We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not like it used to be...”
Review of La Luna Ristornate

La Luna Ristornate
Ranked #85 of 144 Restaurants in Branford
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Durham, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not like it used to be...”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Our group of 12, was there for Sunday brunch. We were seated in a small separate room, which would be nice, but we were rather uncomfortably crowded. The complimentary cocktails arrived, but not without the waitress spilling a mimosa all over one in our group, completely soaking her. Although apologetic, the waitress seemed unable to respond in a professional way. No compensation was offered to her for her meal, not even a free drink.
Atmosphere: Walls in room were dirty with food smears. Yuck.
Food: I have dietary concerns and asked for an egg white omelet, but the chef was unwilling to accommodate. The rest was just average, with nothing really special.
Just not how I remember it being in past visits.
We will need to look for a new Sunday brunch spot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lori l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    15
    6
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Haven, ct
Level Contributor
152 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

great food....even better brunch...however, it's somewhat pricy so i dont think i would bring children/kids. It's got a romantic aura which makes it good for a date night.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisa0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Disappointing lunch”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Had lunch here today with my mother. She ordered the Seafood Risotto which sounded very good and I ordered the fish special. The seafood Risotto was nothing but awful. The clams in the shell and the mussells were stone cold compared to the risotto which had obviously been reheated in the microwave and was steaming hot. When we mentioned it to the waiter he really shrugged and had nothing to say. The fish special was anyhing but special and was far too salty. All in all a poor eating experience and a return visit is not in our future.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank margiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Will not recommend or go to LaLuna again”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our large party of 12 people went to the Easter Buffet (3/31/13) and we have never had such a terrible meal or experience. The table was not set up for 12 people and we had to move about while they 'fixed' the problem putting 2 people in the traffic space. Then they had to wait for silverware which took a while to get and we had to ask for it a couple of times. When the drink order was taken one person asked for coffee and finally got it when the meal was over. When we went to get the food, it was cold - the scrambled eggs were right out of the refrigerator (not even room temp) there were no bowls for the soup and not enough serving utensils at the stations. They ran out of roast beef and had only one person at the carving and omelet station.
The place was overbooked, poorly managed and the food areas were not kept clean. They also ran out of some desserts.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“New Favorite restaurant”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have heard many good reviews for this restaurant. My husband received a "free dinner" coupon for his birthday so we decided to try it out. This place is fabulous! We were first impressed with the atmosphere of the restaurant. We went around 3PM so it was a late lunch, early dinner. We both ordered one of the specials. The food was delicious! The dining room was a little cool, we said something to the waiter and he turned the heat up. It is so refreshing to be treated like our comfort mattered, For dessert, we probably wouldn't have ordered, but they brought samples to the table. It was done in such a way, we couldn't resist.. (we hardly ever get dessert) But it was one of those melt in your mouth Delicious! When we ordered coffee, he made us a fresh pot! We will defiantly go again! It was a little pricey, but well worth the cost. The lunch specials were under $20.00 and that included a salad and bread. Loved the experience! It was a wonderful way to celebrate my Husband's birthday!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luvnushoez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Luna Ristornate also viewed

 

Been to La Luna Ristornate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing