We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay if one needs to be close to Yale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Branford
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We, parents and two boys, just got back from a two night stay at the Hoilday Inn Express. As study participants we needed to be close to Yale, and this was a great choice. The staff, all three we came in contact with, were very friendly, professional and accommodating. The room was clean and attractive. The pool area was pleasant and the water was nice and warm. The only problem we encountered was that the heating unit in our room was interrmittently noisy. A local diner a mile down the road was convenient and had good food.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyager4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 223 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2010

We checked in as Priority Club members and were actually treated to a welcome gift - simple but appreciated. This is the first priority club stop in the last 4 that bothered to provide info of what was offered & a complimentary snack. The hotel was well lit & clean and the check-in staff was extremely pleasant and knowledgeable. The room was large and clean and the wifi worked flawlessly. :-) Who can beat the smell of freshly warmed cinnamon buns in the breakfast nook. The only down sides were that I apparently caught the business center computer in an update or virus scan and it was extremely slow and difficult to print out materials. And, more significantly, I had signed up for their American Express promotion, and the check-out staff Sunday morning knew nothing about that promo and laughed at their lack of information. I got the amex card but was wished good luck figuring out the particulars. In spite of the Sunday morning staff, I recommend this hotel. Cleanliness is important to me and this fit the bill.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatDaneDrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

It was a very nice stay. The young woman that checked me in was very knowledgeable and friendly. She made me feel welocme at their hotel. Rooms were spotless.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBCC2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

I have been staying at this hotel since June1, 2010. I was met by a competent and friendly manager and staff. It is now August 8 and nothing has changed. My business has me traveling for over 25 years so my sampling is many. My ratings will speak to the specifics. I enjoy the Wednesday night free buffet where the staff mingles and learns your name and will ask how your day went. This has been as close to being home that it gets.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom33725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

The Holiday Inn Express in Branford has proven to be one of the nicest, most accommodating hotels that I've ever stayed in. The management has attended to my every request, has been very pleasant and very professional. Linda Ellex, the manager, has been an exemplary manager representing the Holiday Inn. The housekeeping staff has been efficient and courteous. I've enjoyed the complimentary morning breakfast. The rooms are large, clean, and well-maintained. The decor is pretty with a seashell theme. I expect to stay at no other hotel when I visit my daughter in Branford. I would recommend the Holiday Inn Express in Branford to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank branfordlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Stayed here one night mid-week while traveling through the area. I'm a pretty easygoing person, and I arrived at 10 PM with an infant in tow, so I especially just wanted to get settled quickly. First room assigned had weird smell like strong cleaning product or permanent wave solution when I walked in, so I asked for a different room. Second room smelled exactly the same but slightly less strongly, and I was advised by the desk clerk that it was just the "Holiday Inn fragrance," but that lots of other guests had remarked on it's harsh scent and we just "must all be especially sensitive to smells." (It was spring allergy season - I could hardly smell anything that day but the room was SO overpowering. Also, I stayed at 3 other HIE in the past two months - absolutely no "HI fragrance" at any of those!) Anyway, took second room, got baby settled in her portable crib, started to get undressed to shower and when I took my shoes off, the carpet was wet! All around the beds was damp and spongy. So I called the front desk to ask if maybe the carpeting had been cleaned recently and the guy said, "No, it's probably just damp from the AC running." I suggested that a) if not cleaned, then perhaps could be any liquid - urine or whatnot, and b) even if from AC, that it would suggest they're growing mold in their rooms. Then, even though he told the guy checking in ahead of me that they had "tons of available rooms," he only offered me back to the first room and no discount offered for the hassle or nasty nasty smell! (I left the window open to help air the room out - no exhaust fan in bathrooms - and was awoken at 0630 to the outside intercom system at the car dealership next door paging the service dept.)

*One bright spot - in the morning I couldn't find my cell phone, and the morning clerk called it so I could find it buried in my luggage. That was helpful : )

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magnets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

I was looking for a meeting room in the area and found the Holiday Inn Express Branford, as per the website I requested a quote, 9 days later I still haven't heard from anyone at that hotel....it took all other hotels in the area 1 business day to get back to me; so I decided to call the hotel. I call the hotel and it took awhile for anyone to answer the phone and when someone finally did it seemed like I was bothering her and when I asked to speak to a specific department she asked me what for. After telling her what I was calling for and finding out they already booked their meeting room I was told bye and she just hung up. This was very unprofessional and I will never look to book anything at this hotel again. I speak to many different people at different hotel chains and I was very disappointed in her lack of interest of wanting to help me.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Br1ghteys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branford
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Branford / New Haven
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 3 in Guilford
115 reviews
3.8 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ & Suites Guilford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#3 of 7 in Branford
52 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
16.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Milford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven

Address: 309 E Main St, Branford, CT 06405-3134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Branford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Branford
Price Range: $116 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Branford-New Haven, CT. This beautiful, newly built hotel is conveniently located off I-95 at Exit 55, just 1 mile from Downtown Branford. Situated 10 miles from downtown New Haven, 35 miles from the Hartford Convention Center & 45 minutes from Bradley International Airport, this property features 96 beautifully appointed oversized guest rooms. The hotel features a Complimentary Express Start Breakfast along with the most up to date amenities and facilities including an Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, On-site Laundry Facility, Fitness Center, Business Center and Free High Speed Internet Access. Ideal for business or leisure, the Holiday Inn Express Branford-New Haven, CT hotel is only minutes from local businesses and attractions. Free WiFi & Ethernet High Speed Internet throughout the hotel!Visiting on Business:The Holiday Inn Express makes doing business easy, located just minutes from: Harley Davidson, Wal-Mart, Home Depot, Lowe's, HondaVisiting Area Attractions:Be close to all that this area has to offer, including the Branford Festival, Branford Town Center, Thimble Islands, Yale University, Lighthouse Point, Ocean Beach State Park, Trolley/Peabody Museums.'STAY SMART' at the Holiday Inn Express Branford-New Haven, CT and Experience this new hotel with outstanding services and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven Hotel Branford
Holiday Inn Branford
Branford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing