We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday”
other travelers have booked this property
Helford river across the fields
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Helford river across the fields
south facing terrace and garden the entrance drive
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Helford river across the fields
south facing terrace and garden
the entrance drive
scotts quay at the bottom of the farm
plan of the house
enjoy a meal round the table and the lovely view across the orchard.
large and modern fully equiped fitted kitchen.
bunk beds in children's bedroom.
master bedroom with wash-basin
playing the piano in the drawing-room
drawing-room with straight access to the sunny terrace
dear ensuite fitted shower-room in the studio.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Constantine, Falmouth, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pierrem0r...
Darnetal, France
1 review
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed February 25, 2017 for a stay in February 2016

A nice house in a wonderful place. There are so much activities to discover and beautiful surroundings. Landscape was amazing with a lot of colours.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 25, 2017
We are glad to hear you had a nice time at goongillings and made the best of your stay. We were happy to give you advice on lovely places to explore. We hope to hear from you again. C.R
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisa b
1 review
“fatastic base camp for family adventures”
Reviewed February 12, 2017 for a stay in July 2016

Great base camp for an adventurous family . Finding it late at night was our first adventure ! Bungalow was very well equipped and had a great combination of bedrooms suitable for a bunch of kids for whom half the adventure is who is going to sleep where tonight ! 5 minute hike across the fields to well stocked village store. 15 minute hike in the opposite direction and you are on your own private quay by the river . Explore a bit further and you will find a super spot for a camp fire in the woods. Good pub 5 minutes walk away. We brought a canoe with us and found a good access point to explore Helford river just down the hill from Goongillings. All in all it was everything we hoped for plus some !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 13, 2017
Goongillings has been a base for all sorts of adventures. Art trail, ramblers, nautical and surf , golf, riding and just relaxing in stunnings surroundings or on the beach. Thank you for sharing your experience. We love the idea we share our enthousiasm with our visitors . Will be glad te welcome you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndI W
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Oh Dear !”
Reviewed November 24, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We booked this cottage for its parking, wifi and ease of access due to mobility issues.
Finding the cottage was a bit challenging and a serious introduction to the narrow roads with high banking that are the trademark of Cornwall.
We arrived on the Saturday and found the cottage had a musty smell but we assumed that was due to not having been used for a while. It only became clear later in the week why this was the case.
We immediately realised that the internet was not working, as the connections were held together with sellotape this was not a surprise. We contacted the manager on the mobile number the owner provided and left a message (the owner lives in France). We heard nothing and with no internet were unable to contact the owner via email. On the next day we tried to find a replacement part but it was a Sunday with few shops open in the areas we visited. Whilst we were looking through the guest book we found a different number for the manager. It turned out that the owner had provided a incorrect number. The manager was brilliant, he visited the next day and we agreed that we would all look for replacement parts – in the end he found the parts first so we were able to get on with the rest of our day. Whilst the replacement parts were left for us, once connected the wifi still failed, the manager attended again and provided a handset to test the line. In the end there was a fault on the line which was finally fixed on the Wednesday.
On the first night hubby and I did not sleep; we were far too hot and it transpired this was due to the beds having plastic undersheets similar to hospitals – Who does this ? Do they have a lot of guests who wet the bed ? Hubby and I slept in separate beds for the rest of the holiday, fortunately we found bedding in a cupboard so could make up a bed in the ‘room’ in the hallway which is separated from the hall by a curtain. In order to have a bedside lamp in here and access to powerpoints we moved the bed slightly – the floor under here was disgustingly dirty. The owners are paying cleaners who are clearly not being very thorough!
On the Tuesday night we went out for tea in the hope of using the local pubs wifi – no such luck! A lovely pub but absolutely no phone signal or wifi. We had a really nice meal and returned to the cottage to find the rain pouring in through the roof of the studio and the drain near the door overflowing across the threshold. Once again we had to phone the manager but all he could suggest was that we take some bedding to mop the floors. We did all we could for a short term fix but at 3am the rain came again and we were all out of bed searching for buckets/pans etc. Not really what you expect on your holiday. The manager came round in the morning and witnessed the damage and provided his own towels to help clean up. This was clearly the reason for the musty smell, the cottage had a dehumidifier which suggests they knew there was an issue, unfortunately this did not work so we purchased a tub of dehumifiying beads which we left in the cottage.
For the next few days we settled in but had difficulty in the kitchen – the oven/grill is non-standard with no instructions on how to use it. We eventually got this working but a few days later (just as we put the pizzas in to cook !) the oven failed. After the holiday the owner advised that the oven was new. Maybe it was not faulty and it just needed some instructions on how to operate it (as a party of 4 intelligent adults aged 21 to 63 I don’t believe it was our incompetence). The microwave is a combined grill/microwave, however, once again there were no instructions so we were unsure how the grill would work. There were some instruction booklets in the guest book but these were for appliance no longer in the cottage – really useful!
There were several other areas of the cottage that were a disappointment:
• The sofas were ‘saggy’ and uncomfortable to sit in
• The shower head in the studio was too heavy for the bracket, as a result we had to tape it in place
• The shower in the main bathroom did not maintain a constant temperature – much shrieking as suddenly doused in either freezing cold or very hot water.
• There was an overall grubby feel to the place
• There are cracks in the wall above the kitchen door
• The bunk bed room is effectively in the corridor and not suitable for adults
• The room separated by a curtain is only suitable for use by families or very close friends as there is no privacy

On the plus side, the kitchen was extremely well stocked with equipment, crockery etc, far better than anywhere else we have stayed, although there was very little cupboard space for food and all the shelves were labelled – Seemed a bit OCD and made me want to shuffle everything!
The garden and seating area are a joy on a fine day – nowhere better to enjoy a cup of tea and a crossword.
The parking was fine with limited steps to negotiate which is important to us.
After our holiday we advised the owner of the issues we had encountered and they were to arrange a survey and visit in October so maybe some of the issues are now resolved. The roof is a very significant issue and must be fixed before it is rented out again.
We did request some compensation for the issues we encountered which tarnished our holiday a little but at this point the owner stopped responding to our emails.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Liked least: Leaking Roof
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location and property for a relaxing holiday.”
Reviewed July 10, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a relaxing week at Goongillings Orchard. Beutiful location and the large gardens ideal for a lazy day in the sun. Lovely walk down to the estuary along the lane next to the entrance. Black Swan in Gweek offers a great meal at reasonable prices along with a very warm welcome. Local shop in Constantine has everything you need and the owner is very helpful with information about the area, Asda just down the road in Falmouth if needed. Wifi for the kids was much appreciated and house and garden are dog friendly if you take them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, peaceful location.
Liked least: Wife didn't like the small lanes in the area.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranastdon
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Bungalow.”
Reviewed May 31, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This property is the ideal get away from it all. In a beautiful peaceful location surrounded by woods and fields.The drive down to the cottage along a very narrow twisting country lane can be quite hair raising at times, but we'll worth the effort. Very dog friendly with a large secure garden. The inside of the cottage has tiled floors from the entrance through to the kitchen and along the corridor to the bedrooms, these were much appreciated by our large dog for keeping cool. Overall the cottage has most things guests will need for a pleasent holiday.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jayne W
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A character property in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed April 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a relaxing, chilled out week at Goongillings Orchard. What a lovely place! We found the house no problem, in the dark and fog, using the sat nav. On arrival the house house was warm and welcoming. We have two teenage children, a nine year old and a labrador so we need a spacious place to stay. The house had plenty of space inside and out. Inside the layout was quite unique in that there is a separate annexe leading off from one of the bedrooms, it had a double bed and en-suite shower room, this was great for the eldest who likes his own space! The house is excellently equipped with everything you need, from the well equipped kitchen to fire-lighting supplies. We were there end of March/beginning of April so the open fire was lovely to have. The grand piano in the sitting room kept my daughter entertained, the supply of books and games was great for wet evenings and of course the wifi kept everyone happy! Outside there is a large garden and orchard, from the garden gate there is a lovely walk to the river and across the road, a footpath into the village and shops. The pub down the road is a 5 minute walk away and serves lovely food and cornish beer. There are so many places to visit in this area but due to the weather when we were there we couldn't take full advantage of the beautiful beaches, so I think a return visit in the summer in something we will certainly have to do. I can wholeheartedly recommend Goongillings Orchard as a lovely place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and open fire
Liked least: cold tiled floors
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing