We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome local eating hole!”
Review of Donut Mill

Donut Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Woodland Park
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Awesome local eating hole!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for dessert after hearing about it from friends stationed in CS. Worth the drive. Huge donuts and friendly girl behind the counter.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcds96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    38
    22
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“People travel for miles to eat here.”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

The word has been out for some time does this place is a good place for donuts and pastries. Many times there is a line out the door. There be donuts and pastries are very large in are very good. They also make a very good biscuits n gravy. I will agree that when it changed owners it was a little better than now but it is still good. I would recommend it for any hungry traveler passing through who wants to sample some good pastries

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Connoisseur1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Been awhile...”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

but the this place was great till the owners changed and now its not as good anymore. Its been a very long time since I have been here so I can't say from a recent experience.

Helpful?
Thank Caitlynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great donuts!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you want a great donut or more than one, this is the place! Get there early 'cause there is usually a line. My favorite is the maple frosted. Eyes always get big when somebody brings donuts to the office from this place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sammy1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great place!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Ever since moving to Colorado Springs from So Cal 6 months ago, I have been looking for a great donut place. The Springs is void of really great "mom and pop" donut shops (and donut shops in general) where quality donuts are served.

Going through Woodland Park on many occasions, I spotted The Donut Mill. I have now been to the Donut Mill now 3 times.

I wanted to post my thoughts on some of their items:

Biscuits and Gravy - Excellent and very filling. Large portion and the sausage gravy is very good. If you do not like black pepper you will probably not like the gravy too much as there is a good amount of pepper in it.

Maple Bar/Chocolate Bar - Big and filled with Bavarian cream (my favorite). Very good and filling due to its size and the cream. The maple filled bar is my favorite of the two.

Apple Fritter - Big and filled with apple cinnamon filling. However this is not like the normal fritters seen in CA and it is more like an apple filled Bismark type donut. Still a good donut though.

Donut Holes - Normal glazed donut holes, good.

Cake donuts with chocolate frosting - Very good and my wife loves them.

Chocolate iced yeast/raised donut with sprinkles - Big and the kids love them.

Blue Bell Ice Cream - Excellent as always

Cranberry Scone - Big, soft and very good

Bear claws - Huge, dipped in chocolate on one side and very good. Soft and chewy.

Cinnamon Rolls- Huge. Haven't had a chance to try them yet but they look good.
There are many other types of donuts there too including a maple bacon fritter which sounds interesting .All the donuts there look great and the breakfast burritos look really good too.

I definitely recommend this place. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donut Mill also viewed

 
Woodland Park, CO
 

Been to Donut Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing