We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“An unexpected find in Winter Park” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trailhead Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trailhead Inn
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
187 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“An unexpected find in Winter Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I normally avoid independents, but I needed a room for a ski weekend. Albert, the innkeeper, was a trove of ski information. He built the hotel and he and his family care about each guest. The rooms are simple, but very clean. I had my laptop, iPad, and host of other electronics and they were safe in the room.

The heated indoor pool and spa was a welcome sight after all day on the slopes.

Breakfast is continental and the hotel is conveniently located in the hub of downtown,

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveberry2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    35
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
43
28
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stephenville, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is an older motel but well kept. Staff was friendly and helpful. The place was very clean and safe. Got a quiet, good night's sleep on comfortable bedding. Great for families or couples. Breakfast was muffins, bagels, coffee and juice, it was fresh and good.

Room Tip: This place is 2 buildings, half "hotel" and half "motel" so you can choose if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co springs, co
Level Contributor
144 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

94 for small, plain room was too much
in summer, snow season, $170 rate is very good.
tiny bathrooms, but clean. C breakfast very limited.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nlcatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

This "Lodge" hotel on the main drag of Winter Park, CO (U.S. 40) provides a very hard mattress and a fairly clean room. The train passes right behind the hotel and unless you like hearing trains a lot in the night, you probably want to avoid this hotel and look for lodging on the east side of the road (this is on the west side). The breakfast is definitely not something to brag about (nothing hot unless you call making instant oatmeal with hot water "hot"). For the price, it was not a real bargain but O.K. for the budget.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Great hosts. Very welcoming. Fantastic downtown location for food and drink and transport to the mountain. Cannot thank Albert and Carol enough for their advice and kindness. Cannot fault cleanliness of motel. All areas, reception, rooms and pool maintained to a high standard. We have been to Winter Park four times now and stayed somewhere different each time. Will definitely be staying at Olympia Lodge on our next visit!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joit7800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

The sign in front says Olympia Motel, not lodge. The sign is accurate. The rooms are poor like you'd expect from a motel. About the same quality as Super8.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Nathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, CO
Level Contributor
121 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

Very basic room, found trash/hair ties underneath one of the beds, which means cleaning might not have been done all that well. But overall, it was a great room. Like I said, very basic, not fancy but quiet and got a good nights rest. We had a large suite with 3 beds, 2 tv's and a mini fridge. Beds were comfortable! Cost was low at $104 per night. Front desk was nice, pool was small but my kids enjoyed it and breakfast in the main lodge was good, typical continental with bagels, yogurt, cereal, good to grab quickly before you head up to the slopes. Also they have a ski shuttle that picks you up about 50 feet from the front of the lodge!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank COchicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
3.2 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#5 of 15 in Winter Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
#7 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crestview Place
Crestview Place
#11 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge
BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Winter Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trailhead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trailhead Inn

Property: Trailhead Inn
Address: 78572 US Highway 40, PO Box 204, Winter Park, CO 80482 (Formerly Olympia Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Trailhead Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Trailhead Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel Winter Park
Olympia Motel Winter Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing