We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow Response and Poor Customer Service (Restaurant)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset House Lombok
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Batu Layar
Reviewed November 30, 2013

My friend's and my family visited Sunset House Restaurant on the way to Austore Pearl Farm. We were brought there by our taxi guide. Although the hotel is small, I can said that it's cosy and comfortable. It's close to the beach and with a lovely swimming pool and restaurant.

I saw the 4.5 stars rating from trip advsior, which they displayed in the restaurant. But it didn't prove its worth. When we reached there, there's only 3 groups of customers, total of about 12 customers. One of the tables was just being served with food. We sat upstairs as we a group of 8. After giving our orders, more customers walked in.

We waited for about half hour but no food was served. My wife went down to check on the status. The staff simply just said that today was busy so we are to wait for another half an hour. I went down to check after 10 minutes. 2 dishes were left on the serving desk and there's 2 staff standing besides it. But no one seems bother to serve the dishes. After 40mins of wait, we were finally served. The dishes were not served immediately after cook as I could only say the food was barely warm. But the food considered nice and value for money.

We rushed to finish the food as we had wasted our time waiting. We asked for bill but the staff further delayed our time looking for the ordering slip. The staff simply round off the bill amount without asking us.

There's no shelter path between the hotel reception and restaurant. So it will be problematic if it's raining. The toilet besides the reception is clean but there's a see through window. If I was to stand at level 2, I could see clearly what's going on in the toilet.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jackson790908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

270 - 276 of 564 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2013

I have stayed at Sunset House twice this year and loved it. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and spacious. The gardens are beautiful and the sunsets are amazing. I would recommend Sunset House to anyone who wants a great hotel at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep in then choose a room across the road so you wont be woken by guests having an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at Sunset House for 3 days 4 nights. The room we stayed in was called Dayanti (or something like that) It was ground floor with magnificent sea views and very quiet. The bed and pillows were more then comfy. The staff all were very friendly and obliging.
I have just rebooked to return in September 2014.
I think what Loved most was the setting and waking up to the view of the ocean

Room Tip: Ask for Dayanti or the rooms above as the views are fantastic and it is away from the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ozzy_travaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed at Sunset House again in October 2013, and it was as wonderful as we remember our first stay back in April 2010. This time we booked out the front 20 rooms and took 40 or our nearest and dearest for 5 nights. All our guests raved about Sunset House commenting on what a wonderful, friendly resort it is with fantastic staff. The staff are the main reason we chose this resort again. And it was fantastic to see some of the staff from our first visit, Nisa and Ana were still working there, It was like greeting long lost friends. If you are looking for a personal, value for money resort on the beach with a beautiful pool and warm friendly staff, together with large comfortable rooms, then we would highly recommend this resort, We would not usually visit the same place twice as there are so many places to see in the world, but we have fallen in love with Lombok and everyone at Sunset House, and are already planning our next visit, Many thanks to Cece and her wonderful team.

Room Tip: The poolside upstairs rooms are very quiet as are the newer Pool Access rooms with their own private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Having a very short trip at lombok (2 days and 3 nights) we decided to stay at Senggigi. That was my first time went to Lombok. And want to explore many places in 2 days effective. Decided to stay at Sunset House because this hotel provided Bike Rental. Which for me have a reasonable price (USD 50/day). Since we spent all day exploring Lombok (Kuta Beach, Sasak Sade, Mataram and Gili Tour).
The standard room offer cheap price even though we should across the road from the main hotel. But nothing to complain. You can spend the rest of your day near the pool which facing the beach and it was really peaceful. Breakfast is so so but enough. The restaurant also has a reasonable price for food and taste good. Staffs are very helpful and the wifi connection also fast.

Room Tip: If you choose the Standard Room try to have room in the corner (room no. 26). Not near the main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissAnemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

That is if you are practising developing tolerance or overcoming a noise phobia then exposure is the best medicine. For me, a holiday by the sea means you can hear the ocean's waves over the traffic. Not possible here as this hotel is far too close to the main road that has an endless stream of traffic and mufflerless motor bikes 24/7. Breakfast is basic but enough. The pool is small and indeed right on the ocean front but the swimming is better further down the beach closer to Sengiggi Beach Hotel which for a little more, has lots going for it - up market, spacious, a real resort and quiet. I would not hesitate to go there next time but would have to give this hotel a pass. Even for an upgrade from the garden view room I had, to the ocean front, you still hear the traffic and the rooms are smaller. One I was shown had serious mildew due to constant aircon drip outside on the wall causing damp. It amazes me how little maintenance goes on in these places. The garden view room I had was spacious, clean, cool and comfortable - no complaints there and on tap internet was fast. The staff were really accommodating except do not even think of asking for a free upgrade! There are several more interesting properties close by that would be without the road noise if you care to search.

Room Tip: Go for their best room - deluxe ocean view and forget the rest - you deserve it having come all this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NibbanAh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I and my friend stayed here in May 2013. It was a two week holiday and this was the third and best hotel we stayed throughout our holiday. I fell in love with the garden, pool and the beach area. The view during sunset made us feel like we were in heaven.
The staff were lovely and food was so tasty. Our rooms were cleaned/tidied up each day. Amazing value for money. If i had chance to go to Lombok again, this hotel would definitely be where i would stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guzyapragim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Layar
2.1 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
Kila Senggigi Beach Lombok
#10 of 29 in Senggigi
944 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kebun Villas & Resort
Kebun Villas & Resort
#15 of 29 in Senggigi
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#1 of 7 in Mangsit
2,617 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Resort Lombok
Holiday Resort Lombok
#6 of 7 in Mangsit
962 reviews
3.6 mi away
Living Asia Resort and Spa Lombok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset House Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset House Lombok

Address: Jl. Raya Senggigi no. 66 | Batu Bolong, Batu Layar, Senggigi, Lombok 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Senggigi > Batu Layar
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Batu Layar
Price Range: $43 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunset House Lombok 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small boutique hotel located by the beach, within 15 minutes walk from Senggigi, the main town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset House Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset House Lombok Hotel Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing