We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One Night Refreshed Us Like a Week Someplace Else” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of By The Sea Inn and Spa

By The Sea Inn and Spa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Branford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
By The Sea Inn and Spa
Ranked #5 of 5 Branford B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One Night Refreshed Us Like a Week Someplace Else”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

This was a the second year in a row that we had taken advantage of "By the Sea Inn & Spa's" "Mid-week Getaway". As Innkeepers ourselves we require rejuvenation every so often. "By the Sea Inn and Spa" is just the ticket. We arrived mid-afternoon, checked into the Inn and then each had a massage. The Inn and Spa is close to the center of town and we were able to walk to a nearby restaurant for dinner. By the time we arrived back from dinner the Spa was closed for the day and very peaceful. The next morning there was a continental breakfast in the breakfast room and we enjoyed our coffee on the upper deck. After checking out we drove down scenic "Rt 146" and took the Thimble Islands Cruise.

We had been only twenty minutes from our house and away just a little over 24 hours but we came back to our Bed & Breakfast completely refreshed.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank innkeepersupreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    4
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
10
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

Went in for a massage. Very nice atmosphere and staff. Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jh162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

I booked a pedicure with my mom at By the Sea a few weeks ago. Wow, what a great time we had! The staff was incredible, I felt like I was out with the girls. We all gabbed like we've known each other forever. The pedi was very well done and extremely relaxing, the whole experience was fantastic. I would absolutely recommend By the Sea for any excursion with your girlfriends.

Stayed January 2010
Helpful?
Thank CarlyHwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2010

Single mom, not a lot of cash on hand, decides to take a mini spa-vaca with daughter.
Boy did I pick the right one! My daughter and I were treated like royalty. We arrived a little early and the front desk woman let us check in with no fuss, she was so sweet and friendly. We stayed in the "Queen Room" which I thought was charming. After unpacking, my daughter and I decompressed from our travels with a cup of tea in their charming breakfast room and then it was on to our services. The pedicure was so relaxing. A warm soak, foot and leg massage and pretty polish - lots of good conversation and many giggles made this a great choice for us. Don't hesitate to book a service with Mandy - she's superb! We walked into Branford center for dinner. The town is very quaint, very New England. We were told we could light a fire in the lounge after spa hours, which we did, with another cup of herbal tea to complete the evening. Leaving the next day, both my daughter and I were restored and very happy we picked By The Sea.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingsometimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2009

The pertinent part of the name is "Spa." The inn being very much the secondary part of the business.
On arrival we were warmly greeted at the Beauty Parlour by two young receptionists/ beauticians.
We were then taken on a journey through a labyrinth of dark corridors and stairs passing public areas which were used by clients of the Beauty Parlour until 8pm.
Our room was spacious and clean. The decor tended towards floral drapery, neither classic nor contemporary, more claustrophobic and dark.
The "balcony" outside the room afforded a view of clients having their feet attended to in a treatment room.
The breakfast area was cosy. Four people would have been a crowd. Mismatched mugs sat on a badly painted dropleaf table.
Breakfast was of the self serve variety from the basic supplies in the fridge.
If your taste is for the quirky things in life this may appeal to you.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller_S-WalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

What a wonderful place! We enjoyed our stay thoroughly. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We walked up to the Branford green where we were surprised to find quite a few delightful restaurants, some shops to browse in and park benches to relax on. Prices were reasonable for the area. We loved our couples massage. I think next time we will book additional spa services since their spa is well renowned. Even though we are from CT. we were new to exploring the shoreline area. We will make this an annual mini summer vacation!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stiltsCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2008

Our 3rd trip to the Inn and also our last. While the Inn itself is nice with a comfortable enough bed and decently appointed room, we we felt totally dismissed by the staff of the Inn. Though the guide clearly states that breakfast is from 7:30 - 9:30, we were told that our 7:30 request for coffee was out of the ordinary. The next morning, the coffee machine was on, but no coffee had been made, as the person setting it up had forgotten to put coffee in the filter. Luckily, they left the folgers out, so we could make our own. For $160 a night (in february) our breakfast at a Bed and BREAKFAST was cereal. That's it. I waited around till 9 convinced that someone would be coming it with at least a bagel, but alas, cereal.
Had a great meal at petit cafe the night before, so the trip wasn't a bust, but we will not return to Inn by the sea.

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank sixelagogo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Branford
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Branford/New Haven
2.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#1 of 7 in Branford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
2.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Branford / New Haven
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
7.7 mi away
Tower Inn & Suites
Tower Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Guilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
23.7 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By The Sea Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By The Sea Inn and Spa

Property: By The Sea Inn and Spa
Address: 107 Montowese St, Branford, CT 06405
Location: United States > Connecticut > Branford
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Branford
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
By The Sea Hotel Branford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing