We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware be very aware!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Viking Lodge and Ski Shop
Certificate of Excellence
Ruidoso, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beware be very aware!”
Reviewed February 19, 2008

My wife and I and two children recently stayed 3 nights at the Viking Lodge (this past weekend). We paid $130/ night for the Alpine loft and had a certain expectation. Wow, were we underwhelmed!

This facility is the biggest rip-off in the business. Their rates are not commensurate with the facility and the claims on their website border on false advertising. The main bed needed to be replaced 10 years ago. It was lumpy and tilted towards the floor on both sides. The ladder to the loft was downright dangerous and not recommended for small children. No way would it pass today's building codes. There was no table or chairs in the room and the electric would probably not pass a fire inspection. There were broken wall plates and broken sconces on the wall. Some switches did not work with anything.

The cable TV was a joke (5 channels) and the "continental" breakfast of coffee with oatmeal packets (no milk) and pop tarts was laughable. Breakfast does not even open until 7:30 am.

Overall, the place was cramped and the walls paper thin. You could hear everything said in the adjoining room. Priced at $59/night we could forgive a lot but at $130 it needed to be a whole lot more.

Two thumbs down!

  • Liked — location in town
  • Disliked — the facility
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank espresso_guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    32
    26
    11
    16
See reviews for
38
45
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2008

We have stayed at the Viking Lodge in downtown Winter Park, CO many times before and we have never thought of the Viking as a "great place to recommend to friends," but rather a great place to stay when on a budget. There were only two people in our room and by the time we brought in our 2 suitcases (total), we realized there was no room for our boot bags! Not all the outlets worked, the TV did not have any reception, and the bathroom had no fan. The cobwebs stringing down from the ceiling were disgusting. The walls are paper thin- our neighbor was up all night with a bad cough, which kept us up all night as well. You get what you pay for......

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank JRoettger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2008

The prices for this place were excellent for ski season. Yes, the rooms are very small and yes the place looks a bit dated and is nothing fancy or modern (which actually gave it character in some ways), but the place was perfectly clean and well managed. Nice service people. We were a little dissapointed when they locked up the lobby, game room, and hot tub a little early some nights. And, there were other small problems like a bathroom fan that didn't work and a bathroom door that needed to be replaced. But, otherwise, we really liked the place, liked the central location, and loved the price. If you aren't picky about room size this place is a great value.

  • Liked — good rates
  • Disliked — room needed a few minor repairs
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cdmco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2007

Just returned from a long weekend at the Viking Lodge in Winter Park. The only good thing about this place is the location.
We were booked in the Alpine Loft Room, which sleeps 4 people. There were only 3 of us in the room - THe room was sooo small were were tripping over each other all weekend.

THis hotel needs major updating, most of the electrical outlets in the room didi not work - the TV hade about 10 channels, the dresser ( 1 dresser with 4 drawers) All the drawers were broken, so when you opened the drawer, the drawer would fall out. The room was so small we had to be creative as to were to store our luggage. THe first night after returning from dinner, we smelled something burning - it was our ski bag - the tag on our ski bag was burnt to a crisp - THIS PLACE IS A FIRE HAZARD. We reported this to the frond desk manager - he did NOTHING about it - We were afraid to put the heat on the rest of our stay.

The beds were hard - the pillows were so flat, my blow up pillow I use for flying was more comfortable.

THe rugs were filthy and worn - Looks like this hotel hasnt been updated since the 60's, I knew I wasnt going to the Ritz, but really, Never again!!

The Continental Breakfast, and I use that term loosely consisted of Pop-tarts and toast - weak coffee and hot chocolate.

Last year I stayed at the Gasthaus Eichler - a much better choice. I looks like most of the hotels downtown, were of this quality

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank ml54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
2.5 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 15 in Winter Park
496 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
#7 of 15 in Winter Park
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Snowblaze Athletic Club
Snowblaze Athletic Club
#10 of 15 in Winter Park
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crestview Place
Crestview Place
#11 of 15 in Winter Park
6 reviews
2.5 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#2 of 25 in Winter Park
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Viking Lodge and Ski Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Viking Lodge and Ski Shop

Property: The Viking Lodge and Ski Shop
Address: 78966 US Highway 40, Winter Park, CO 80482
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Viking Lodge and Ski Shop 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You get what you pay for… Located in downtown Winter Park, the Viking Lodge and Ski Shop is an icon in Winter Park. Since 1953 we have been providing affordable lodging to guests who just want to ski and have a great time. At The Viking Lodge you get what you pay for. The carpets are old, the walls are thin, and the TV’s are not flat screen. But we won’t break your budget; we offer cheap accommodations in an old ski lodge at a great location in downtown Winter Park. We have 21 rooms; from VERY small to apartments. All rooms have private baths and color televisions; box style televisions, yes they are old TV’s, but you should be outside not sitting in your room watching TV. Pool, gym, ice sculptures, room service, robes, bell boys, 24 hour front desk, spa – this is a list of stuff we don’t have. We do have clean rooms, a great downtown location, game room, friendly staff and the best dirt parking lot in Winter Park. We don’t do daily maid service or mints on pillows, but if you ask we will clean your room and find a mint somewhere. If you’d rather be surfing the web than skiing, riding, biking, hiking, reading, chatting with friends or meeting new ones, you’ll be pleased to know that we have Wi-Fi in the lobby. I suppose some have to work anyway. You can make use of our luggage room before check-in and after check-out. Our reception is not open all day (heck we would rather be outside skiing, riding, biking or hiking too) but no fear, we will leave directions for check-in; usually at the Ski Shop or T-shirt shop. If you will be arriving after hours (like 6PM) please call. Coming soon The Viking Lodge is a work in progress; despite all attempts to the contrary we are becoming more impressive on a daily basis. Some rooms even have tile in the bathrooms, new sinks and fancy bedspreads and curtains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Viking Lodge and Ski Shop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Lodge And Management Hotel Winter Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing