We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but Not Entertaining” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
New York, United States
1 review
“Clean but Not Entertaining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Our stay at the Best Western in Berlin, CT was overall smooth and good. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. However, the TV did not work properly. The remote was inadequate and we were able to get sound only by disconnecting the cable and reconnecting it. The choice of cable stations was inferior to what we get at home. Breakfast was good. The coffee tastes good but is a bit mild (Doue Egbert).

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your review! We are glad you found our hotel clean and comfortable, and breakfast enjoyable. I apologize about the experience you had with the television and we are looking to rectify the situation immediately. We do offer a full cable suite, including HBO and hope our guests are able to find something enjoyable to watch in the many channels our cable system offers! Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    67
    26
    14
    14
See reviews for
107
46
14
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

The people at the front desk were extremely helpful. The amenities were fine. The location and ease of entering driveway are excellent. Very clean hotel. Breakfast bland but ok .I didn't use them, but gym and pool looked nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Henry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Henry S.,

Thanks for staying with us and thank you for review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our staff service, ammenities and location! We are regularly reviewing our breakfast menu items and will take your feedback regarding breakfast into consideration. We look forward to seeing your again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

I've drove 5 hours away for my daughters Drill competition even called to make sure my room was still available because of the group confusion that was going on. I spoke with a women who sounds nice on the phone but once I got there she was just as rude as she wanted to be. So I ask her where else can me and my family sleep???she told me well there are other hotels up and down the road....there was a nice guy that was trying to help but she was just rude and careless..... But every thing worked out I found a nice motel down the road 60 a night and it work for us...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank LaBouki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hilliard, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Last summer 2013 family members stayed her for a family reunion and they raved about the service and friendliness of the staff. I stayed elsewhere NOT good; so this trip in I tried out this BW May 2014 It was awesome most def will be there again. Just wishing for a hot tub/spa in the pool area!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again on your next family reunion or sooner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had a very nice stay. Our room was big and clean, breakfast was good. The staff was Very Good. Sarah checked us in and even volunteered to call another Best Western and untangle some confusion over Best Western Rewards Program. Sarah could do what the folks at the 800 number could not.

We were visiting Middletown CT where there seems to be a shortage of Hotels. This hotel was an excellent choice - 15 min drive - easy as pie!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MassMac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our spacious guest rooms and our friendly and helpful service. We hope to see you again when you are in the Hartford area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
108 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

This Best Western was pleasant for a one-night stay. Staff was courteous and helpful. Room was large and clean. The only drawback was its location. Restaurants not nearby or those that were closed as early as 8pm. Since we arrived late we were unable to get dinner.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 205r0bertp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our roooms to be spacious and clean. I apologize that staff did not inform you of additonal dining options in our area, including plenty just a short drive away and open for a late dinner. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is the nicest and most reasonable place to stay if you're traveling to Hartford. Staff is extremely courteous and helpful. A 25-30 minute drive to downtown Hartford if you want to stay off the Interstate, however it is worth the savings you get by staying out of the city itself.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank singlow5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our stay and find us to be an exceptional value. We hope to see you again when you are in Connecticut!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berlin
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden
3.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
#2 of 4 in Cromwell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Cromwell
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford
4.6 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites
Address: 2253 Berlin Tpke, Berlin, CT 06037-4036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus New England Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus New England Hotel Berlin
Best Western Berlin
Berlin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing