We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As close to perfection as practically possible”
Review of The Puncak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Puncak
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Batu Layar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Wow. We were speechless when we arrived at The Puncak and stepped foot onto the terrace level with the rooms and the infinity pools overlooking Senggigi and Gunung Agung on the island of Bali. The views are breathtaking. You really have stepped into a place of tranquillity when you have arrived at The Puncak. The photos you see here are impressive but I promise you it is 10x better in person!

The rooms are fabulous, generous in size and well equipped. The greeting letter and romantic flowers upon arriving were a great personal touch by Jean-Paul and Nury. The rooms have been orientated to make the most of the amazing views, from your bed you wake up to views over Senggigi which is very hard to beat.

We were unfortunately delayed by 1 week due to the Sangeang Api volcano eruption, Jean-Paul and Nury were only too happy to accommodate us a week later. As it turned out we had the absolute pleasure of staying at The Puncak by ourselves for 4 magical days of the 7 we stayed. It was like a private hotel, so peaceful and relaxing. Even when other guests arrived our experience still felt intimate and personal.

The staff are an absolute standout and special thanks goes to Gede, Erwin and Angela for making our stay memorable. Gede was only too happy to teach us some Indonesian terms during our stay and we enjoyed practising these each day with the staff. They are very attentive and friendly and made our stay very enjoyable. Jean-Paul and Nury were also very personable and we enjoyed many candid conversations during our stay.

The food we found to be fantastic. Nury is the headchef and has mastered the international menu. The serving sizes are very generous, you will not go hungry here. Breakfast is like having a buffet on your table per person.

All in all, we can confidentially say this is the most amazing hotel we have ever stayed in. From the location, layout, pools, views, staff and food; everything was just perfect. We highly recommend it and look forward to returning to The Puncak hotel again next year.

James & Jodie

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms. The views from each are equal. No matter which room you get you will not be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesNowill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 194 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

Me and my husband are just packing to leave after a 4 night stay at the puncak. The only negative I have from our whole stay here is that we have to leave, we have fallen in love with this boutique establishment! The rooms are beautiful and chic without being ostentatious which I love... And spotlessly clean. The staff are so attentive polite and friendly and the views are spectacular. I had read reviews on here prior to coming and noted people said it was a way out from senggigi... Well that Is what makes this place so special. It costs a mere $2 to get to sengigi in a taxi which the hotel staff order or you can hire a moped like we did and get around easy! Located up on the hill is what makes this place so great, you are away from the hustle and bustle in a perfect tranquil spot to relax and unwind and the photos do not do the view justice at all it's simply breathtaking. But my favourite part of my stay was the attention to detail and personal touches. Every night the staff bring you a yummy mocktail just as the sun is setting and light lanterns and candles through the hotel, the breakfasts are amazing and include something for everyone and every day you will notice fresh fruit and new flowers on your table. We celebrated my husbands 30th while we were here and decided to eat at the hotel and the food was just amazing plus the owners jean-Paul and Nouri brought my husband a birthday cake. I feel like I have written an essay but it's because I could not recommend this place enough, love it!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fifigibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

1) amazing view of senggigi ...especially 6pm...
2) nice design of the rooms
3) very friendly owner, I can see that he hopes the guests can really enjoy
4) super caring hotel, inside the room, you can find lots of stuff e.g. Plaster, different medicines, etc.
5) unique boutique hotel with its own characters and rules
6) definitely, it is good place for honeymoon as well
7) cheap, Around USD 170.. Villa with private pool

Hmm.. The presentation of the food is nice but the quality of food was just average. You might do something to improve this..

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank TVC1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I have nothing bad or negative to say about this place. It is AWESOME!!

Even before we arrived, the way the owners replied to my email, I could tell that they have put in a lot of effort to make the Puncak perfect. If there was a stronger word than perfect, I would use it!

From the time we arrived, we experienced the best hospitality in my entire life (and I travel almost every month). The rooms were perfectly clean and extremely comfortable, there was even a handwritten note by the owner Jean-Paul himelf and his wife. The hotel is focused on being environmentally friendly and organic, which is really awesome especially in the food. BEST MEALS EVER, served right outside your room. You have to order in advanced though, because they put in a lot of effort and love into preparing each meal, so it takes time. The views from the rooms are simply breathtaking, as the entire compound only has 5 rooms, the pool is practically like a private pool. The staff are super attentive to your needs, although you hardly see them (its like magic, really). Jean-Paul even dropped by on our last night to check on us, which is really nice of him. This place is perfect for healing, to get away from city noise, and its really really relaxing, we wished we could have stayed longer.

This is by far the best getaway we've ever had, and definitely would never be our last stay in the Puncak. Kudos to the owners and the staff for creating, designing and building this heaven in Lombok, we appreciate ALL the details (from the marble on the wall, to the comfy bedsheets, to the fresh flowers in the room and at every meal, the FOOD which is THE BEST OMG, and the list goes onnnn hehehehe). Hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank azlina10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

If you want peace and tranquility, then the puncak is perfect. Ihe villas are designed really well, everything is clean and the view is incredible. However, the only problem is the food. We decided to stay in and enjoy the villa on the first evening. We were having a lovely evening, watching the sunset, surrounded by candles, a complimentary cocktail, nice staff but sadly the food was terrible. This was a shame because it meant we had to leave the villa every night to eat, which was not what we had planned. The owner has put a lot of effort into making little touches which makes it very romantic, for instance every evening you get a complimentary mocktail at sunset. However food is very important to us, which was why we were a little disappointed.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the Puncak as it's a beautiful place, especially for couples. However m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank M_M_M_H2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePuncak, Owner at The Puncak, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear M-M-M-H2013,

We are thanking you for your input.
Overall it seems you had a great experience in many facets of your stay in The Puncak.
We are noting and wondering about your remark concerning our food : poor and terrible.

This is a serious allegation and issue for us. Majority of our guests having experienced a high quality kitchen with a personal touch and a special twist, combining local and international cuisine.

We are daily very close to all activities of The Puncak and especially in the kitchen as we are
staying ourselves in many occasions inside the kitchen operations. Nury is very dedicated in research of quality and originality. We are always keen to receive constructive feed backs but we are preferring to receive precised remarks (what, when) so we can find out how to improve or to adapt if necessary and being able to respond you in a way that we are all learning from it...

We are unable to give you any profitable response which is against our commitment of quality in service and communication.

Following your review we had a special meeting with our staff in order to find out any remark or incident. No one could remember any complain. Dishes are mostly coming back
empty to our kitchen.
As your consideration is very general, without any specification , we would be grateful to receive more information about your experience.

On the other hand, we are understanding that tastes and cuisines are not always suitable for
all of the world traveling guests , having different food cultures, different habits, conservative considerations etc... But so far we have been always on top of our guests' expectations.

Being objective in all issues of our business and looking for the most exclusive stay within
an extreme location, we are looking forward and thankful for all the past great appreciations.

Kind regards,

Jean-Paul & Nury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My wife and I traveled to The Puncak last August with my mother in law and auntie. The newly built resort is simply stunning with all finer details thought out perfectly to suit everyone's needs. The Owners Jean-Paul & Nury were most welcoming and very hospitable to our every needs, the breakfast on the front deck overlooking the magic views were stunning.

Being a Manager in the Hospitality industry I highly recommend to anyone traveling in this area, keep up the great work guys you have an amazing business running there in Lombok!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cluesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePuncak, Owner at The Puncak, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear Cluesy,

Thank you for your estimated feedback.
We are honored by receiving a review from a professional in the hospitality industry and this is
even more interesting for us, owners of The Puncak, our staff, and all the persons planing
to have a stay in our place.
You know more than anyone else that this is not an easy business and keeping a level of
excellence is a real challenge for all of us in this industry.

Every day of the year is a new challenge and we are looking forward, as well as our staff to
give the best and to make from each experience in The Puncak, a memorable souvenir that
remains for long time.

Best regards,

Jean-Paul & Nury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have stayed with my partner three nights at The Puncak. This 5-room resort is a paradise in the hills. We have never felt more welcomed at a hotel/resort than at The Puncak. Everything you might need is already in your room and if you need anything else the staff will assist you to meet your needs. The service was one of the best I have ever experienced - always friendly, very polite and attentive but also try to reduce the presence of themselves.

We still miss the breakfast and the home-cooked meals. The chef does a very good job combining local and international cuisine. Every meal has a special twist.

The view is stunning. To wake up and have this view on Gunung Agung is amazing and an unique experience.

Be aware that it is a secluded resort up in the hills. There are no other restaurants or shops around and expect an approx. 30min walk downhill. But it is also the beauty of this place. There are no rooms or facilities for kids. I would rather recommend it for couples.

We are planning to go back in the near future. It is hard to find those places that are truly relaxing. The Puncak is one of these places.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AeE85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePuncak, Owner at The Puncak, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear AeE85,

We would like to thank you for your review and for your feedback.
We are glad to read that we could fulfill your high expectations about quality of service,
discretion, environment, sens of detail, exceptional views and last but not least the quality
of our meals.

We would be pleased to see you back in a near future.

Kind regards,


Jean-Paul & Nury

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Layar
2.8 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,617 reviews
2.7 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
3.2 mi away
Katamaran Hotel & Resort
4 mi away
Living Asia Resort and Spa Lombok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Puncak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Puncak

Address: Jl. Semilir no 13 | The Hill - Bukit Batu Layar - Senggigi, Batu Layar, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia (Formerly Villa Atas Bukit)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Batu Layar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Batu Layar
Price Range: $112 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Puncak 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The PUNCAK, Lombok is a small, cozy and exclusive Boutique place, situated in an idyllic setting on a hill near Senggigi, island of Lombok at about 200 m above sea level with a panoramic view to neighboring island Bali. The service-minded owners and their skilled staff will receive you in a refined comfort and cozy atmosphere. All 5 full air conditioned and luxury suites open onto the infinity pool which seems to hang suspended in the sky. This stylish accommodation will provide you a complete well-being journey. The scenery of this place is close to heaven and a world top location spot. Maximum 2 persons/suite, the extreme location is not fitted for children (0-12). Please contact us directly for the most accurate availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Puncak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puncak Hotel Senggigi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing