We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Awesome location, nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hi Country Haus Condominiums

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome location, nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

We just spent a couple of nights in Winter Park and had a great time. The condo (building 14, unit 14) was clean and had everything we needed. Technology could use a bit of an upgrade (Nintendo 64 and Batman on VHS? haha), but the bathroom and shower looked like they had been redone recently and were very nice. The bed was comfy, the couch is a tad outdated and so not the best support for a pregnant gal like myself. But we didn't spend a lot of time on the couch as there was a ton to do in town. We also used the pool at the rec center. Very nice! Would definitely recommend this property to friends and family. Great value!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank minniemoo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    6
    8
    9
See reviews for
21
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

The website (Vacations Incorporated) was great. It showed what each unit looked like as well as the other amenities-pool etc. We took our time finding exactly the right unit . It fit all of our needs. My grandson was so excited that he would sleep in a bunk bed. We loved the fact that there were recliners, flat screen tv and a fireplace and deck. It had a fireplace and the scenery from the deck was great. But....the unit looked nothing like the pictures. In fact, it wasn't even the same unit we requested. Why put pictures online and give you a choice of units if your choices are not honored.

The unit we were in was very clean and suited our needs. The decor was outdated and the bathrooms were not nice but everything was tolerable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mgardener316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

First we had ( party of 4 guys) an appartement in building 8. This was outdated! Linda (hi country office) gave us an appartement building 14, which was very goog. This location is nearby a shuttle for winter park slopes, about 15 min drive. This area is awesome. Lot's of good snow. We wish to thank Linda again for her support.

Kind regards, Bob ( dutch part)

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparkling_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield, mo
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2010

We found this condo to be very nice. We were in building 25, unit 6 which did not allow pets nor smoking...very much appreciated. Our unit was on the top floor which involved 32 steps, but it wasn't too bad. The condo was clean and well equipped. We could not get the tv in the bedroom to work but it wasn't missed. There was a large tv in the living room as well as a gas-fireplace. This unit has two bathrooms and one bedroom along with a roll-away-bed as well as a hide-a-bed sofa and a loveseat. We had a great time. It was a very quiet place to relax and soak up the refreshing air. Oh, there is no air conditioning nor ceiling fans. The ceiling fans would have been nice.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blacksmith48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

We had not been to Winter Park in years. I went this year and had a blast. It will not be so long between visits. Not much nightlife but great skiing, great on mountain customer service!

We rented a one bedroom in Hi County Haus through vrbo #159346. Hi County Haus is an older complex a block or so off main street. The unit had been redone and worked very well for the 4 us, Husband and my 11 year old nephews. The boys liked the clubhouse with in-door pool, hot tubs, games, pool table. I like that they allowed dogs, the price and the location. Plus there were snowshoe XC trails right behind the pool area. Made my morning dog walk very enjoyable. The condo was cuter than the pics, always a nice surprise. It is on the third floor so carrying luggage was not easy but the lack of noise from above, plus it is an end unit, was worth a little extra effort.

The condo is well stocked and felt pretty roomy for a one bedroom. No formal dining area, ample seating at the kitchen counter. I highly recommend this unit and the location of Hi Country Haus in general. Just make certian that the unit has been updated. We will stay here again.

We saw the free town shuttle running thourgh the complex but elected to drive to the mountain and learned that if we parked in the Cabriolet lot at the Vintage hotel, free, it made for an easy to and from. At the base of the lift there were tons of courtesy wagons for toting gear. For us that ease made staying in town verus at the slope a great choice.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2009

We booked our condo through www.winterparkcondoconnections.com. The properties are locally owned and operated by real "customer oriented" people. The condo was within walking distance to main street's shopping, dining and activities. Our unit was clean and had everything we needed for the weekend. The village at Winter Park was about 2 1/2 miles or 5 minutes by car. Awesome summer activities for any age group!
We plan to return this winter. Best of all, these guys will beat most rates in Winter Park!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denver2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2009

We had a great time at the Devil's Thumb Spa and skiing at Winter Park, so all in all the activities around Winter Park are very nice. I will definitely come back to Winter Park, but will make a point to stay elsewhere.

The condo we were in was very outdated (marigold bathrooms, a VCR only attached to the pint sized TV). The bed was uncomfortable and the sofa sleeper mattress was quite stained. The sliding glass doors were covered in fingerprints and the carpet, cream colored sofa and padded dining room chairs were filthy...vacuumed sure, but sometimes that is simply not enough. There was a constant whining noise (it really sounded like a distressed dog) that was coming from the utility fixture (for water?) outside in front of the condo. It became white noise after 3 nights, but I was convinced the neighbors had left there dog too long when we first arrived.

The recreation center opened 20 minutes late and we were not told about the towel charge before hand and the late check in procedures were not clear. The only internet access available is at the recreation center.

On a positive note, the view from the back of the condo was very nice and there was a working fireplace.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRS75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Winter Park hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
3.3 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
3.1 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#5 of 15 in Winter Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crestview Place
Crestview Place
#11 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Snowblaze Athletic Club
Snowblaze Athletic Club
#10 of 15 in Winter Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
3.0 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#3 of 25 in Winter Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stay Winter Park Beaver Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hi Country Haus Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi Country Haus Condominiums

Property: Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Address: 78415 US Highway 40, Winter Park, CO 80482
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hi Country Haus Condominiums 2.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi Country Haus is a great family property. All units are located 2 blocks from Main street in downtown Winter Park. The condos offer fully equipped kitchens, fireplace, cable TV and range from 1 - 3 bedrooms. The free town shuttle runs every 1/2 hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hi Country Haus Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi Country Haus Condominiums Hotel Winter Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing