We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great donuts!”
Review of Donut Mill

Donut Mill
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Woodland Park
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great donuts!”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you want a great donut or more than one, this is the place! Get there early 'cause there is usually a line. My favorite is the maple frosted. Eyes always get big when somebody brings donuts to the office from this place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sammy1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    39
    23
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great place!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Ever since moving to Colorado Springs from So Cal 6 months ago, I have been looking for a great donut place. The Springs is void of really great "mom and pop" donut shops (and donut shops in general) where quality donuts are served.

Going through Woodland Park on many occasions, I spotted The Donut Mill. I have now been to the Donut Mill now 3 times.

I wanted to post my thoughts on some of their items:

Biscuits and Gravy - Excellent and very filling. Large portion and the sausage gravy is very good. If you do not like black pepper you will probably not like the gravy too much as there is a good amount of pepper in it.

Maple Bar/Chocolate Bar - Big and filled with Bavarian cream (my favorite). Very good and filling due to its size and the cream. The maple filled bar is my favorite of the two.

Apple Fritter - Big and filled with apple cinnamon filling. However this is not like the normal fritters seen in CA and it is more like an apple filled Bismark type donut. Still a good donut though.

Donut Holes - Normal glazed donut holes, good.

Cake donuts with chocolate frosting - Very good and my wife loves them.

Chocolate iced yeast/raised donut with sprinkles - Big and the kids love them.

Blue Bell Ice Cream - Excellent as always

Cranberry Scone - Big, soft and very good

Bear claws - Huge, dipped in chocolate on one side and very good. Soft and chewy.

Cinnamon Rolls- Huge. Haven't had a chance to try them yet but they look good.
There are many other types of donuts there too including a maple bacon fritter which sounds interesting .All the donuts there look great and the breakfast burritos look really good too.

I definitely recommend this place. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Its been a long time, but yum!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

This is an awesome little place. They make everything from scratch. Their donuts are heavenly, but try their biscuits and gravy sometime - really good! Just be careful about going at peak times like weekend mornings - it can really be packed! Its the best place in the world on a cold, really snowy and brutal Pikes Peak area winter day, to sit and have coffee and/or breakfast. Wrap up well though - it can be nippy inside, but that just adds to the ambiance.

Helpful?
Thank subteah58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent donuts :-)”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great homemade donuts. Some as big a plate! Rustic atmosphere and really good biscuits and gravy. Worth a stop on the way to the mountains.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melody S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
1 review
“great stop in woodland park”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

monster sized great donuts and biscuts and gravy makes even a good stop in wooland even if you are just passing through

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank brian t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donut Mill also viewed

 

Been to Donut Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing