We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay. Clean and Cozy.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Branford
Reviewed March 29, 2010

This hotel was nice and clean. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Printed out directions for us to go to thimble island boat ride. The free breakfast was a great little bonus. Nice breakfast area to eat, food was hot and the room itself clean, big screen t.v.
The bed was a little hard and the pillows were lumpy but other then that the place was great for the price. Cab service in the area is pretty bad, was able to get to Lenny's resturant ok but trying to get back after 10p was a real hassle had to call 2 cab companies and the wait was well over an hour.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanisaNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 220 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2009

Just got back from a weekend here for a family wedding. Staff could not find reservations, overbooked, did not have a room for the bride.Upon arriving home, I discovered that I was overbilled by $248. The reason? "Somebody made a mistake on the computer". My account is now overdrawn because of these clowns and apparently, neither the staff of the hotel or The Holiday Inn corporate people can reach the manager's cell phone. When I requested a fax to my bank to reverse their admitted mistake, I was told that "We are not authorized to do that"They could not find several reservations including mine. Unfortunately I arrived early enough that they found 2 rooms for my family.I would have been better off down the block. Avoid this place at all costs they do not have a clue nor due they attempt to resolve issues. STAY AWAY AT ALL COSTS.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markoni728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for a family event and felt like a hostage. It's the only hotel in the area so there is no competition and the staff knows it. In fact, the manager, Corine, said she didn't care what I wrote on Trip Advisor because, "We are always full."

When I complained about the very loud drunk guests who congregated in the hallway just outside my room from 1:00am - 3:00 am Corine told me I should have checked out. I am not kidding! At that point I realized she was completely unreasonable.

And to top it off, they really messed up my group's reservations, telling some people they were full and then booking 5 rooms for one guest - for the same night.

Extraordinarily bad customer service. The manager needs to be replaced.

Plus there was mold in the shower. Gross!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EEver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2009

Having been let down in our original choice of hotel we were fortunate to spot this hotel on a main road. Reception could not have been more helpful in trying to accommodate us for a three nights considering they were housing wedding parties during our stay. Indeed all the staff we met were pleasant and helpful. Our room was large, comfortable and decorated in a simple airy fashion. It was clean and had everything a traveller needs.
The hotel has a guest laundry which is a very useful facility. The breakfast buffet consisted of the usual cereals, breads etc. plus a daily cooked dish which was probably heated up on the premises.
Being by a busy road there is a certain degree of noise but it did not disturb us unduly.
There is no restaurant on the premises but next door is Marco's which supplies good fresh pizzas, subs and salads. There is also a very good Italian restaurant across the road.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller_S-WalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

We came here so that I could run a course in a town just down the road. We picked the Holiday Inn as it had not let us down for the entire trip. What you get at this place is massive rooms, good beds, great facilities and very helpful and courteous staff. This was a real gem and would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHoweBathUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2009

Some of the reviews we had read on this site indicated the staff was unfriendly and uncaring. Over the two days we stayed there, we found all the employees we met to be friendly, cheerful and helpful. The premises are clean and well maintained. We enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub. The breakfast offers a variety of food and drink, something for everyone. The only complaint I had (traveling companion didn't care) was that the air conditioning unit didn't work properly. Thus, we slept with the window open and heard the neighbor's winchimes all night, as well as traffic on Route 1.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scar53a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

In our 50+ years of traveling this was honestly an over the top 3 nite stay. The staff was A1 and the rooms were immaculate and brightly decorated. The breakfast was great. Being hard to please we felt thoroughly comfortable. Kudos to the management for this gem. A side bonus were windows that could be partially opened for fresh air.
Hard to please seniors, Joe and Carol

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junkcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branford
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Branford / New Haven
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 3 in Guilford
113 reviews
3.8 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ & Suites Guilford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#3 of 7 in Branford
51 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Milford/New Haven
7.3 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven

Address: 309 E Main St, Branford, CT 06405-3134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Branford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Branford
Price Range: $114 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Branford-New Haven, CT. This beautiful, newly built hotel is conveniently located off I-95 at Exit 55, just 1 mile from Downtown Branford. Situated 10 miles from downtown New Haven, 35 miles from the Hartford Convention Center & 45 minutes from Bradley International Airport, this property features 96 beautifully appointed oversized guest rooms. The hotel features a Complimentary Express Start Breakfast along with the most up to date amenities and facilities including an Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, On-site Laundry Facility, Fitness Center, Business Center and Free High Speed Internet Access. Ideal for business or leisure, the Holiday Inn Express Branford-New Haven, CT hotel is only minutes from local businesses and attractions. Free WiFi & Ethernet High Speed Internet throughout the hotel!Visiting on Business:The Holiday Inn Express makes doing business easy, located just minutes from: Harley Davidson, Wal-Mart, Home Depot, Lowe's, HondaVisiting Area Attractions:Be close to all that this area has to offer, including the Branford Festival, Branford Town Center, Thimble Islands, Yale University, Lighthouse Point, Ocean Beach State Park, Trolley/Peabody Museums.'STAY SMART' at the Holiday Inn Express Branford-New Haven, CT and Experience this new hotel with outstanding services and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven Hotel Branford
Holiday Inn Branford
Branford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing