage fee for parking is discounted to hotel guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trascholar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for choosing us as your stopping point. We are glad you were able to enjoy our wonderful hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

When I checked in to this hotel, the receptionist demanded to see photo ID as well as my credit card. I was happy to show the credit card, but Mastercard prohibits businesses from demanding photo ID in order to use the card. The reservation was pre-paid (with the card I produced), so there was no risk to the hotel, but requiring photo ID in addition to the card is a well-known vector for identity theft, which is why credit card companies discourage it. I explained to the manager that Mastercard's policy prohibited what she was asking for, she said it was the hotel's policy to demand ID with a credit card. She simply didn't care that she was violating the credit card company's policy, which exists to protect the card holders. She even said that businesses require photo ID to use a credit card "all the time". Really? On what planet? And would that make it OK?

So, not only does the hotel not care about its customers becoming victims of identity theft, it thinks that the rules simply do not apply to them. You have to wonder what other rules they don't feel like following: fire codes? health codes?

Stay away from this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cjstephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
I certainly apologize, but it is hotel policy to verify the Photo ID of the person who's credit card it is at check in. I have worked under this policy in several different hotels in several different states. I have never heard of Mastercard prohibiting this, but understand your concerns with identity theft and will look into it. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia, New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We came to Bridgeport to attend a concert at the Webster Bank Arena. The hotel was a very short walk from the train station, and we were also able to walk to the Arena. Some folks have commented about the area, but I think this is relative to where one lives now. We live in an urban area, so had no concerns with the area. After the concert, there were many police around and was very comfortable walking back to the hotel. We did not try any of the hotel dining, as the hours were not convenient for us. It would have been helpful if the hours of service were posted on the web. We also did not try the pool. The room was clean and comfortable, and the halls were quiet during the evening.

Room Tip: It's probably better to pay a little extra to get the business class room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roseann_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
I'm sorry you weren't able to experience our lovely restaurant. Maybe next time you visit us. Thank you for staying at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed in Bridgeport on our way to Rhode Island in Aug/Sep 2012. Bridgeport is not the greatest of cities, but this hotel was lovely and perfect for what we needed. We had been in the car all day with 2 small kids, and the staff was friendly and accommodating at every step of the way.

The room was recently redone, very clean and a good size. Free wifi worked great. We had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BNLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
So happy you enjoyed our great hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Clean, conveinent to the train station (withing walking distance), and helpful and friendly staff. I stayed here while attending a show at the Klein Theater nearby. It's a good place to stay but I couldn't help but feel that my price of $129 (closer to $144 after taxes) was a bit high for one night's stay. There are very few places within close proximity to go to for something to eat. That's the not fault of the hotel's, I'm just giving some color to the surrounding area but we eventually found something. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. Little details here and there were off, such as there are no small refriderators in the rooms and there were some fixtures missing in the room. However, if this hotel is on your list of choices, I'd say you can make a safe, if just a smidge overpriced, bet and stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRK321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michele H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Bridgeport, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for staying at our hotel. On your next visit, be sure to get a list of the local restaurants from the front desk. There are many places within walking distance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgeport
3.4 mi away
Fairfield Circle Inn
Fairfield Circle Inn
#2 of 3 in Fairfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
2.7 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 5 in Stratford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Fairfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Hi-Ho
Hotel Hi-Ho
#1 of 3 in Fairfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
6.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Stratford
5.9 mi away
Delamar Southport
Delamar Southport
#1 of 1 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bridgeport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bridgeport

Property: Holiday Inn Bridgeport
Address: 1070 Main St, Bridgeport, CT 06604
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Bridgeport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bridgeport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Bridgeport 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn hotel, Bridgeport is an elegant high rise in the heart of downtown on Fairfield County's gold coast. Bridgeport, Connecticut borders Fairfield, Trumbull, Shelton and Stratford. Bridgeport is home to many corporations, General Electric, Aquarion, Health Net of the Northeast, Sikorsky Aircraft, Connecticut Post, Unilever, R.C. Bigelow to name just a few. Whether here for an overnight stay, a conference or that all important social event, the Bridgeport Holiday Inn will help plan it all. The beautifully appointed ballroom makes this hotel the perfect venue for your wedding ceremony, reception or family reunion. Our upscale guest rooms offer comfort and amenities one would only expect from a full service hotel that includes complimentary wireless high-speed Internet. The Bridgeport Holiday Inn is easily accessible from major highways that include I-95, Wilbur Cross Parkway, Route 8/25 and within walking distance of the train and bus stations. Enjoy fine dining within Park City Grill, our restaurant serving the finest Continental cuisine or room service if you prefer fine dining within your room. Other amenities include our lovely lobby lounge, the Blue Martini, business center, new expanded fitness center with the latest equipment, guest laundry & enclosed swimming pool. An award winning staff eagerly awaits your arrival. The Holiday Inn hotel, Bridgeport loves motor coaches and tour groups. The hotel's 209 rooms are all interior corridor rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Bridgeport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bridgeport Hotel Bridgeport
Bridgeport Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing