We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Airy and nice!”

Dockside Seafood & Grill
Ranked #7 of 146 Restaurants in Branford
Restaurant details
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Airy and nice!”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed this place. Food good. Service good. Outside tables and live music tonight. Despite some of the negative reviews I read we went and glad we did. Nice little place off the Marina.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steph K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    40
    21
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
396 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Fun place for Seafood by the Sea”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Finally got around to trying the Dockside at Bruce & Johnson's Marina. The drink menu has a good selection of martini's; recommending the Lemon Drop & Key Lime. We started with the clam chowder, I had the New England and my wife had the Rhode Island - both were good. The side salad was average. For main course, I had the lobster with mussels, it comes served with a corn on the cob and baked potato all piled in the same huge bowl. The lobster and mussels were good, not sure about having my baked potato and corn stewing in mussel & lobster juice but overall was a good meal. My wife had the lobster salad and thoroughly enjoyed it. Only other accompaniment was the cole slaw; it is a little on the milky side, but at least it is not sweetened. The service was excellent; we had a wonderful waitress. The outside dining was gorgeous; couldn't have asked for a better night. The restaurant does get several visitors that are arriving via the sea; docking their boats for dinner and some festive times - which lends to a happy atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OSProfiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Last visit”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

after being seated inside because of the humid and hot day found it worst inside , very bad air conditioning event the hostesses and the waitresses were all sweaty, sat there jammed in with way to many other people for a room that size , sat for over 15 minutes before even being noticed by a waitress and then had to wait till she returned, placed order and recieved 6 fried scallops on a plate of fries.... not much for $16.95 i must say small portions, was seated next to the bar where they obviously set up extra tables so you got bumped everytime someone sat at the bar, hot , sweaty cramped, not my idea of a fine restaurant.. maybe ok for boaters stopping by, but ill drive the 1/4 mile down to lennys anyday.. forget this place

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cute place”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Interesting place to have a restaurant, very cozy, like the cottage style, large deck on a sunny day, this could be a great party spot. The food was ok. Server was very sweet.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kgirlee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Dockside Dining”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This restaurant is unique as it is set in the middle of a working marina. Their shoreside dinners are excellent and freshly cooked. My fish and chips was absolutely delicious and perfectly cooked. They serve too many french fries with this dish but the cod is suberb. We have eaten here on many different occasions while visiting family in Branford and the meals have always been quite good. I would recommend this restaurant. The bar area is kind of open to the outside area in which to dine if the weather is comfortable to do so, When entering the boat yard look for the restaurant on the right hand side in the middle of boats. Ship Ahoy and enjoy your meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler7010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dockside Seafood & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Dockside Seafood & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing