We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winter Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

The beds here were comfortable and the rooms were fairly clean, but the front end manager totally disregarded customer satisfaction. The hotel was extremely noisy and we got no sleep at all. When we complained to the front end manager he acted like he didnt't care, he was no help whatsoever and when I said I'd never visit this place again he also could careless. I will take my business elsewhere, would not recommend it.

Room Tip: If you want any sleep, don't go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cross15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Alpenglo-Owner, Owner at Best Western Alpenglo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

This review was painful to read, as it absolutely does not reflect the image we work so hard to portray - - as evidenced by the numerous favorable reviews we've received - - many complimenting our friendly and knowledgable staff. There is no excuse for the indifferent attitude you received and rest assurred, the employee in question has been properly reprimanded. Although we may have lost you as a guest, I would ask others to forgive what is truly an isolated incident and come see for themselves what a great property (and staff) we have!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 544 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2013

Rooms were clean, comfortable. Slightly dated but not a big deal. Breakfast was good - standard waffles, eggs, bacon. Hot chocolate machine. Not enough tables for breakfast if the hotel is somewhat full - had to bring breakfast back to the room. Good location. Staff was friendly and helpful with tips on tubing and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jillo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Alpenglo-Owner, Owner at Best Western Alpenglo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to review our property. We hope you'll come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very convenient location. We stayed in room 303. Room was clean and nice. Beds were comfortable. Perhaps a bit dated (no flat screen, etc). Did have a small microwave and mine-fridge. Our A/C unit had a very annoying squeak.
We didn't get much sleep the first night... I asked the front desk attendant to have it checked when we left the next morning to go skiing. That night it was still squeaking and I called the front desk to ask if maintenance had looked at the unit. I was told that he didn't see any notes about it and would research and call me back. After dinner I stopped to ask about it and was told that maintenance had already departed so the only thing he knew to do was "come up and squirt some WD-40 on it". He also said he could not even offer us a space heater as they were all "lent out" (not sure why he brought it up if it was not an option). Luckily even though it was below zero (-17) outside, our room did not get that cold. We actually wanted to use the A/C unit to produce white noise to drown out the inconsiderate people who talked very loudly in the hallways at all hours of the night.

We basically had two nights with very little sleep. Upon checkout, the young lady at the front desk was very apologetic and offered to make sure someone looked at the HVAC unit in room 303. Front desk staff from the previous night was still there and said he had tried to keep the drunks quiet, but was afraid he had had little success. No offer to comp the room or even give a discount.

Breakfast was mediocre at best. I'd say this is more of what Best Western provides than a local issue. They did have hot tea, coffee and bad hot chocolate available all day.

WiFi was spotty and not consistent. Every time you left or switched to another IOS app, you have to log back in with a user name and password.

Room Tip: Avoid room 303!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fahertyps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Alpenglo-Owner, Owner at Best Western Alpenglo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. While it’s always nice to hear of the things our guests like, we especially value hearing of areas where we fell short, which unfortunately appears to be the case in this instance.

In our alpine environment, we use an energy efficient gas fired room heater, unlike most hotels around the country that operate electric units. The unit in the room mentioned did indeed receive the attention of our maintenance engineer after being reported to the front desk the first time. Obviously, the repair was not effective and for that I truly apologize - - - because above all else, we strive to provide a comfortable and restful stay for our guests. The front desk has now been reminded where to look for maintenance updates, which should have been relayed to you when you checked back in the evening, so thanks again for that “teaching opportunity”.

If you were to give us another chance in the future, you’ll find the WiFi to be improved, as we are quadrupling the bandwidth and improving our WAPs (wireless access points).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Room was nice, modern, clean. Beds were comfortable. The breakfast selection will keep us coming back for sure - great for getting ready for a day of skiing. Staff were very friendly. Only wish the hot tub were completely attached to the building, and it would be great for the kids if there was an indoor pool. Overall a great place, and we will go back!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Alpenglo-Owner, Owner at Best Western Alpenglo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for sharing your thoughts with others. While maybe not ideal, the hot tub is a very short “walk” (or maybe “run” when it’s cold!) from the hotel -allowing one to fully appreciate the soothing warm waters upon entering. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I was surprised to find a hotel in our price range and even more surprised that it was a decent place to stay. The good price allowed us to visit Winter Park for a one night snow tubing trip (we aren't skiers).

The room was nice and clean, the beds were comfortable. We had two rooms and our family in the other room had problems with their heater but the staff helped us resolve the issue. I didn't hear any noise during the night (i'm a very light sleeper) and thought we there were only a few people staying at the time. However, next morning the lobby/breakfast area were packed so either everyone went to bed early or the soundproofing is very good.

Breakfast was more than I expected and no one left hungry. Overall a nice place to stay and we will stay here again next time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kahlesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Alpenglo-Owner, Owner at Best Western Alpenglo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Thank you for such a favorable review. We work extremely hard to provide a great value to our guests, whether it's our clean and comfortable rooms or the ample "hot" breakfast. On your next trip, maybe you could take a snowmobile ride or a snowshoe hike - - - just a couple of the other activities that are offered for the “non-skiers” in our area. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great location to town and the slopes. Well stocked and decent enough breakfast, wifi worked ok, and the front desk personnel were patient with my grandchildren and I waiting in the lobby until check-in. Rooms were clean although a bit dated. Hard to adjust heat as was too hot even with low heat setting but just had to turn it off for awhile to get the temp comfortable (beats being too cold!). All-in-all, totally fine place to stay for a ski weekend or whatever it is you would like to do.

Room Tip: There is no pool but could not remove the rating option. Also, I think they aimed to put not only f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivianSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Arrived on a beautiful, sunshiny, warm, afternoon with blue skies overhead. Friendly, courteous, desk clerk promptly check us in to a very nice second story room (they have an elevator) that had a stunning view over the parking area to the snow clad mountains in the distance. We were later fortunate enough to have a beautiful red fox wander around the parking area...and managed to take photos and a short video strip. It rained that evening, later turning to snow...which left cars in the parking area with a light cover of snow OVER the rainwater that had frozen to a depth of about a quarter of an inch. Some very helpful fellow travelers assisted us in removing the ice from the windshield (I'd forgotten my ice scraper and deicer fluid at home), and we were soon on our way. Beautiful country, a very nice/clean motel, and extremely courteous and polite personnel.

Room Tip: Entry is thru the lobby, and rooms on the north side of the second floor afford the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerTu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Park
2.8 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#4 of 14 in Winter Park
516 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Grand Lake
536 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trailhead Inn
Trailhead Inn
#2 of 14 in Winter Park
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Alpenglo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Alpenglo Lodge

Address: 78665 US Highway 40, Winter Park, CO 80482
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range: $102 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Alpenglo Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Alpenglo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alpenglo Hotel Winter Park
Best Western Winter Park
Winter Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing