We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Stay on the water!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Branford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thimble Islands Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Branford B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 8, 2013

My wife and I just spent 3 of of the most pleasurable nights that we can recall at the Thimble Island B&B. We have traveled extensively throughout the country often staying at B&B places. This was by far the best experience we have ever had. Tony and Julie run a quaint, meticulous inn with intoxicating views. The breakfast is served on time, perfectly prepared. The time we spent on the screened porch sharing conversation, toasting to life, was a pleasure we will not soon forget. I find myself thinking of the friends we made often.
Go now!
You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Both rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie B, Owner at Thimble Islands Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2016

This is our favorite review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 63 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

If your idea of a relaxing weekend is to sit with a soft breeze coming in over the water, satisfied after a delicious breakfast and gaze out over an incredible view of the beautiful Thimble Islands, this is the place to go! Tony and Julie are great and gracious hosts, the house is gorgeous and any stress that you bring with you simply blows away in that soft breeze.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband and I just spent 3 days at the Thimble Island B & B and completely agree with all of the comments in the positive reviews. In trying to express new insights I thought of Ralph Lauren linens, eggs cooked perfectly three different ways for breakfast on the screen porch, reading at the end of the dock enjoying Long Island Sound, a leisurely 10 minute walk to enjoy the low-keyed village of Stoney Creek, a fascinating boat ride to view 32 of the Thimble Islands each occupied by different size and style summer homes, a jogging/walking trail five minutes from the house where we saw an osprey nest with three babies, and so much more to explore. We plan to return once every season. We loved this
B & B.

Room Tip: Both rooms are very comfortable right on the water. The Heron room is larger and has a larger bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzmegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I would have to echo many of the other fantastic reviews of how Thimble Island B&B as a peaceful, lovely and gracious home.

The hosts, Julie and Tony, could not have been more hospitable and accommodating. Their interest in getting to know their guests while giving us the space to unplug & unwind is a tricky balance that they struck so well. Their hospitality was exceptional: from complimentary wine & cheese before we headed out to dinner, to greeting us with a roaring fire in the fireplace, to offering to recommend and make dinner reservations for us... you can tell they love serving their guests.

The breakfast menu catered to our various preferences and was set up right on time with hot coffee, the New York times, and a magnificent view of the Long Island Sound waiting for us when we awoke. Tony is quite a cook (ask about the Gorgonzola & caramelized onion omelet!) We are quite the culinary snobs and found the meal to be to notch.

When we stumbled upon Thimble Island B&B, my partner and I were looking for a place to retreat from New York City and this could not have been a better fit for our needs. Whether journaling out on the patio, reading on the sofa, or napping after breakfast back in our room, we felt so at home and comfortable unplugging from the world and finding some real peace and quiet. The space was clean and comfortable, and the amenities were top notch (ie the Jacuzzi tub in the Egret room ... what a view!) I think I took 3 bath in 18 hours and slept better than I had in months.

Of the many B&Bs I have stayed in, this one certainly tops the charts for me. Go with no plans or expectations beyond true relaxation and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlycreighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary at the Thimble Islands B&B. It couldn't have been nicer. The bright, fresh rooms provided expansive and relaxing views of Long Island Sound. A nearby Trolley Trail allowed us enjoyable morning walks after delicious and beautifully presented breakfasts. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a well-appointed adjoining bathroom. But even with all this, it was the warmth and kindness of our hosts that made our stay truly remarkable. We felt we left with new friends, and we are eager to return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have stayed at quite a number of B&B's but never had a more comfortable and welcoming experience than at Julie and Tony's Thimble Islands Bed and Breakfast home. Views beautiful and peaceful, incomparable breakfast (Creme brulee French toast incredibly delicious) overlooking the Thimble Islands. Even there library has something for everyone. For readers, no need to brings book or kindle because there are many shelves of books on every subject. I enjoyed several books on archaeology.

Room Tip: Both rooms are beautiful. You will be happy in either one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We are so grateful Julie and Tony have chosen to open their home and hearts to guests. Their Thimble Island B&B offers Zen-like peace and comfort. Hidden, yet convenient, the house sits between a towering hunk of granite and a tranquil expanse of Long Island Sound. If you enjoy gazing at boats and egrets, you will enjoy this place.

Inside is equally amazing. The front door opens into a hall of books and art leading in one direction to the guest bedrooms. Ours had two sets of windows, one overlooking the sound, the other a stand of evergreens. It was all very quiet, except for the gentle lapping of waves.
The bathroom was pure luxury. A glass shower large enough for two, dual sinks, more granite.
And we slept like stones.

Julie and Tony graciously served us delicious breakfasts in their dining area overlooking the sound. It was fun to be there with them and hear about their adventures.

We visit Branford often(one of us grew up there) and usually stay in New Haven or Madison.
And now there is this place. We will be back!

Phil and Marcia

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mcdunne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branford
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven
7.6 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
2.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Branford / New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Tower Inn & Suites
Tower Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Guilford
62 reviews
3.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ & Suites Guilford
16.5 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thimble Islands Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thimble Islands Bed & Breakfast

Address: 28 W Point Rd, Branford, CT 06405-5732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Branford
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Branford
Price Range: $175 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the quaint village of Stony Creek, this secluded luxury B&B features magnificent views of the Thimble Islands and Long Island Sound right at your doorstep. It's a perfect location to relax and enjoy the beautiful Connecticut shoreline, 12 miles east of New Haven and 75 miles from New York City. Thimble Islands Bed & Breakfast offers two elegant guest bedrooms each with private bath and glorious water views. Amenities include a spacious living room with fireplace, dining room, family room with HD plasma TV, wireless internet, screened porch, large garden terrace, 30-foot pier, and parking. Town beaches, scenic village greens, quaint shops, nature walks, boat tours, hiking trails, fine restaurants, and vibrant cultural attractions are minutes away. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing