We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Food & Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Darbar India

Darbar India
Ranked #46 of 143 Restaurants in Branford
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
East Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terrific Food & Service”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We live in the neighboring town of East Haven and are huge fans of Darbar, both for dine-in and take-out. Food is consistently terrific, and the service is great - though it gets very crowded especially on weekends (a sign of its popularity). Lunch buffet is a steal for what you get, though we more frequently eat there for dinner. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. Our favorites are the wonderful chicken tikka masala and the lamb biryani, along with the excellent garlic naan and extra raita (portions extremely generous). Dine-in atmosphere leaves a tiny bit to be desired - central lines of tables feel a bit "exposed," while booths are more cozy - but that is a very minor complaint relative to the quality of the food and the great service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GSTravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    16
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian Food in Connecticut”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I love this place and I've dined there about 50 times. I've never had a poor meal and most have been outstanding. The service is without exception friendly, patient and caring. I like that they adjust the spiciness to your preference.
I also recommend the restaurant for take-out.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andyabels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
86 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“True Indian fair”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Everything was well prepared. The spice & heat is up to you. If it's your 1st time, stick with mild.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ozzy6900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
137 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in CT!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Friends introduced us to this place and we have gone many times now. Have had a good variety of things off the menu, both main dishes and appetizers, and everything has been wonderful. Flavorful without being SALTY (yay!), and spicy-hot-or-not, according to your wishes. A word of warning; they can't make a mixed drink to save their lives--get a beer, wine, soda, or one of their specialty beverages and skip the mixed drinks. But go for the food and expect a party for the palate! It is a great place to go with friends and have each order something different, and pass the plates around for all to try. Have not had anything yet that I didn't like! I would say the place rides the line between casual and upscale, and would be suited for any diners, even families if the children are well behaved and will eat something other than chicken nuggets and fries.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Tried Indian food only a few times before. This place was my favorite of the limited Indian food experiences I've had. Can't even remember the names of the dishes we got, but the lamb curry had great flavor and tender cubes of lamb. There was a spinach dish that was absolutely delicious too. Good experience

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Darbar India also viewed

 

Been to Darbar India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing