We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As close to heaven as you can get” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Puncak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Puncak
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Batu Layar
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“As close to heaven as you can get”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

the best boutique hotel I ever stayed in. It has been now nearly 2 years that my girlfriend and me stayed at the Puncak, but we still dream about it. As those dreams just kept haunting me I decided to finally write a long time awaited review.

Everything was just perfect at our stay - the owners, the staff, the food, the exceptional rooms, the bed, the infinity pool directly infront of the room, the view at the beautiful sunset, and and and .......

We will definitely come back again and if YOU are still looking & comparing where to stay in Lombok...STOP it and stay at The Puncak !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePuncak, Owner at The Puncak, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Stefan T.,

It is of course a boost for us to see that many guests are contacting us several months after their stay to share their ' memorable' souvenirs staying in The Puncak.

We had the pleasure to have you with us about 2 years ago, meanwhile we have even more experience ;-) to make from your stay in The Puncak a real enjoyable and tranquil holiday.

We are a small and intimate boutique place and thus we are receiving lesser feedback's comparing with most of bigger resorts.

Even a later appreciation is encouraging us to stay in the running,

We are looking forward to meeting you again.

Thank you & warm regards,


Jean-Paul & Nury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
124
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I should start this review by stating that this is a BEAUTIFUL property with 5 star service, food and ambience. That being said, this is not a family resort. This is not because the owners are not "kid friendly" (they have a wonderful daughter) but because this is a boutique hotel that caters to couples and honeymooners.
We arrived at The Puncak in the afternoon with our 2 children. We had booked this hotel using Agoda and at the time of booking Agoda had made no mention of this being an adults only hotel. Even though we brought our 2 children the owners welcomed us with open arms and even closed out the openings that they had for the following day to protect both my family’s privacy and to make sure that couples did not arrive for a honeymoon to find out 3 year old in their gorgeous infinity pool. This service is really above and beyond what they had to do...many other hotels would have turned us away.
We stayed for 2 wonderful nights and enjoyed the welcome drinks, food and desserts immensely. The rooms are well appointment with a nice TV, a great sound system, and large comfy bed. Breakfast has already been raved about here on Tripadvisor, but I think it is important to mention dinner as well. Make sure you have at least 1 dinner here and order in advance. This allows the owners time to get the very freshest ingredients and prepare a 5 star culinary adventure for you.
Even though the food is wonderful, it is the view that really steals the show. On clear days you can see the volcanoes on neighboring Bali and the beautiful beaches on Lombok while enjoying a dip in the infinity pool.
The owner is also a wealth of information on the surrounding town and pointed us to 2 different restaurants that we adored.
I want to thank The Puncak again for welcoming our family when they really did not need to and for providing us with a much needed weekend of relaxation. The Puncak is the rare 5 star boutique hotel that has as much HEART as it has STYLE.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePuncak, Owner at The Puncak, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Nick H,
Dear valued guests,

Thank you for your great feedback.
You are right, because of the extreme location and the fact that we have mainly honeymoon couples, we have a policy of no accommodation for children (0-12).
Apparently Agoda did not point enough this policy according to your experience, however it is mentioned on our website and our Facebook pages.
We had no other guests the day of your arrival and yes we closed out the availability of other rooms to make your check in possible with your family. Note this kind of service is only possible in our place. We are always trying to find creative and happy solutions.

But as we need to be consequent toward other guests and toward our policy we just underline this was an unexpected and exceptional case.

The goal of The Puncak is to provide guests privacy - intimacy & tranquility in a charming and stylish atmosphere with breathtaking views.
It is only by implementation of a policy that we can provide such a comfort and memorable experiences to our high valued guests.

As you wrote with heart and style we like to welcome discerning guests to The Puncak.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

An enchanting place high up on the hill, the Puncak proved to be a great choice to spend a few days during our honeymoon in June. Jean-Paul has a great team of staff who work very hard to deliver a high quality service. The food was superb and savouring the fullsome breakfast outside of our room each day was certainly one of the highights of our stay. Lombok is a fast developing island and so there was quite a lot of construction noise around, but this didn't disturb us too much. Senggigi itself doesn't have too much to offer but we really enjoyed a day trip exploring other parts of the island including Senaru and the nearby islands. Thanks again for a great stay. Stuart & Claire

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_J_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePuncak, Owner at The Puncak, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Stuart and Claire,

It was a nice experience for us having you in The Puncak and we are very glad that your Honeymoon-stay was matching with your expectations and one of the highlights of your stay in Indonesia.

As you are mentioning about the development of Lombok, yes it is going on in different places and around a few other spots and resorts.
Good news is that in our experience the tranquility is always there without main disturbances.
We had some concerns about this issue since the beginning of the season but everything so far was- and is- under control in order to make guests full enjoying their stay as you could do.

As you know, there are many activities and visits we can propose and making your stay as wonderful as possible or just laying down and relaxing in The Puncak is another great option ;-)

We are wishing you all the best,

Kind regards,


Jean-Paul & Nury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights, our aim was to relax and rest. the Puncak was perfect, really comfortable beds, amazing views out over the sea towards Bali, perfect sunsets each night and the staff were really friendly and helpful.
Breakfasts were great, a wide choice for all tastes, I asked for less the next day as I didn't like to waste food.
As there are only 5 rooms it was very peaceful and quiet. We walked down the hill and into town a couple of times which was a great walk including a couple of nice beaches. (Takes about 45-50 mins) taxis were easy to get both directions and only cost 17k. (Less than a £1)
The sun loungers are very comfortable, warning, you may fall fast asleep without realising it!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adairclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePuncak, Owner at The Puncak, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Adairclay,

Thank you for your input concerning your experience with us in The Puncak.
Our staff and we are pleased to have your positive feedback.

For the people who are thinking that The Puncak is may be to much away from beach or from
Senggigi, you are the witness in our answer : it is even possible to walk down the hill where we are situated and to catch more busy life around and in Senggigi with plenty of activities or restaurants. Many guests just love to walk around as from a hill you always enjoy the perspectives and views.

Kind regards,

Jean-Paul & Nury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We booked three rooms (of the five) at The Puncak and were extremely pleased with the views, the facility, and the lovely owners. The rooms and the outlook are nicer than the pictures indicate - I think they are from before they opened and had added some finishing touches. We usually stay down in Senggigi in The Qunci Villas, but they were full when we planned our last minute trip. I was pleasantly surprised by the contrast. While Qunci is beachside and quite exclusive, the Puncak was a different league given they only have 5 rooms.

Like at Qunci, you do need to take a cab to get to most places. It would be 5 - 10 minutes to most of the restaurants in Senggigi. (Square was our new favourite, this trip).

This is a family run place where the owners have put their heart and soul into the place. It shows in their approach but also the thoughtful little things that larger places don't think of. The attention to detail is really sweet.

It would be remiss not to mention the amazing breakfast. Each person is served a range of fruit, yoghurt, yukhult, cereal, flavoured and plain milk and plunger coffee. Then you also receive either European or Indonesian breakfast based on your choice. It's a huge amount of food and will set you up well for even the most strenuous day.

One evening, two of our group stayed in and ate at the hotel. They raved about the food.

The beds are really big and comfortable and like the rest of the room and place, impeccably clean.

Just a note. Lombok is still developing and maturing as a destination. So don't expect the level of experience or smoothness you'd expect say in Australia or Europe. We live in Bali and even here there are reasonably regular problems when it comes to services like electricity or internet access. If being patient or understanding is not in your nature, you'd be better served going to a part of the world with more experience with (and potentially overrun by) tourists.

Room Tip: Room 1 is further from the reception and less people walk past it. Room 5 is closest to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LookingLooking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePuncak, Owner at The Puncak, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear LookingLooking,

Thank you for your review, your appreciation and your kind words about your experience with us !
It was also a pleasure for us to have all of you (4 rooms) in a positive and enjoyable mood.

Nice to compare us with Qunci, place we are liking to talk about when people are looking for great beach atmospheres.

We are looking forward to meet you again.

Kind regards,

Jean-Paul & Nury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

The only negative I have regarding The Puncak is that we only stayed one night. If you are after somewhere quiet to relax with views second to none, you can't go past this place. We absolutely loved our stay. We had been travelling Lombok and the Gili Islands and wanted somewhere to unwind and relax. We certainly found it. Credit to Jean-Paul and his wife for providing a luxurious service. We would most definitely stay again. Room was spotless. Bed was fantastic. All amenities in perfect working order. Food was lovely and the produce so tasty and fresh. Finally, did I mention the view!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoonyahBone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePuncak, Owner at The Puncak, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear JoonyahBone,

Thank you for your review. Glad that you really enjoyed all facets of your stay.
It is right that the atmosphere, the situation, the tastes are out of common and for many
guests outstanding.
Yes 1 night booking is a bit short if you would like to completely enjoy as we
are a perfect accommodation for a 3/4 nights stay.
But of course whatever the length of your reservation, we are doing our very best to make from
your stay a memorable experience.

We are wishing to see you back in Lombok and especially with us in The Puncak.

Best regards,

Jean-Paul & Nury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Amazing view, very private and exclusive, perfect place to have your quiet little vacation in lombok, to the owner: if you have one of these hotels down in jakarta/bali id gladly come again and again:) love every bit of the time in this hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ylimarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Layar
3.0 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,373 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sudamala Suites & Villas Senggigi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Jeeva Klui Resort
Jeeva Klui Resort
#3 of 7 in Mangsit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
#11 of 30 in Senggigi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Chandi Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Puncak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Puncak

Property: The Puncak
Address: Jl. Semilir no 13 | The Hill - Bukit Batu Layar - Senggigi, Batu Layar, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia (Formerly Villa Atas Bukit)
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Batu Layar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Batu Layar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Puncak 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The PUNCAK, Lombok is a small, cozy and exclusive Boutique place, situated in an idyllic setting on a hill near Senggigi, island of Lombok at about 200 m above sea level with a panoramic view to neighboring island Bali. The service-minded owners and their skilled staff will receive you in a refined comfort and cozy atmosphere. All 5 full air conditioned and luxury suites open onto the infinity pool which seems to hang suspended in the sky. This stylish accommodation will provide you a complete well-being journey. The scenery of this place is close to heaven and a world top location spot. Maximum 2 persons/suite, the extreme location is not fitted for children (0-12). Please contact us directly for the most accurate availability. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Puncak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Puncak Hotel Senggigi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing