We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort - not so great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Chandi Boutique Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Batu Layar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This property is quite new, so everything is in tip top shape. The staff are the real stars of this place. Everyone is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are very well done - simple clean lines, bright and airy. There is a very cool bar overlooking the ocean (drinks are very expensive) and similarly there is a lovely restaurant on the other side. The restaurant is quite nice and the meals are interesting and well prepared. However, like the bar it is very expensive - the kind of prices you would find in big cities.
Unfortunately The Chandi is not in a very good location. As others have pointed out there is not much of a beach. It's a narrow sandy strand that is very dirty and because of coral and rocks not suitable for swimming. The nearby beach is also very dirty. The resort is also on one of the main roads to town and quite close to the road. It's not particularly quiet with the traffic noise. Avoid the garden view villas as they back on to the road. The property is bordered on either side by fishing huts so there are always people around, fires burning, noise etc. Across the road is a busy mosque, so expect to be wakened at 5 am. And by all means, avoid this place during Idul Fitri (end of Ramandan celebration). I was there during this period and for 2 days the place was so noisy and the waterfront was packed with people all day and night. The properties on either side had been turned into carnival grounds starting at 7am and going until 10 - 11 pm. It made the resort an unpleasant place due to the all the noise and the road was clogged with traffic so it was difficult to get in and out. I don't think the resort staff expected this as they really didn't know how to react and in fact weren't really sure how long it would last. This may prove to be an annual problem for The Chandi. I think that you may find equal quality and value at the resorts north of Sengiggi.

Room Tip: Select an ocean view villa - it will be quieter. The 'executive villas' include a sitting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jimi59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (576)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 576 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our second visit to Chandi in 4 months - we loved it then, we love it now! This time we stayed in one of the newly completed Garden View rooms, which are bigger with a separate seating area and deck, but are located up behind the Ocean View rooms. They are a bit closer to the road so not as quiet, particularly during the Idul Fitri weekend, but we were equally happy there as we had been in an Ocean View room previously. There are 10 Ocean View rooms and 6 Garden View rooms - perfectly sized resort! The staff were wonderful and we'll surely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Nature-inspired, minimalist modern twist -- lots of stone elements. Not the traditional Indonesian/Balinese style with wood decor/furniture.

Pros:
- Right by the beach. Or perhaps ON the beach is more accurate?
- Not many units, therefore very attentive, friendly staffs
- Nice little swimming pool by the beach
- Open air bathroom is very nice

Cons:
- Breakfast menu selection is quite limited. Not a big deal, really.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nyer8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

After spending time in Singapore and Bali, we got the ferry to Lomok and our grown up children went to the Gilis. We got a cab to the hotel and it was like stepping into tranquility. The challets were new, clean and well furnished. The serice was excellent and the pool and facilities were 1st class. We only had breakfast and lunch on site which were top class and a fair price. In the evening we would get a cab to Senggigi which cost 15K ruppia (nothing) and took 10 minutes. There we found some good eating places and the Happy Cafe had some great bands who played requests.
I do not reccomend this resort for children, it is really an adult quality chill out spot with 5* service.

I loved it.

Room Tip: All Challets were well positioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank NiallTNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

if you need a resort style break and want a great base to explore Lombok this is it! Beautiful gardens - luscious fresh water pool-minimalist decor with references to traditional architecture of the archipelago. Amazing service - if you need and staff have an excellent network of people and services which is trustworthy and good value. Great place to chill and watch the morning flotilla of fishing boats from the villages scattered along the coast.

To be honest the restaurant was a bit out of our price range so we tended to eat locally at smaller establishments including some really good street side vendors where dinner is about $1USD pp. But that's no problem staff listen to what you want and tune in on your style - perfect holiday destination !!

Room Tip: garden rooms are cheaper and bigger - good to be out of the dress circle too. It's not a party p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davidcranswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Beautiful, well planned and well kept, intimate and friendly. We felt like everyone was there just for us. Top notch service, excellent restaurant. Alex rated their Nasi Goreng as the best in all of Asia - and he's tried a lot of it! Right on the water under a canopy of palm trees. Pretty much nirvana. A perfect 'relax' destination after our adventure to the surfing venues on the south tip of the island.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

An amazing getaway resort, extremely friendly staff and excellent service. It has a cozy feel and the best, I really mean it, the best nasi goreng in Lombok. The other choices are great as well, however. I can't say enough good things about the staff, helpful, eager, and very kind. The taxi service is very good, I never had to wait a second. The outdoor bathrooms are a nice touch, and the shower is very interesting and well done. All in all, an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Chandiisthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Layar
3.1 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,573 reviews
3.0 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
1.6 mi away
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
#11 of 29 in Senggigi
879 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Resort Lombok
Holiday Resort Lombok
#7 of 7 in Mangsit
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chandi Boutique Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chandi Boutique Resort & Spa

Address: Jl. Raya Senggigi Km 5, Batu Layar, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Batu Layar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Batu Layar
Price Range: $97 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Chandi Boutique Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chandi Boutique Resort & Spa is a place where life is calmer, where every day is a break from everyday life … Situated in a beautiful coconut grove on the west coast of Lombok Island, The Chandi Boutique Resort & Spa offers it´s guests an exceptional level of comfort and tranquility. Guest satisfaction and unforgettable holidays are our vision; personalized service and privacy for our guests is our mission. Our hotel is only a 5 minutes’ drive from Senggigi, Lombok’s tourist and shopping area, 20 minutes’ drive to Mataram (capital of Lombok) and 40 minutes’ drive to Lombok´s international Airport (Bandara International Lombok). The Chandi Boutique Resort and Spa offers: 15 Generous Villas All villas are furnished with exclusive interior in a modern minimalist style and feature a furnished outdoor veranda, king-size bed, spacious bathroom with open garden shower, dressing area, flat screen TV, DVD- player, telephone, free Wi-Fi access, minibar and air-conditioning. The hotel provides complimentary amenities, such as daily bottled mineral water, tea & coffee facilities, thoughtful toiletries, bathrobe & slippers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Chandi Boutique Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing