We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than downtown!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus New England Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than downtown!”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

This is the nicest and most reasonable place to stay if you're traveling to Hartford. Staff is extremely courteous and helpful. A 25-30 minute drive to downtown Hartford if you want to stay off the Interstate, however it is worth the savings you get by staying out of the city itself.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank singlow5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary D, General Manager at Best Western Plus New England Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our stay and find us to be an exceptional value. We hope to see you again when you are in Connecticut!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    81
    32
    15
    15
See reviews for
124
52
15
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
norwich, United States
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The staff make this hotel! They accommodated our hockey team, making cookies on our arrival and making breakfast early so the kids could eat before their BIG game. The appearance of the hotel is clean inside and out. We truly appreciate the service staff and everything they did for us!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Timothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary D, General Manager at Best Western Plus New England Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Thanks for your review! We are happy to have had your team stay with us and glad to have provided you with exceptional service! We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We did a family night get away. The snow was taking a toll on all of us. So rather than sitting at home again with the kids we an over night. it had a great indoor pool which was nice and warm on a cold winter night. the place was clean the staff was nice and the food was included was good. we had a great family night get away.

Room Tip: all of the rooms were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary D, General Manager at Best Western Plus New England Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thanks for your review! We are very happy to hear that you family enjoyed their winter getaway at our hotel. We're glad that your children were able to enjoy our heated indoor pool and breakfast, and also that you found our hotel to be clean and comfortable! We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The hotel was clean and my children loved playing in the pool. However, the beds and pillows were very uncomfortable. The pillows were over stuffed, and the mattress was very very hard! The breakfast met our expectations, including what you would expect for a free meal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Meghan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary D, General Manager at Best Western Plus New England Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and review! We are glad that your family enjoyed our breakfast and heated indoor pool! We're sorry to hear that you didn't find our beds to be as comfortable as you may have liked but hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bear Lake, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I had appointments in that area, and, given the wintry weather, I wanted to be reasonably close to those appointments. I was very pleased with this hotel-- from the courteous clerk in the lobby, to the nice person overseeing the breakfast buffet. I ended up having to arrive a day early (and stay 2 nights instead of one) at the last minute, and they were very accommodating. The room was clean and very comfortable, and we had an excellent night's sleep. I used the fitness center first thing in the morning, allowing me to enjoy the all-you-can-eat breakfast! There was plenty of food and wide variety for all kinds of tastes. The check out was very smooth and easy. I'll be doing more business in that area and will definitely come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrmyr971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary D, General Manager at Best Western Plus New England Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Myrmyr971,

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and all of the amenities we offer. We're happy to hear that we met your expectations by providing a clean comfortable guest room and a plentiful breakfast buffet. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

A really lovely lobby but the desk attendant's attention never left her cell phone. We had a late Valentine's family overnighter to enjoy a cold night in the jacuzzi and fireplace and pool for the tots. The pool was great! Very warm, not a towel in sight. When asked for one, the front desk just said "a lot of people have been asking for them. There aren't any more." There weren't any the next morning either, for that matter the dirty sheets stayed in the elevator the entire time we were there. One of the room heaters didn't work thankfully in the sitting area so I had to move my daughter to sleep with us to keep warm. A little tlc and attention to detail would do great things for this hotel but the overall atmosphere there is that no one really cares enough to put any effort into it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary D, General Manager at Best Western Plus New England Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your review! Surely we care about our hotel but we understand we did not meet all of your expectations on your recent stay. We take all feedback importantly and will address the concerrns you had with your stay. We thank you for staying with us an hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

stayed here one night on a long car ride, it was fine. clean enough. you know, it is a cheap BW, so what do you expect? Breakfast was terrible. All prepossessed junk. but what ever, it was a clean dry bed to sleep on.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank promo_jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary D, General Manager at Best Western Plus New England Inn & Suites, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you considered us to be a "cheap" Best Western. Our goal is to provide clean, comfortable accomodations at an exceptional value. Thanks for you staying with us and we are glad that you did find value in your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berlin
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Berlin Meriden
3.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
#2 of 4 in Cromwell
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Meriden
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus New England Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus New England Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus New England Inn & Suites
Address: 2253 Berlin Turnpike, Berlin, CT 06037-4036 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus New England Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus New England Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus New England Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus New England Hotel Berlin
Best Western Berlin
Berlin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing