We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Unique old-fashioned experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TimberHouse Ski Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Winter Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
TimberHouse Ski Lodge
Save
You added TimberHouse Ski Lodge to your Saves list
32, Winter Park, CO 80482   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique old-fashioned experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A quiet, quaint mountain inn with a strict no-phones/laptops policy and a family-style guest dining room isn't everyone's cup of tea. But, I found the TimberHouse Ski Lodge to be friendly, chill and charming with a dash of weird. Hipsters would love this place but thankfully, it seems to be undiscovered. If you're looking for a deal and you don't care about the thread count of your sheets, take a break from your iPad and check in to the TimberHouse after a day of skiing at Winter Park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janedandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    2
    0
    1
    3
See reviews for
15
4
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I live in the Midwest but have skied in Colorado every Winter since 1980. In that time we have stayed in many condominiums in Steamboat and Silverthorne and enjoyed the hospitality for many years at the Gasthaus Eichler in Winter Park. The TimberHouse has become a favorite for many reasons. The location is picturesque and secluded but not as far away as most other properties, but you can ski in if you so desire. The common areas are comfortable and inviting and the children love the game room. This IS NOT a sterile institutional environment. If you love old homes and bed and breakfasts, you will enjoy your stay.

Todd Waldron has made each year a memorable stay with his personalized service and attention to detail. He provided guidance the first year that included ski rentals. The convenience of dealing with a local ski shop for the children's rentals, and the substantial discount at Alpine Sport, and the ability to have pick up and drop off is substantial. The van service to and from Winter Park is also a big help.

The food service has improved the last few years. A few of the dishes were spectacular, at any price. The food is hearty, more than adequate and home style. The rooms are comfortable and clean and our suite is quite large. Once you learn your way around the large complex, you will appreciate the ambiance. It can be dim in areas, especially at night, like any other well maintained old house.

We continue to return year after year for all these reasons. Service provided by the Timberhouse is on par with the best of destinations. The Timberhouse provides a true value in a family ski vacation. If you were to honestly tally the $ for a condominum or hotel, food costs and TIME, yes TIME. I believe you will agree. If you want gourmet meals, high thread count sheets and a valet, you will pay substantially more than a stay at the TimberHouse, but your service will be no better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

TimberHouse lodge prides itself on providing a community to fellow skiers and succeeds. Cell phones and laptops are banished from the living room and dining rooms, Everyone eats together (breakfast, 4 pm tea and dinner are camp style) and everyone hangs out talking about skiing, puzzles, etc.. I'm not the biggest fan of forced togetherness but it works here.
Todd (the owner) can make every part of your ski trip easier: helping you rent skis, getting deals on lift tickets and shuttling you to the lifts. I recommend that you call him a week or so before your trip.
There are aspects that might not be right for everyone. There were kids everywhere when we visited (it was spring break in Texas) but, frankly, they were sweet and energetic and just added to the whole camp thing. Ditto for the trains. After the first night, I didn't hear them.

Room Tip: If you are of advanced age, you might want a room with a private bathroom. You might ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NSimenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Upon reading lots and lots of reviews searching for the perfect place to stay in winter park, and weighing pros and cons of renting a house, condo, hotel etc we stumbled over Timberhouse lodge. Was a little worried at first as there was a few reviews deeming it very dark and rustic.

When we drove up the children said to the driver "no that is not where we are staying, we are going to a resort". I realized that it was about time that they get off this 5 star resort idea , and was really glad we arrived here.

Todd the owner gave us a great welcome and helped us getting settled. We got to pick between the room we had reserved or another set up he thought would be fulfilling our criteria better. We went with Todd's suggestion.

I was a little worried about the no lock/room key concept but it was really unnecessary. Someone from staff is always around nearby keeping an eye on things and really this is not a place where strangers just pass by. And at night they do lock the lodge up so it was very very safe.

Everyone on staff was overly friendly and accommodating and it is definitely the cleanest lodge I have ever stayed at. Every morning after breakfast and most guest on their way to the slopes I would notice the staff washing walls, panels, doorknobs etc etc.

The lodge really has a nice warm feel of an old European ski lodge, and as I grew up skiing in Europe I felt quite at home. It was really like going back in time to great childhood memories.

The food was good, solid housemans cost. Not gourmet but they also don't advertise that. But they accommodate everyone and they make some solid healthy meals that is what you need for a good day on the slopes. Personally we couldn't ask for more or differently.

During our stay here we met a lot of interesting people and all guests seems to gather for the meals, exchange fantastic travel stories and after dinner enjoy old warren miller movies. With Todd's great hospitality it felt like coming back home.

Todd took us to the slopes every day and also drove us in the afternoons to meet people at the base, he really looked out for all of us like we were his family, making sure everyone was happy, well taken care of and safe.

This fall upon planning this years ski vacations our children voted Timberhouse lodge as their favorite spot to go to - above all the luxurious expensive resorts they otherwise have been to. I think that says it all!

We are returning with a group of 15-20 this year and I am sure we will be back for many years to come.

Read reviews complaining about train and alcohol policy, I don't understand those reviews because we are super light sleepers and yet from our room (granted it was on side furthest away from the railway) we barely ever if at all heard the train - at least not during the evenings and night time. The staff were happy to open our wine bottles as well as give us wine glasses so I don't get the review about that one can't drink because they certainly don't prohibit it.

Room Tip: Stay on opposite side of railway tracks and you really won't be bothered that much
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dkrejser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We just returned from a four night stay at the lodge. I travel frequently for business and this did not feel at all like a hotel. It was more like staying at my friends' family's summer house in New Hampshire. Todd knew all our names on arrival, and we were always referred to by first name. The rooms have lots of wood and are smaller than an average hotel room. We didn't notice that as we spent time in the common living room by the fireplace after dinner. The floors squeaked here and there as you walked on them. It was cleaner than most hotels, perhaps because the staff lives on site. Best of all, our two boys made many friends over "Apples to Apples", Pool, and Ping Pong, and many of the people knew each other from past stays. My wife and I enjoyed the group Trivia Pursuit game (men vs. women) one evening, met some great people over dinner at the multi-family dinner tables, and had some great conversations in the hot tubs. Like my friends's place, some people knew each other already and others were first timers like us.

Trains pass by Winter Park periodically, but living in suburban Boston they sounded like the distant commuter rail trains we hear at home. Aside from that, the rooms are much quieter than typical hotels. The food is good, but not to be confused with a gourmet restaurant. Some people may have trouble with the limited options and inability to select from a menu, but the staff is ready to help, e.g., bringing out a PB&J or plain pasta instead of beef stew over pasta. Fresh salads, great deserts, and Après Ski snacks resulted in plenty of options. Having meals prepared was much better than having to make reservations or wait in line for expensive resort-town meals. Dinners were beef stew, pork loin, grilled sole, and roast beef. Starters included fresh salad and French Onion Soup, while deserts were chocolate cake, brownies, and carrot cake.

My 9 year old wasn't initially as excited about 3 days of skiing as his older brother was, but he was emphatic that we should return to Timberhouse Lodge at the same time next year so he can see his "friends" again. The wide variety of trail options from each lift was also great as two of us could take an easier trail, two could take a harder trail, and we could meet at the bottom and ride the four person lifts together. Aside from lifts at the bottom - middle of the mountain, lift lines were never more than a few people long, and we skied the Friday - Sunday between Christmas and New Years! We skied Killington last year and saw long lines, crowded slopes, and were run over by out-of-control skiers twice.

Thanks Todd for helping make this a great family trip! Hope to see you next year.

Room Tip: Rooms near the dining room may be noisier - we stayed upstairs but walked by the every morning for b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobsScreenName
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tupelo, Mississippi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Just finished our sixteenth consecutive seasonal visit to the Timberhouse and, as usual, it was wonderful. Old friends were there during our week, so we could catch up. It is hard to stay there and not make some new friends and, of course, we did. After a long day of skiing it is so nice to not have to worry about going out to eat, waiting in line at resturants, and instead being served a great multi-course meal by a competent and friendly staff who go out of their way to serve. A great breakfast and afternoon tea are also included. Timber house is a ski in lodge, so you have your choice of skiing back or having Todd pick you up at the base in the afternoon. The lodge is rustic but clean and comfortable, rooms are quiet and the owner and staff are extradinarily attentive to the individual needs of those who stay there. If you are addicted to electronic entertainment, it may not be the best choice for you, but if you enjoy sitting by the fire after a great meal, engaging in frienly conversation or being entertained with live music if any guests or staff members have those talents, then it is the place to be at Winter Park. If you need to rent equipment, Todd will take you and no standing in lines for lift tickets, he will get them for you and get the best possible deal at the particular time,

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brackishatbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sioux city, iowa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We arrived in time for the New Year's Eve party and once again it was like coming back to an old friends house. The service was great, the food was splendid (hats off to Amy the cook) and the location is great with its ski in option and the service to and from the slope if you need it. This is lodging at its old time best, not a Hyatt or a 5 star hotel with 5 star prices. The TimberHouse represents a great value and the staff treats the guests with respect. Thanks to all and keep up the good work.

Room Tip: The forest side is preferred by us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank loesshawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
1.3 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
1.1 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#6 of 15 in Winter Park
3.0 of 5 stars 383 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
#8 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 stars 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge
BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge
#1 of 15 in Winter Park
4.0 of 5 stars 434 reviews
1.0 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#3 of 26 in Winter Park
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
1.4 mi away
Valley Hi Motel
Valley Hi Motel
#3 of 15 in Winter Park
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TimberHouse Ski Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TimberHouse Ski Lodge

Property: TimberHouse Ski Lodge
Address: 32, Winter Park, CO 80482
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Timberhouse Ski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing