We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More impressed two years later.”
Review of Stony Hill Diner

Stony Hill Diner
Ranked #3 of 72 Restaurants in Bethel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: The diner name has changed from new colony 5 to Stony Hill Diner Please check my website as it is being updated as well. I also have a business name change certificate filed With the town of bethel ct which I can send you My cell is 2033131802 Thanks Chris Lypides
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
318 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“More impressed two years later.”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We choose the coconut shrimp and it was outstanding. My wife raved about the green bean dish that was her side.

The salad was very fresh but the dressing was watered down.

The service was fast and efficent and the waitress was attentive.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hobomonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    42
    20
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
411 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Go Back in Time”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This was a great visit, our first of many. We were pleasantly surprised. Visiting this diner takes you back in time where all businesses were not run by the corporate giants.

I had a cheeseburger deluxe that came with cole slaw and a ton of fresh fries. My wife had a chicken wrap, and as picky as she is, she loved it. Other meals and dishes being served around us looked just as good. The booth to our right had a onion ring tree, that's right. Large fried onion rings hanging from a coat hanger type of devise.

Service was very good and the bathrooms were very clean. Nostalgic music was piped in. It was a nice evening all in all. We WILL be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdrake3460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodruff, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“I love their Breakfasts!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I get excited everytime I visit the Danbury/Bethel area. The staff treats you like a family member and the food is truly very good. I mainly go for the breakfast, but the lunch choices and food are good too. I would definitely recommend!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rburke5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
83 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always Great!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

My wife have visited on two occasions (I, on another), and have enjoyed a great breakfast and lunch. The food has been fresh, tasteful, and plentiful on these occasions.
The bathroom has been clean on my visits.
The staff has always been friendly and courteous...a reflection of the owners who are "the salt of the earth'!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jdlajara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, NB
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lots of comfort food!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Old style diner with home-style cooking and very large portions. We ate late after a long day of driving and only ordered soup but it was very good. All the meals being delivered to the tables around us looked delicious. Reasonable prices and a huge menu.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank GailG124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stony Hill Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing