We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A terrific neighborhod bistro”
Review of Epernay Bistro - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Epernay Bistro
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Epernay Bistro & Wine Bar
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A terrific neighborhod bistro”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Great French bistro food, perfectly cooked in a well designed and comfortable space. Great service and a very good small wine list.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Underappreciated”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We've been to Epernay 3 or 4 times now and each time they have exceeded expectations. They offer a nice atmosphere, a creative menu, and delicious entrees. They have a thoughtful wine list with many reasonably priced options. The wait staff is knowledgeable and invested in the restaurant's success. In addition, the desserts are great. Try the pot de creme!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank timhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Overrated, Overpriced”
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Since this is a French Bistro, expect small portions. The meal started out with a basket of small slices of soft french bread with unsalted butter. For entrees, we ordered chicken sausage, which was tasty and wild mushroom ravioli, which was fair. The meals don't come with salads but the wait for the entrees wasn't long. Apparently Wednesday nights aren't that busy. Our waiter was inattentive. He seemed more interested in talking to the bartender than tending to our needs.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nuttmegg_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great Bistro”
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We went here a few days ago and was really surprised at how nice this place was. It is one of those places that not many people know about right now, but will become the place to be. It looks, smells, and sounds like a restaurant in Paris. The staff fall over backward to help you. And the food is excellent. My one negative is the price. It's not cheap. But then I always say, "you get what you pay for", and it was worth it.
My advise to you would be to bring a group of friends to this new Bistro and enjoy.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jtc6996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a nice spot in bridgeport, but not the gourmet destination it's cracked up to be”
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Really really nice wait staff. They were so apologetic that there was a noisy office party going on that had practically taken over the entire restaurant.
Nice, reasonably-priced wine list.
We had the French onion soup- I make french onion soup from scratch- this did not taste as if it was made from real beef broth from scratch. It tasted fine, but not the rich soupe al'ognion Les Halle I expected.
I had the duck confit, which was nice (but there is little room for error with a confit). And my husband had the steak frites. Which was all right, but not stellar. We felt guilty about not having enough vegetables so we ordered a salad.
Then we asked for Irish coffee and an espresso. The Irish coffee came without the customary whipped cream! But the bartender was nice enough to whip it up for me.

Would I come back? Perhaps. It's not too expensive and better than most restaurants in the area, but not the gourmet destination that reviews say it is.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluedagat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Epernay Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing