We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Branford
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were concerned about noise after reading the other reviews, but that just was not a problem during our stay. Hot breakfast in the a.m./lobby and gracious staff made us feel like we got our money's worth. The rooms were clean and comfortable--one mattress not firm but that can be expected anywhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    69
    29
    17
    22
See reviews for
71
35
13
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have stayed at quite a few HI Express Hotels and found this to be one of the best ones. The place seems fairly new which I like sometimes you go to older HI Express and they have not been maintained well so this was great.
The check in staff were friendly and we were checked in quickly. We stopped here for one night en-route from NYC to Boston to visit Yale. The hotel was not far from the freeway so it was easy to jump back on & get into New Haven within 10 minutes.
Breakfast was the standard and loved the free wi-fi as usual with HI Express.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeliechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. I liked this hotel right away. It had plenty of parking, it was new, it was clean, check in was easy, the girl who checked us in was very polite, it's got a great location (right off the 95), great pizza next door (Marco's), etc. I loved the room immediately. It was large, clean, with nice large windows. It felt "homey". The bathroom was also a decent size. We also had a fridge in the room.

The real issue with this place is that (as is beginning to be stated in the reviews) the walls are paper thin...it was such a disappointment...I hardly got any sleep the whole time we were there. I called the front office 3 of the 4 nights we spent there. It was mostly noise from the TVs in the other rooms. Not sure if people don't realize how loud their TVs were. Each time I called downstairs, the employee was very helpful and the noise usually stopped immediately (one night it did not). I could hear people coughing and flushing the toilet in the other rooms. We have stayed at many hotels across the country and I have only had this experience once before and it was at a Econo Lodge. I think it is so disrespectful to guests to put so little thought in the construction of a hotel.

Other things to note: They have a small pool but my kids really enjoyed it. The water was murky, The hot tub's water was too hot. The breakfast was decent but the room was so full all the time, there never was space to sit so we had to eat in our room. We enjoyed the cookies they put out during the day. They only have 1 elevator for the 3 floors so we had to wait a while for the elevator each time.

Overall, I hope we never have to stay here again. As as person who has trouble sleeping in general, this hotel is not for me. Make sure you get a room on the 3rd floor so at least you do not have people/kids walking/running around on top of your head. I would have easily given this hotel an "excellent" rating but I give it a "poor" review because I think the sleep quality one gets at a hotel is one of the most important aspects in choosing a hotel to stay at. It does not matter how clean a room is if you cannot get any sleep in it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ldepmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear ldepmom,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness, staff and room.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on thein walls that caused noise during your stay. We will look into this and assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments.We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Branford hotels

ctj1982
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here for a night as part of a wedding block. Despite making a reservation 3+ months in advance, when we arrived at 4pm that day to check in (check in doesnt start until 2:30), they had already given away all of the King bed rooms and simply stated (unapologetically) they had "overbooked". That was beyond frustrating considering we had booked far in advance and should have been guaranteed what we had booked. When we got to our room, the room was fairly large and the a/c worked great. However, we had a horrible night sleep there. The bed was just uncomfortable.

Room Tip: There is only one elevator in the hotel located at the front of the building, so if you are given a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ctj1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

OK, so it's not a resort. However, for a biz type hotel it's pretty good. The rooms are relatively big. The beds are on the firm side. They do have a mix of firm and soft pillows. The rooms are clean. I don't care for some of the 'marine' decor, but I guess that it gives the hotel something to distinguish it from other biz hotels. They have a free breakfast buffet. Not a real wide selection, but good. The staff are good natured and fairly helpful.

Are the walls thin? yes. Do you hear your neighbors? yes. So, if you want absolute peace and quiet, not your place.

For as much traffic as this hotel gets, it is well maintained. No issues there. It's close to I-95, so you can hop on and get to New Haven in about 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Rooms to the west face a car dealership, so their public speaker system may wake you up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Papo_del_wikend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We were a party of 4 in two queen size beds. Hotel is fairly new and very clean. Staff at the front desk are very helpful. When needed help with business center Heidi helped me a lot. Having staff like her makes a huge difference. Will come again if visiting the area.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dragan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
247 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

This hotel was clean and in the right location -- especially for the biz traveler -- near the highway and on main street. The front desk staff, et al was friendly. The room was large.

Here are a couple of the minor problems -- food at the breakfast buffet had lots of variety, but the
hot entrees were cold each morning. Luckily by the 2nd day I found the microwave oven by the front desk (in the small shop), but shouldn't have had to do this. The server was friendly but had limited english ability.

In the room -- the TV would go off/lose reception of the stations when the weather was rainy/bad. The cabinet that held the TV did not stay open by itself. I had to prop the doors and hold them open by putting a chair against the open door.

Maid service was fine except that they didn't always replace the amenities correctly -- e.g. one day I got 2 conditioners and no shampoo.

The exercise room had up to date machines but you had to walk through a sauna like atmosphere in the enlcosed pool room to get to the exercise room. The heat of the pool room, especially in July, was a bit overboard. Steamy is putting it mildly!!

A good thing is that you can walk next door for some great pizza or across the street for some other restaurants.

Room Tip: Be high up and away from the street, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdvicePro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branford
1.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 7 in Branford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Branford / New Haven
6.8 mi away
Tower Inn & Suites
Tower Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Guilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
New Haven Village Suites
New Haven Village Suites
#5 of 12 in New Haven
3.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
19.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Meriden
7.2 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven

Property: Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven
Address: 309 E Main St, Branford, CT 06405-3134
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Branford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Branford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Branford-New Haven, CT. This beautiful, newly built hotel is conveniently located off I-95 at Exit 55, just 1 mile from Downtown Branford. Situated 10 miles from downtown New Haven, 35 miles from the Hartford Convention Center & 45 minutes from Bradley International Airport, this property features 96 beautifully appointed oversized guest rooms. The hotel features a Complimentary Express Start Breakfast along with the most up to date amenities and facilities including an Indoor Pool, Whirlpool, On-site Laundry Facility, Fitness Center, Business Center and Free High Speed Internet Access. Ideal for business or leisure, the Holiday Inn Express Branford-New Haven, CT hotel is only minutes from local businesses and attractions. Free WiFi & Ethernet High Speed Internet throughout the hotel!Visiting on Business:The Holiday Inn Express makes doing business easy, located just minutes from: Harley Davidson, Wal-Mart, Home Depot, Lowe's, HondaVisiting Area Attractions:Be close to all that this area has to offer, including the Branford Festival, Branford Town Center, Thimble Islands, Yale University, Lighthouse Point, Ocean Beach State Park, Trolley/Peabody Museums.'STAY SMART' at the Holiday Inn Express Branford-New Haven, CT and Experience this new hotel with outstanding services and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven Hotel Branford
Holiday Inn Branford
Branford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing