We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset House Lombok
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Batu Layar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights.Got our room key n were told their staffs will help with our luggages.Waited for half an hour in our room and still no luggages.Walked to the reception,staffs were bz chatting away and our luggages are still at the side of their desk.I asked them abt my luggages and they replied,oh these are yours?.Kinda pissed and jus carried them ourselves.
Ard the vicinity of the resort,there are lots of unwanted sellers bugging hotel residents to buy their jewellries.kinda annoyin.
Rooms and toilets are big and spacious.Room lights kinda dim thou.Got the room in front of e pool,amazing view.Clean room too.
Location of villa is far away from the bz stretch of bars n restaurants at Sengigi beach.Most prob ard 30mins walk.Unless u prefer jus chilling at e room n pool,tis will be gd enough.
Breakfast are delicious.Variety of food.Tts the only good part of the resort.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Izzie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    229
    70
    27
    13
See reviews for
91
247
34
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Staff: service was nice, everyone greets you with smile and sincerity. They give a fast n efficient response when we told them about the flies in our room. They even offered to take us to the minimarket when we asked for its directions from the hotel (we found out later that the nearest minimarket only located about 1km from hotel).

Restaurant: delicious! They do have a wonderful chef. Price range is affordable, from 65k for ayam taliwang package to 130k for NZ steak, 15k for juices. Located on the beach area so you can have dinner there while enjoying the sunset.

Breakfast: They serve nasi (rice) + two kinds of vegetable dishes + one meat/fish/chicken dish+ kerupuk + fruits + toast + made to order pancakes/omelette.

Room: we stayed three nights at room no.3-deluxe pool access room (they have 3 pool access rooms, room number 3 to 5). The three rooms shared a small pool, I used the pool privately all the time. Clean room, several selection of tv channels (for me, as long as there's fox crime it's good enough), very comfortable bed, nice AC, mini fridge, sofa, lots of socket to charge everything.

Bathroom: very clean, spacious, nice bathtub n shower with hot water.

Location: I took damri bus from the airport (30K/person), n asked the driver to stop the bus right in front of the hotel on its way to Senggigi bus terminal. It took more or less 80 minutes from the airport. Located about 1.7km from senggigi centre where there's a lot of cafes/minimarket/artmarket, and about 1 hour to Pelabuhan Bangsal (harbor to go to Gili Trawangan), less than 2 hours to Rinjani Mountain/Waterfall.
The hotel has standard rooms in another building across the street. If you want to enjoy the beach all the time, don't stay on the standard room, pay a bit more for their superior or deluxe room. The main part of the hotel is located right next to the beach. The hotel provides a lot of bale for the guests to lay back and enjoying the beach. The beach on this part of Lombok has black sand, white sands are on the south area of lombok or in Gilis, pink sand beach on pantai Tangsi, lombok timur (east).

Surroundings: there's a taxi pool about 100m from the hotel (across alberto b&b), or just wait on the street, you won't have any difficulties finding one. There's a fried chicken fastfood across the street.

Other: I really hate cicak (small lizards on the wall, very common in Indonesia). Although there's many of them outside the room, but fortunately, I didn't found any in my room.

Tips: go to their website, you will find all the useful information there. Check out their hotel map (on their website) to know what to expect. Believe the pictures! It is as beautiful as shown in the pictures.

Room Tip: deluxe pool access rooms are perfect for couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mey_Nugroho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Depok, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I booked via online 2 standard rooms for 1 night (include 1 extra bed on every room)
We think we will get room with pool/sea view but we get wrong because it's for deluxe room. So after checked in, we'd showed a 3 floors building across the main hotel. We had to cross the road to reach there. It's ok for us since it's not too far and the staffs always be there to help us. We almost satisfied with the room. it's quite large after inluding extra bed and really clean. Every room has a balcony with 2 chair and place for drying clothes. But the coridor was so hot because the air conditioner machine put in there. but it's made us hang on our wet clothes on corider and voila tomorrow morning it's became dry.

They had a pool, private beach and bale2. for breakfast, We had pancake, omelet, meat soto with rice, bread, coffee, tea, and fruit on buffet.

Overall sunset house is a good hotel but I recommend you to take a room with sea view so you can sleep with a wave sound which is good for healing :)

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here like a year ago, for one nigh..i like this hotel..The room is big..the pool is small but enough for swimming..The hotel is in front of the beach...A quite beach..although is not a lovely beach, the sand is black..The price is very reasonable..I will be back for sure..If u looking for a honeymoon on a budget,i will recommend you this hotel..
If u stay here, dont forget try the italian restaurant next to this hotel..the food is very delicious..i forgot the name of the restaurant but u must to try it..

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ceri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogor, West Java
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

When we arrived, the receptionist was very informative. We got the room across the road of the main sunset house (with sea view). We were disappointed because we requested 2 rooms with connecting door and confirmed by phone+email but they did not make it when we checked in.Our room even was not side by side.The view was a small garden with a tall wall which we didn't like much but we love the big room and comfortable bed. I love the pool even the sea was not good to swim. The best thing about the hotel was the breakfast.Try to order their pancake!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank syeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

We were hoping for a resort and we were given a backpacker room across the road. It said courtyard view and the only courtyard was the next door neighbours! Be aware the photos are not consistent with real rooms. I guess if you can make sure to book a room in the front part of the hotel it would be better, but there are nicer options around for similar price. Shower was broken, bathroom wall was dirty, towels during 4 days were either stained or had holes! Food was very poor too (breakfast and dinner) and their selection of drinks is scary. After NYE they took 3 days to remove an enormous amount of rubbish from the beach, we didn't feel like walking on the sand or going into the ocean so dirty it was. I would not recommend it to anyone

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Francine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Nice Hotel, with private beach and nice facility. Nice design in every part of the hotel. You can hear the sound of waves clearly especially when the night come. I like the sea view restaurant, I like the pool beside the sea. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlbertaDeliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Layar
2.1 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Holiday Resort Lombok
Holiday Resort Lombok
#6 of 7 in Mangsit
736 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kebun Villas & Resort
Kebun Villas & Resort
#13 of 30 in Senggigi
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
#11 of 30 in Senggigi
800 reviews
2.2 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,470 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Jayakarta Lombok, Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset House Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset House Lombok

Property: Sunset House Lombok
Address: Jl. Raya Senggigi no. 66 | Batu Bolong, Batu Layar, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Batu Layar
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Batu Layar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset House Lombok 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small boutique hotel located by the beach, within 15 minutes walk from Senggigi, the main town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunset House Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset House Lombok Hotel Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing