We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wait 'til next year!!! Epic roll” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lobster Shack

The Lobster Shack
Ranked #2 of 142 Restaurants in Branford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located at the Marina Number is 203-483-8414
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wait 'til next year!!! Epic roll”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

Came here from Atlanta with my dad who is a CT native...this place ROCKS! Simple, kinda off the grid, big old claw meat lobster drenched in butter on a killer roll....so glad we made it here before the season ended. And the best NE clam chowder.....how an epic lobster roll is meant to be....especially from someone coming from the land of bad strip mall food in the south :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alicia67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    40
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great grub in a beautiful setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

If your in the area stop by this cash only food shack with great quality lobster rolls, hot dogs and clam chowder. Its located right on the water overlooking a marina. Also it's BYOB!! Great destination!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mattfales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This Lobster roll can't be beat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

While approaching lunch time and driving along Indian Neck Avenue in Branford, we came across a sign for The Lobster Shack. It's a big red trailer at the end of a gravel driveway that serves seafood. You order at the trailer and sit at tables with umbrellas outdoors along the Branford River. The hot lobster roll cannot be beat. It is large, fresh, sweet and very filling. I'm so happy we found this place and will definitely return when in the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallmadge
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“New England Food Adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Loved this, it was our last stop in our quest for Lobster on a driving tour of New England states. It's a bit hard to find but we managed with some help from the locals. It was wonderful. They ran out of Lobster Bisque right as we got there so had Clam Chowder instead it was wonderful - The lobster roll was the largest we encountered on our foodie adventure - warm, full of lobster meat and the butter wih a hint of lemon just made it delicious - My husband and I would definately visit again should we be that way. The owner and staff were very likable and spent alot of time visiiting with us..

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chillee4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansonia, Connecticut
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A beautiful View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife went out apple picking to Branford and decided to try The Lobster Shack for lunch. It doesn't get much better than this. Right on the water by the harbor. We had shrimp rolls and chowder. Everything was excellent. First time here, but not the last. Just sorry we didn't try it earlier as they close for the season shortly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnoniaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster Shack also viewed

 

Been to The Lobster Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing