We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveler rating
189
18
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
18
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jean paul and nury infinity pool his wife chicken curry boutique hotel every morning generous breakfast afternoon sun stayed longer four nights memorable stay amazing views lombok strait private terrace wanted somewhere mt agung hill overlooking
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 211 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2012

As soon as we arrived, we wished we could stay longer! The rooms are stylish and spacious with stunning ocean views. Jean Paul and Nuri are superb hosts. Like the previous reviewer, I am also vegetarian and Nuri very kindly created some delicious dishes for me. In fact, the food was the best we had during our entire stay on the island. Jean Paul also helped us to organise our hike up Mt Rinjani which went very smoothly. So if you want to stay somewhere quiet, with excellent food and service this place should be first on your list!

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinapple99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePuncak, Owner at The Puncak, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2012

Dear guests,

We hope that your Rinjani trekking after your journey in The Puncak was also a fantastic experience ! Like most of ranked places looking to offer the best quality - we are working with accuracy on technical issues, but above all that we are caring and involving our emotions and love (agape) in all our services towards our valued guests. That makes an important difference. Thank you for being with us and for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the hotel for my birthday and had the best time ever. The room was amazing and the views breathtaking. Jean Paul and Nuri were simply the best hosts. We both are vegetarian and I am especially picky - and Nuri was easily able to accommodate our needs and whip up some very nice vegetarian versions of their signature dishes - veggie tom yam soup, lumpia, spicy pasta. Very quiet and very helpful staff. Convenient ride to town to eat at some of the other restaurants. Will deifnitely go back and stay here.
Room is very modern and has state of the art amenities. Great lighting and the pool is fabulous.

Room tip: All rooms are equally good
Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travels81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I’ll start by saying that if you’re planning to visit Lombok any time soon, just book this place now! Once people get to know about this amazing new hilltop hideaway, demand is likely to be huge, and with only 5 rooms, many will be disappointed.

And what rooms! Each is excellently appointed and very spacious, with a huge bed facing out through the full wall-to-ceiling sliding glass panels. The architect has certainly taken full advantage of this prime location, high in the hills looking out across the vast bay below, with swaying palm trees in the foreground, the perfect sunset shot was just waiting to happen! It’s only a short taxi ride up the hill from the town but it is well worth it for the quiet tranquility, away from the hustle and bustle of traffic noise.
After being received on our arrival by the very friendly and convivial Belgian owner, Jean-Paul, he took it upon himself to personally show us to our room and guide us through the state-of-the-art facilities provided. Then it was straight into one of the two infinity pools in front of the rooms (yes, that’s 2 pools for 5 rooms!) for a relaxing swim and to wait for the sunset on our terrace.
The attention to our needs was exceptional in every detail and not just from Jean-Paul. The highly trained young staff were extremely attentive without being at all intrusive, and genuinely friendly and wanting to chat with us, clearly brushing up on their English! Indeed the whole place had a very relaxed, laid back atmosphere, far more preferable in my opinion to some of the more ‘stuffy’ and formal five star places we have stayed in.

And unlike the buffet-style hotel breakfasts, these breakfasts were truly excellent, with a stunning selection of chopped fresh fruits, pastries, fruit juices and eggs, all freshly prepared and presented on our terrace each morning. Wonderful.

Dinner was also memorable, (we ate there twice in 4 nights) freshly prepared by Jean-Paul’s wife Nuri, from a small but varied menu offering both Indonesian and Western dishes, which we enjoyed immensely. We chose to have it served on our terrace, but there was always the option to dine in the well- appointed outdoor restaurant area which also overlooked the bay. And when we dined out the following evening, Jean Paul had several recommendations for us and even summoned the taxi, a ridiculously cheap ten-minute ride down into the hustle and bustle of the town. And his recommendations didn't disappoint!
We were intially only there for 4 nights, but as we were returning to the island a few days later for a pre-departure overnight stay, we had no hesitation in booking the Puncak over the larger hotels down in the town.

To sum up, we saw a lot of Indonesia in a 3 week period and stayed in some pretty up-market places, but nothing like the Puncak. This place is luxurious, classy, cool and very laid back, a great place to unwind and be pampered. Thanks, Jean-Paul and Nuri, for making us so welcome!

Room tip: All 5 are equally spectacular
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Woodies2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePuncak, Owner at The Puncak, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Dear valued guests, Mr & Mrs E.Y. W., we have shared your review with our staff. It is always giving a warm and good feeling to receive such a feedback and to experience the enjoyment from our guests Thank you for your appreciation. With passion and duty we are focusing on keeping on our standards of excellence . We wish to see you again in the future. Sincere regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Fantastic rooms; spacious and superbly furnished; very stylish. The 'monsoon' shower was unbelievable. Very comfortable, friendly welcoming staff and stunning location; we loved the long, narrow pools. Breakfast was the stuff of legends; very generous and beautifully presented. The Puncak is quite a way from anywhere else which became a mixed blessing as we always needed a taxi to go to and fro and they didn't always know where the hotel was on our return! The Puncak is definitely a place to go for peace and quiet though the dinner menu is very limited and ordinary; a bit of a let down as we found we preferred to go out to dinner - yet another taxi ride.

Room tip: All rooms have excellent views; 'big blue' had the best views.
Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandRKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePuncak, Owner at The Puncak, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your time on TripAdvisor. As reviewers are signing with another Traveler name, we do not always recognize the origin of the review. Some people are giving comments on services they even didn't use...

The Puncak is situated on the top of the main Senggigi Hill. From our top you can see Senggigi Beach, the beautiful Senggigi Riff and the very nice shaped coastal line. The Puncak is a hidden place at 5 minutes of Senggigi area and - so far - Senggigi is still the main touristic attraction of Lombok . Of course if you want to visit the south or the north or the Gilis, you need a taxi or another transportation like it is the case for all the hotels or villas. If you want to stay in the middle of the Senggigi attraction you have to choose a hotel in the center which will be probably much lesser charming...
You can also hire a motorbike or a car as a service that The Puncak can provide you, making your drive very independent, fun and original…. driving in all directions of this beautiful island.
The use of taxi and especially the Blue Bird in Lombok is very easy and cheap and reliable for many visitors wherever the place they stay in Lombok.

The menu in the restaurant of The Puncak is a limited choice but high quality with some originals you cannot find anywhere else in Lombok – we have Belgian, Italian, Oriental and Indonesian. The choice is limited only because of quality reasons as you can read in other reviews showing the special appreciation of many guests. Please note this is not our core business as our restaurant is only a complementary service to our guests and not available for public.
The Puncak is a small and charming boutique hotel focusing on quality in all issues, tranquility, intimacy, privacy and high quality standards of food. Small number of exceptional rooms, small but delicious menu, don't wait to long for visiting us and sharing our unique atmosphere...

Sincere regards to all of you,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

we stayed in the green stone room which is at the very last room on the venue. when we arrived, already We were so happy to see how reception area is built.it was like floating in the sky!
staff and the owner were very warm and welcoming. the owner took us to the room and explained room facilities.
*Room*
It was much bigger than we thought and much better than it seems in the photos! big rain shower and big bed,big mirror space and candles(thought we didn't have chance to use....)nice bath robe and big bath towels,proper hot water....everything were just great! I think we had the best room since it was on the end of 3rooms beside infinity room which means no body would pass by on their way to get their room from reception/entrance. its just already too much to ask,but if there were a bath tab, it would be more than perfect!

*breakfast*
We could choose "indonesian/western meal"."eating at your room/eating space next to reception(though it seemed no body was using that area...). We choose to have it at our balcony next to their beautiful infinity pool and great hill top view. every morning it was just like a heaven to spend such a beautiful time with great meal. both indonesian meal(nashi gore/mi goren) and western meal(croissant was just killing me every morning...)were amazing.big potion and quality food.We simply loved everything about breakfast.

*Food*
We ordered room service. had burger and cream sauce pasta. it was the best meal in lombok!!!!! very proper and thick taste,we loved it!!!! the puncak is located on the hill top,but we rent a bike and it took us just around 10min to get center area. we definitely would like to come back to the puncak even though lombok itself has not much to do, it worth to go just to stay in the puncak relaxing and enjoying beautiful pool,comfortable room and beautiful view. best place for couple! if you want to party maybe its not the place since its very quiet romantic place:o)
SUNSET WAS STUNNING!

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MCocoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePuncak, Owner at The Puncak, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you for your appreciation and detailed description. Just note that The Puncak, Lombok is a boutique hotel, small and cozy, focusing on privacy - tranquility and intimacy, hower it looks like a Villa, it isn't in the definition of our activity, however we try to make you feeling like home... like in your own villa...
We are looking forward to see you again.
Our kindest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews