We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly acceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Branford / New Haven
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Branford
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfectly acceptable”
Reviewed February 3, 2009

No worries here. This hotel is safe, functional, and clean. It is not fancy by any stretch of the imagination, so if you expect a classy or elegant place, look elsewhere. All the furnishings are new, and the room, bathroom, and bedding were very clean. Carpet was worn but not dirty. Good internet connectivity and very good TV channel selection. Everything worked properly and the place is quiet and safe. The room was on the small side, but not ridiculously so. Front desk clerk was not a charmer, but he cared about his job and was polite and helpful. This hotel has a teeny tiny indoor pool (3 ft deep) and a teeny little exercise room, but both were very well maintained and clean. My only complaint is that the mattress is sort of thin and not the greatest. It did not bother me, but if you have back problems or are the sensitive type, it might pose a problem. Overall, a really good value for the money with no glaring problems.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lonzaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    124
    126
    96
    76
See reviews for
211
115
33
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level 6 Contributor
850 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Location is convenient to the highway, but not much else. Single women should be cautious. Front desk staff not very helpful: asked for change, they didn't have any. Asked for directions to town: "get on the highway"; when asked how to get to our room, it was just a general finger point down a hall (It was actually down the hall, around two corners and up a set of stairs, through a door and around another corner---and no elevators). The public computer (at least they had one) did not have a printer, so if you want to check in with your airlines, you can't preprint a boarding pass.
When we got our key, we found the hallways of the hotel to be dingy, hot, muggy and smelled like burnt toast. The hall decor was tired; newspaper machines were never restocked. Our room was right behind that hall door and every time someone went through that door, it banged into the wall---right where our heads were. It poured rain one night and the downspouts were right outside our window. LOUD. Housekeeping forgot to refill something every day--no coffee one day; no new towels one day. The rooms were otherwise standard issue; bathrooms a little dated and the light switches strange.
When we were leaving, they did have a small note up that said they were starting a remodel, but I'd call before I booked this hotel again.

  • Liked — Convenience to highway access
  • Disliked — Lack of comfort and cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MaryKop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2008

My wife and I, along with our 18 mth old son spent an overnight here. When we arrived we noticed a lot of work being done to the place; we thought at least they're trying to make it look good. We started the checking in process and Amy the young lady who runs the hotel gave us a free upgrade to a suite; I want to make mention the upgrade was not based on a negative reason. The room was great and met out needs, especially with having a baby. The indoor pool was great, the continental breakfast was awesome! The personal were very, very helpful. I do agree with the other reviews on the rooms needing a more modern look to them but for an overnight stay you can not beat the price. There is a Dunkin Donuts, Friendly's and Stop-n-Shop arcoss the street...you can't go wrong.

  • Liked — The size of the suite.
  • Disliked — The location of the hotel is great.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lpmiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2008

My husband and I have stayed at better Best Westerns before, but this one paled a little in comparison. The accommodations were clean and the continental breakfast was pretty good, but the entire hotel was very warm, other than the room, where we had our own a/c. The free WiFi was great, but the washer and dryer in the building wouldn't work (we had some swimsuits we wanted to wash, but couldn't). Also, the indoor pool was closed for renovations. There was also work being done on the exterior of the hotel, but nothing that bothered us. We would stay here again if we had to, but we recommend considering other options first. However, great deal for the price, considering the area.

  • Liked — WiFi and great value
  • Disliked — warm temperature
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jmstone80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
663 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 596 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

Depsite what you read on the previous reviews, this spot wasn't that bad. We stayed here on our way down to NYC and it is right next to Route 95 in small Brandford CT. The staff was family owned and friendly and very helpful. The lobby was small and clean and presentable. The hotel is situated in a office park and close to restaurants. The price was about right for the room that you get. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the bathrooms were very nice. The beds were comfortable as well. The continental breakfast was a joke, not having much at all and the pool area was filled with kids that paid a fee to get in to just swim, so beware of that. The big thing I would say Iabout this place is that it is a bit dated and needs some upgrading and the hallways smell something awfull. Almost a body odor/food cooking smell. Not a pleasant smell at all and not one that I wanted to smell at 10 at night. Other than that, not a bad stay!

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank lip89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2006

THis place is a dump. The room was dirty and the hotel staff was terrible. We lost power that night due to a thunderstorm and the emergency lites failed to come on, Its an old motel and used now for short stays....Its a real DUMP!

  • Liked — Check out
  • Disliked — The cleaniness level
  • Tips/Secrets — Dont stay here...
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank shoreline8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2006

Very good value for the money. A simple, clean motel with some amenties at modest cost. Decent buffet breakfast with the usual bagels, muffins, and pretty good coffee. I didn't use it, but a nice tiny indoor pool, particularly for the kids.

If you're staying more than one night, for a few more dollars the suite provides not only more room but fridge, sink, and microwave.

Dunkin Donuts across the street and supermarket just down the road.

Warning: the directions provided by Yahoo are incorrect so don't use them (I'm not sure about Mapquest).

Helpful?
Thank Newtownguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branford
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#3 of 7 in Branford
49 reviews
5.6 mi away
Tower Inn & Suites
Tower Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Guilford
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 3 in Guilford
107 reviews
8.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites New Haven
2.6 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ & Suites Guilford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Branford / New Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Branford / New Haven

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Branford / New Haven
Address: 3 Business Park Dr, Branford, CT 06405-2925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Branford
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Branford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Branford / New Haven 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Baymont Inn & Suites Branford / New Haven Hotel! At our hotel listening to our guests and treating them like neighbors is what we do best. We call it "hometown hospitality" and it comes complete with all the comforts of home and more! Whether you're traveling for your child's soccer tournament, a romantic getaway, a family vacation, or another important business trip, we have the right hotel accommodations for you. From breakfast to bedtime and all the moments in between, you can rest assured that your visit with us will be delightful. Starting with the warm welcome of our staff, you can count on a restful night of deep sleep, a free, reliable wireless, high-speed Internet access connection, and a hearty meal of French Toast, waffles, Kellogg's® cereal, hot coffee and chilled orange juice at the Baymont Breakfast Corner. So the next time you are planning a trip, remember that at Baymont Inn & Suites Branford / New Haven you're always welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Branford / New Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Branford Hotel Branford
Baymont Inn Branford
Best Western Branford
Branford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing