We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“George & Tony Strike Again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arethusa al tavolo

Arethusa al tavolo
Reserve with OpenTable
Arethusa al tavolo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Bantam
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Morris, Connecticut
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“George & Tony Strike Again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Mr. Malkemus & Mr. Yurgaitis - I'd like to thank you personally for turning this little section of Bantam Road into a beautiful, welcoming location and for maintaining the historic charm of these special buildings.

I love al tavolo. This is the perfect place to enjoy fine dining in comfort. You are guaranteed a delicious meal, served by perfectly attentive and knowledgeable staff – all in a gorgeous setting. They have paid attention to every detail from the hand-blown light fixtures, to the beautiful place settings and luxurious furnishings. My favorite parts of this dining experience are the meal’s bookends - the consistently outstanding amuse-bouche and then finishing with a shot of farm-fresh whole milk with warm bite-sized cookies. I’ve been to al tavolo a handful of times and I’ll go back as often as I can. The cost is a fair and worth every penny.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    27
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
382 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, overly friendly and attentive staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Went here for a special dinner on a Saturday evening. We had a reservation but planned to go a bit early to sit outside on their patio. As we were about to walk out the door to the patio, the manager stopped is to warn about the mosquitoes lurking outside and to say other people who ventured out had come back in within minutes. We took his warning and instead went to the packed bar. We ordered a bottle of wine and waited for our table, which was ready just a few minutes later.

The service was impeccable and friendly. Whoever trained the staff did a wonderful job.

We ordered a seasonal appetizer to split and the duck and steak for dinner. All the food was very good and cooked as ordered. The appetizer was a bit small but very tasty. The house bread is really good and they service each table with bottled still water.

The atmosphere is very inviting and has a modern country feel. They don't rush you through your meal and are always coming back to make sure things are okay and to replenish your wine/water.

The pastry chef sent over complimentary milk shots and cookies for dessert.

Will definitely go back.

Helpful?
1 Thank beachtravelerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in the middle of Bantam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

From start to finish the service was and always has been top notch. Food is consistent as well, have tried multiple items of menu, but love the artichoke as it was one of the best vegetable based dishes I have ever had. My Husband loves their take on duck raviolis as it is always delicious! The staff is always consistent with making us feel at home and explains the menu items & specials wonderfully! Love this hidden gem & the great ice cream next door, make it a priority to visit soon!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Friends bought R and I a voucher for our wedding anniversary, so we tried it for lunch last Saturday.

Neither of us was hugely hungry, so we ordered steamed mussels and a shrimp salad, followed by buttermilk pudding and an ice cream. Wow! Such flavors.

Two glasses of Madeira rounded things off nicely and the $100 voucher covered everything and the tip, too.

Not inexpensive but worth every penny, and the courtyard setting and attentive staff made it the perfect lunch. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CliveAntler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is an extraordinary dining experience. The food could not be better prepared and the service could not be better. Bring your appetite and a fat wallet because this will really cost you. The noise level is high and friends have called it intolerable and have refused to return because of it. We did not find it that bad and thought the excellent dishes and superior service, coupled with a really good selection of wines, make this place worth the occasional visit when you are feeling flush. You need reservations well in advance so do not plan a last minute walk in (except maybe during the week in off-season).

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Malpractice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arethusa al tavolo also viewed

 

Been to Arethusa al tavolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing