We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mistake to start with”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Danbury/Bethel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bethel
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A mistake to start with”
Reviewed August 15, 2011

The last time I stayed in a Best Western was almost 20 years ago. I booked it for four days and stay for one.
This time I was taking my kids to NYC from Boston. To give my 13 year old son something to work on, I asked him to pick a place in between to spend a night. Of all places, he picked this Best Western. First I thought "No", but then I thought I needed to respect all the work he put in to come up with it. "Just one night, how bad could it be." Right? Wrong.
We pulled in this place in the evening. We had a long day of activity and a few hours drive, I was tire and hungry. So were the kids. Got my room and checked in, I found a half finished bottle of water by the TV. Called front desk and told them that there seems to be someone still in the room. The lady said not to worry, "just leave the bottle out side the door". I did.
I started unpacking, that is when I discovered the bathroom was filthy with dirty towels and hair in the tub. Talking about Best Worstern.
I called and have my room changed. The lady made the wrong key for me. After all these running around, I was about to blew up. But the front desk was nice and apologetic, so I swallowed my fury and figure I just get on with it.
After some food, I was feeling better. I after taking a shower, I realized there was only one set of towels, for three people?
The next morning, I had a chat with the "manager". They guy was all nice, offered me 250 points. I turned him down. It will take me another 20 year to stay in another Best Worstern and I do not think those points are going to be any good. Be ware.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    100
    49
    22
    10
See reviews for
107
74
23
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Walled Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Breakfast was WONDERFUL! Be careful when ordering food to be delivered, there is another Bestwestern in the same area. The desk staff was "nice" but young. We got in late and exhausted, and after an hour or two realized that the a/c was broke. I was told there were no other rooms available and no maintenance on call and no manager to talk to. I asked the fellow at the front desk to call SOMEONE and do something. After my daughter (who was feeling ill) woke up covered in sweat, we were told that we could change our room. The next morning I asked for a credit for our inconvenience (which meant everyone now had to take showers and they were short on towels etc). The nice young girl told gave me a business card and told me to call the manager Monday morning. I was very unhappy to leave without resolution, and felt anxious angry and cheated. That Monday morning I did get a chance to talk to the very nice manager, who gave us a $30 credit. I appreciated his effort and sincerely hope that they train the staff in better ways to handle these situations. Other than that, the place was OK, served its purpose, we slept well.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerriD9854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

This hotel is overall ok. I have stayed here three times now. The rooms are always clean and that is honestly the most important thing when staying a hotel. You better get up early though if you want to shower. Anytime after 8 am means you're taking a cold shower. The rooms are spacious and well laid out. I have not had any housekeeping issues on any of my stays. The wireless connection in this hotel is just fine in your room. The conference room connection is spotty at best. It keeps going in and out and can't be relied upon to use anything on the web during a presentation. Additionally, the hotel business center computer is horribly slow on the web. For some reason they chose to leave this as wireless instead of a wired connection. It took me 10 minutes to check in for my flight because of the internet connection on that machine. I could have been done in 30 seconds on my phone if I could have printed from the phone.

Overall, if you're looking for a decent place to stay at a very good rate I would recommend this hotel. It's just fine. I have a choice of where I stay and I come back because any other hotel in the area that would be any better is at least $50 more per night.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lalevin1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA, USA
Level Contributor
300 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed here for a night on my way to a professional workshop. The room was clean, the bed was very comfortable. The lady at the front desk recommended a diner up the hill that had decent food for the price. The breakfast was good for a complimentary breakfast and the attendant was helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank By_His_Grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2011

- Very clean
- Staff was very friendly and helpful
- Free Fitness club right next door

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ace12212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Excellent hotel with nice amenities, and a friendly staff. If you are looking for a hotel with a good gym look no more. The hotel is affiliated with a gym literally next door and the gym is second to none in the area. (Sportsplex) Great Hotel, Great Gym, and nice staff

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrueAikido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackstone, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2011

I travel frequently for work, and anybody who does the same can vouch for how difficult it is to stay fit with all the restaurant eating and generic hotel Gyms. I really like staying at this Best Western when in the area because they give you free access to a beautiful 10,000sqft Gym right next door. The Gym is very clean and modern, with many classes to attend. I've lost 10lbs this month staying at the Best Western.

The hotel rates are great. The hotel itself is average, honestly nothing special, but good for a business traveler that just checks in, grabs a local bite to eat, & likes to hit the gym, before crashing & leaving again in the AM. The best parts of the hotel are the price, the Gym access & local food choices.

There is an awesome Brick oven pizza / Italian restaurant across the street, and a great sports bar, w/ 40 flavors of wings about 5min away.

There is free breakfast in the AM too. It's Limited, but free.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chewy212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethel
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Danbury
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Bethel - Danbury
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Bethel/Danbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Ethan Allen Hotel
Ethan Allen Hotel
#3 of 15 in Danbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Danbury
Hampton Inn Danbury
#4 of 15 in Danbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#13 of 15 in Danbury
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Danbury/Bethel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Danbury/Bethel

Property: Best Western Danbury/Bethel
Address: 11 Stony Hill Rd, US Route 6, Bethel, CT 06801-1055 (Formerly Best Western Plus Danbury/Bethel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Bethel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Bethel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Danbury/Bethel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Danbury/Bethel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Danbury/Bethel Hotel Bethel
Best Western Bethel
Bethel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing