We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staff, Nice, clean hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Branford
Suffern, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Staff, Nice, clean hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were highly impressed with the hotel staff. The front desk clerk, Heidi Meagher was especially helpful in helping us get a crib for our son and helping us find other things we needed. The breakfast was nice and the serving staff was helpful in answering questions about ingredients for our dietary needs.

The pool was nice and clean and the exercise room had nice, new equipment. We also liked the Nautica theme around the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    68
    29
    17
    22
See reviews for
71
33
13
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Haledon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I stay at this hotel frequently when visiting relatives in the area. One of the better Holiday Inn Express hotels I've stayed in. Friendly and helpful staff. Good location. Clean and well kept. Do not hesitate to stay here when you are in Branford.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

It's odd - all of the surrounding towns seem to have a much better selection of hotels, but when I visit Branford for work, all I want to do at the end of the day is get to the hotel. Which is why I've been exploring the hotels of Branford.

The Holiday Inn is hands down the best. If you need a hotel in Branford, this is the only place to stay. Trust me - the other options are worse than dismal.

I don't have anything bad to say about the hotel, other than the fact that they seem to be quite overpriced based on their competitors. They seem to always have similar rates as the 4 star Omni Hotel in New Haven, even though this is definitely not a 4 star property.

Everything was clean, recently updated, staff was polite, check in was easy. The room I was in was quite large - I think it was a King Executive. It was a corner room with tons of light from windows on 2 walls, spacious enough to comfortably have a king bed, gigantic TV cabinet, queen sleeper sofa, coffee table, desk, and mini fridge. The bathroom was clean and recently updated.

Decor was interesting - all the furnishings were newer, but the motif was like something out of a Spanish hacienda boudoir.

USA Today was delivered in the mornings.

Breakfast was expanded from the usual continental: pancakes, scrambled eggs, biscuits, sausage gravy, bacon in addition to the usual.

The pool area was clean. The fitness room was lacking, but clean and the equipment was new.

But - it's a Holiday Inn Express. A 3 star hotel at best. That overcharges. I can't give it a rating better than "Average" for those reasons.

Room Tip: get a corner room. bigger, more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dansoleau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear dansoleau,

Thank you for submitting your review of our hotel. I am very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service and comfort at our hotel. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

We hope to have another chance of hosting you should your travels bring you back to Branford.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W. Windsor, VY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was shocked to discover that this is a fairly new hotel. The rooms are large and nicely decorated. However, it was impossible to sleep. First of all, the beds are rock hard and then there is the constant noise from the halls and neighboring rooms. Walls are paper thin and you can hear the TV and conversations of other guests. We had to call the front desk at 2:00 am to help with noise control, which they promptly did. The bathroom was large enough but lacked a magnifying mirror with night light and also no working ceiling fan. We spent two sleepless nights at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the morning breakfast was sufficient. Doubt I would stay here again due to the noise level. Obviously the construction of this hotel is substandard but I do commend the staff as they were always attentive and helpful.

Room Tip: If you are staying at this hotel, pick the highest floor for your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Barb H,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience the room conditions may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our amenities continually.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Branford hotels

florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were in the area attending a memorial service and stayed the weekend. The condition of the hotel did not warrant the $159 charge per night. The bathroom had peeling wallpaper and a bathtub chipped in multiple places. The walls are paper thin and you can hear noise from adjacent rooms and hallways. The water pressure for hot water in the shower was a trickle and upon talking to the front desk about it, they offered no solution other than to check the hot water filter for the system. The problem was not resolved during our stay. Granted, I did not have much down time to spend following up with this issue and did not want to spend what little time I had with a plumbing issue. We did not get our money's worth for this stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaCupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear FloridaCupcake,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here last week , Decent rooms breakfast was ok, Front desk was very help full, not impressed with the Internet / WIFI, it was very slow and spotty made it difficult to get work done...........will be out again in a few weeks hopefully the Internet and WIFI was just a glich last time

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBranford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your current stay. We appreciate it more than you know. The quality of your stay is very important to us. We hope that you will come stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were attending a wedding and stayed the weekend. This is a decent hotel in a convenient location, it's close to the downtown shoppes and restaurants, close to a beautiful drive along the shore, and has several places to eat nearby. The hotel itself was solid, clean, easy to get in and out of, indoor pool and hot tub, it was all solidly good, my only criticism is if you need a late night snack or drink stop at a store because their concierge desk has slim pickings. The room was clean and comfortable, nothing too impressive but good, the bathroom was clean, bed comfortable, AC worked well. We spent a whole afternoon in the pool, the temperature was great, we kept going back and forth between the pool and hot tub, it's not the Roman baths but we enjoyed ourselves. Breakfast had hard boiled eggs, bacon, sausage, muffins, toast, apples, juice/coffee, biscuits and gravy, cereal, and pancakes. It was not amazing, but it was filling and fine, no real complaints. This is a decent hotel to stay at, don't expect to be pampered but it's a comfortable place to sleep with breakfast, and when you're on a budget, on vacation, what more could you ask. A safe bet.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXBranford, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay. We hope that you will come stay with us soon. We are constantly making improvements throughout the hotel to ensure 100% guest satisfaction. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branford
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 7 in Branford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Branford / New Haven
19.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ & Suites Guilford
16.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Milford
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 3 in Guilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven

Property: Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven
Address: 309 East Main Street, Branford, CT 06405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Branford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Branford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Branford-New Haven, CT. This beautiful, newly built hotel is conveniently located off I-95 at Exit 55, just 1 mile from Downtown Branford. Situated 10 miles from downtown New Haven, 35 miles from the Hartford Convention Center & 45 minutes from Bradley International Airport, this property features 96 beautifully appointed oversized guest rooms. The hotel features a Complimentary Express Start Breakfast along with the most up to date amenities and facilities including an Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, On-site Laundry Facility, Fitness Center, Business Center and Free High Speed Internet Access. Ideal for business or leisure, the Holiday Inn Express Branford-New Haven, CT hotel is only minutes from local businesses and attractions. Free WiFi & Ethernet High Speed Internet throughout the hotel!Visiting on Business:The Holiday Inn Express makes doing business easy, located just minutes from: Harley Davidson, Wal-Mart, Home Depot, Lowe's, HondaVisiting Area Attractions:Be close to all that this area has to offer, including the Branford Festival, Branford Town Center, Thimble Islands, Yale University, Lighthouse Point, Ocean Beach State Park, Trolley/Peabody Museums.'STAY SMART' at the Holiday Inn Express Branford-New Haven, CT and Experience this new hotel with outstanding services and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven Hotel Branford
Holiday Inn Branford
Branford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing