We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Lobby but Other Areas Don't Shine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
781 reviews
556 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lobby but Other Areas Don't Shine”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Remodeled and beautiful hallway and lobby, particularly the split-face stone strategically placed on the lower half of some of the walls. The rooms were fine but nothing special. There was no lobby coffee. Cookies were available on Monday night but not Tuesday - I was just told “I’m sorry” when I asked the front desk clerk about them. The TV schedule in the room was from 2006 and needs updated. I poured a bath and the water slowly leaked out of the drain. The room was clean and the AC worked well.
Breakfast: the eggs were crumbs on first day but better the second. Juice very watered down both days - I tossed mine out and the coffee was weak so I had to add the instant I carry. There were no flavored coffee creamers available. Breakfast was simply average all around.
This hotel bills itself as a Best Western Plus but I was wondering where the Plus was. With the exception of the beautiful common areas everything else was comparable to what I find in standard Best Westerns and I have stayed in over 60 different Best Western and Best Western Plus hotels the past two years.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AGoingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian G, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at Best Western PLUS New England Inn & Suites recently! We appreciate you taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, and we value your loyalty to our brand and our hotels. I am disappointed that you did not find our hotel more satisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations.

As each Best Western is independently owned and operated, I cannot speak to others that you have stayed at, but I can confirm that we do provide value to guests and adhere to PLUS standards by including premium quality guest room furnishings and amenities such as mini-fridge, microwave, and flat-screen LCD television in all guest rooms.

We would like to thank you for choosing Best Western during your travels. We appreciate your review and will use your feedback to make future improvements!

Sincerely,
Ian Gordon
Sales Manger
Best Western PLUS New England Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    72
    27
    14
    15
See reviews for
112
48
15
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

My family stays here when visiting our son at Wesleyan, which is only a 10 minute drive away. Friendly staff and comfortable rooms with breakfast included have always made this a good value for us. Was a little disppointed I was never notified that the pool was closed for service after I made my reservation last month, but I was still satisfied with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Shaver43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us while visiting your son at Wesleyan! Our pool was closed temporarily for repairs and has reopened. We're glad to hear that hear that you enjoyed your stay overall and look forward to you staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
281 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

We had an unplanned stay here. The staff really did help us unload, store our luggage, and get checked in quickly very late in the evening.

Rooms have been renovated and are very nice. Location is good for travelers but there are very few amenities nearby.

Breakfast was just ok. Bacon and sausage were undercooked, but there was plenty of hot coffee!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us recently. We are glad to hear that you found service and guest rooms to be exceptiona! We will certainly address your concerns with some of our breakfast items and thank you for the feedback. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Augustine FL, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had stayed at four other hotels prior to Best Western on our vacation and this hotel was absolutely wonderful. I am handicapped and every employee went out of their way to accommodate my special needs. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary D, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear that you enjoyed our friendly and attentive customer service and all that our hotel as to offer. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again when you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while visiting Middletown. The hotel was only 15 minutes away from Wesleyan University and is central to many restaurants. Hotel was modern and provided free WIFI. The downside was the breakfast, specifically the hot items, which tended to be soggy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Harinder G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian G, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Middletown and Wesleyan University. We are delighted to hear that you found the newly-renovated Best Western PLUS to be a good value and that you were able to enjoy our proximity to some great restaurants!

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with others on TripAdvisor. Please keep us in mind the next time your travels bring you to the area!

Sincerely,
Ian Gordon
Sales Manager
Best Western PLUS New England Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel staff is extremely friendly. Sarah checked us in and went above and beyond to make our entire stay comfortable. For the price of the room, you should be completely satisfied. The room is comfortable for an entire family.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Fmvila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian G, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor! We are glad that you found our hotel to be an excellent value, and that your stay was completely satisfactory. I will be sure to share your feedback with our staff--they work hard to ensure that every guest has a great stay.

Thank you so much for choosing Best Western PLUS, and please come see us again the next time you are in the area!

All the best,
Ian Gordon
Sales Manager
Best Western PLUS
Berlin, CT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

hotel room was recently refurbished and staff were very helpful. It is conveniently located in the tech center to visit clients in the area and has easy access to the airport road. Well priced with no issues logging onto the internet (which has been a problem at some of the more expensive chains in the area).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian G, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hi Steve,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Best Western PLUS New England Inn & Suites, and that you found our hotel to be a great value and in a convenient location. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to central Connecticut!

Thank you,
Ian Gordon
Sales Manager
Best Western PLUS
Berlin, CT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berlin
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Meriden
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Cromwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford
3.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
#2 of 4 in Cromwell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites
Address: 2253 Berlin Tpke, Berlin, CT 06037-4036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Best Western, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS New England Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus New England Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus New England Hotel Berlin
Best Western Berlin
Berlin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing