We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Practical, not Romantic”
Review of Tonelli's Restaurant - CLOSED

Tonelli's Restaurant
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Bethel, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Practical, not Romantic”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Tonelli's is definitely not a destination location for romantic, gourmet dining. Tonelli's is an excellent, local Italian-American restaurant that serves portions so large you take home at least as much as you ate.

Service and timing can be spotty. Wait staff is always pleasant, however, sometimes appetizers are forgotten, or salads, or it all comes out at once along with your dinner.

Excellent value for the money and the daily specials include soup, salad, coffee, etc and are a real bargain....as is their Early Bird Specials. My son swears by the brownie sundae here :) and my husband highly recommends the seafood fra diavolo! I try to get the daily specials.

Take out is a big business for them. If they screw up your order, when you call them, they write your name in a 'book' to credit you the next time.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaryJo10789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    14
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Very good family run restaurant”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Cannot add much to the other reviews. Very fairly priced, reliable restaurant with above average fare served in rather large portions (you will certainly have enough left over for a meal or two at home). Staff was attentive and friendly. Great place to have a meal with family / friends - not too noisy, plenty of room, unrushed atmosphere.
Tonelli's does not try to be anything other than a very good, unpretentious neighborhood restaurant that is reliable, fairly priced, friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BroadOakPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Inexpensive Italian fare”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Tonelli's offers HUGE portions at very reasonable prices. While not "gourmet" it is good food at a very good price. The wait staff are friendly and efficient. Has a lively bar area that is a great place to grab a quick meal

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frederick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Generous Menu at a Good Price”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Tonelli's is located on Grassy Plain in Bethel. The restaurant has a nice dining area. The dark wood against the Grey of the painted walls give it a rich look and a romantic feel at night.
On this day, my wife, mother-in-law and I stopped in for a late lunch. Parking was easy in this case,.but I could see where it might be difficult on a busy Friday or Saturday night. The menu has plenty of options from pizza and sandwiches to entrees. They also have a daily lunch special menu. On this day they were offering linguini and clam, Steak topped with shrimp, Broccoli Robe with chicken,sausage and pasta. My wife and mother-in-law ordered the class and broccoli Robe special respectfully. I, on the other hand, went with off the regular menu and ordered the spaghetti and meatballs. Everything was great and authentic. My only issue was that I received only 1 meatball, but they were gracious enough to bring out another to fill out the big plate of pasta that was served. Did I tell you the servings were huge? Everyone, including moi, took
something home.
The wine list is several pages and has something from different regions of the world, namely France, Spain, South America,.California and of course Italy. There's range from.$23 to over $100, for "Dom". Reasonably,.the average price was in the $30 range. We ordered the Gnarly Head Old Zin from CALIFORNIA for $25.
The lunch menu items were all $10, including soup and salad. This made for an excellent deal for lunch. The service was excellent, and our server was very sweet. However, I think she was new,.because she tried to serve Peligrino on the rocks,.a real no no when you order sparkling water. Also,.one of the bartenders came over to teach her how to present the wine. Overall, everything was great from the service to the price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mayoplan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herminie
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Never made it to dinner but if lunch was any indication of the food quality then dinner must be fantastic just about 10-15 minutes from the hampton in danbury worth heading too even though there it's a few twists and turns to make your way there.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank londonschic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing