We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected find in Winter Park”
Review of Trailhead Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trailhead Inn
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Certificate of Excellence
The Woodlands, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“An unexpected find in Winter Park”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I normally avoid independents, but I needed a room for a ski weekend. Albert, the innkeeper, was a trove of ski information. He built the hotel and he and his family care about each guest. The rooms are simple, but very clean. I had my laptop, iPad, and host of other electronics and they were safe in the room.

The heated indoor pool and spa was a welcome sight after all day on the slopes.

Breakfast is continental and the hotel is conveniently located in the hub of downtown,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveberry2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    46
    19
    4
    7
See reviews for
66
45
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stephenville, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is an older motel but well kept. Staff was friendly and helpful. The place was very clean and safe. Got a quiet, good night's sleep on comfortable bedding. Great for families or couples. Breakfast was muffins, bagels, coffee and juice, it was fresh and good.

Room Tip: This place is 2 buildings, half "hotel" and half "motel" so you can choose if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co springs, co
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

94 for small, plain room was too much
in summer, snow season, $170 rate is very good.
tiny bathrooms, but clean. C breakfast very limited.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nlcatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This "Lodge" hotel on the main drag of Winter Park, CO (U.S. 40) provides a very hard mattress and a fairly clean room. The train passes right behind the hotel and unless you like hearing trains a lot in the night, you probably want to avoid this hotel and look for lodging on the east side of the road (this is on the west side). The breakfast is definitely not something to brag about (nothing hot unless you call making instant oatmeal with hot water "hot"). For the price, it was not a real bargain but O.K. for the budget.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Great hosts. Very welcoming. Fantastic downtown location for food and drink and transport to the mountain. Cannot thank Albert and Carol enough for their advice and kindness. Cannot fault cleanliness of motel. All areas, reception, rooms and pool maintained to a high standard. We have been to Winter Park four times now and stayed somewhere different each time. Will definitely be staying at Olympia Lodge on our next visit!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joit7800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The sign in front says Olympia Motel, not lodge. The sign is accurate. The rooms are poor like you'd expect from a motel. About the same quality as Super8.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, CO
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2012

Very basic room, found trash/hair ties underneath one of the beds, which means cleaning might not have been done all that well. But overall, it was a great room. Like I said, very basic, not fancy but quiet and got a good nights rest. We had a large suite with 3 beds, 2 tv's and a mini fridge. Beds were comfortable! Cost was low at $104 per night. Front desk was nice, pool was small but my kids enjoyed it and breakfast in the main lodge was good, typical continental with bagels, yogurt, cereal, good to grab quickly before you head up to the slopes. Also they have a ski shuttle that picks you up about 50 feet from the front of the lodge!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COchicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Park
2.9 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 15 in Winter Park
504 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Winter Park
531 reviews
2.9 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#3 of 25 in Winter Park
323 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valley Hi Motel
Valley Hi Motel
#4 of 15 in Winter Park
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailhead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailhead Inn

Property: Trailhead Inn
Address: 78572 US Highway 40, PO Box 204, Winter Park, CO 80482 (Formerly Olympia Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Trailhead Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trailhead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Winter Park
Olympia Motel Winter Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing