We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Certificate of Excellence
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Nice place to stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

It was a nice place to stay. Breakfast was good and the staff was very friendly. They even have board games at the front desk that you can play. My son loved that.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erkoriley23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    199
    70
    13
    10
See reviews for
170
180
38
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

Great hotel. Clean, comfortable bed, the best continental breakfast. Within walking distance of good restaurants and an outdoor park with live entertainment. They provided chairs, and you bring the family. There was even a skate board rink for kids.

Room Tip: Pet Friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMA1ST2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, Michigan
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

We were very lucky to find this room last minute, with there being a TON of Denver-area events going on. This hotel was very reasonably priced ($89) and covered all of the basics. It was clean, the beds (2 queens) were comfortable enough, there was a mini-fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room (when you're travelling with kids these are very helpful!). The noise-level was a little high (the door to the hallway seem a little thin or hallow) and the air conditioning was also noisy, but both were livable. There is no laundromat in the BW, however there is one in a strip mall located just outside the hotel.
The staff was amazing! Very, very friendly and personable and willing to help with whatever questions we had. I can't say enough positive things about them!
The breakfast in the morning was AMAZING! No, it's not 5 star quality, but it does the job. Included were things like biscuits and gravy, cheese omelets, sausage patties, homemade waffles, oatmeal, assorted cereals and bakery items, fruit, and beverage items - including coffee, tea, juice and milk.
Winter Park is an amazing town - save your money and instead of staying in the expensive nearby resort, stay here!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed at this location for 1 night. I was a little skeptical of a Best Western, but we figured for one night we could make anything work. I'm glad we took a chance and booked here. The two gentlemen at the front desk were very nice and helpful - they even had samples of Tom's of Maine toothpast :) . The room was clean, quiet, and everything was in working order. The free wifi was in working order and we had no problems with it.
The complimentary breakfast was much better than average. There was the usual variety of muffins, breads, cereals and the like. They also had waffles, buscuits and gravy, sausage, and crepes. This was a very nice surprise! The owner was around in the during breakfast keeping the area clean and stocked - again a nice surprise! He took the time to visit with me and make sure our stay was enjoyable.
The only downside I can think of is the lack of a pool. There is a hot tub that is entered from outside. This is a ski community so I understand that most people staying with likely be too busy to use a pool. We were too busy checking out the wildlife and cute little town to pay much attention to the lack of a pool.
We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KerryIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Alpenglo-Owner, Owner at BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Thank you so much for your review. We work hard to provide a value to our guests, whether its our updated rooms, free wi-fi or the expanded continental breakfast with hot waffles and biscuits & gravy. We'd love to host you again on your next trip to Winter Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

We were traveling by motorcycle & stopped here due to severe weather. Pleasant, clean hotel with helpful front desk. In between storms, I was able to walk 2 blocks to a 7-11.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peg3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

About our trip: We came from a conference in Denver and stayed over night while enroute to Rocky Mountain National Park. We decided to go west on 70, take 40 north and come into the RMNP through the south west entrance. I am so glad we did, especially after exiting through Estes Park and seeing how packed it was with people. Winter Park is a neat mountain town and didn't seem over run at all. Now onto the hotel...

The good:

We arrived with two larger families and shared three rooms. The rooms were clean, of decent size, and the beds were Simmons Posturepedic matresses and comfortable. Each room had a fridge and a microwave, cable TV etc. The breakfast was provided by the hotel and was delicious. There were waffles (the kind where you pour in the batter and flip them), microwavable scrambbled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, which was outstanding, fruit, juice, coffee, french vanilla and Italian cappuccino, patries, muffins, bagels, oatmeal etc. We have four kids, our friends have six. It was a great set-up for our breakfast.

The hotel staff was excellent!! When we arrived I asked about horseback riding. The employee (younger guy with a beard, don't remember his name) offered to call and get me rates while I unloaded our van. My wife, two older children, and a couple children from the other family went. We went with Fossil Ridge Guide Service whic was about a half mile from the hotel south on 40. My family absolutely loved it and it was affordable ($35 for an hour). Of the three rooms, two were connecting as we requested, all rooms had two queens in each room. Upon checkout the staff was again friendly and helpful.

The bad:

I don't really have any negative comments. There was a nice hot tub, but no pool. We knew that when we reserved the rooms so it wasn't a big deal. Overall, it is a nice clean hotel, with great staff, and a good breakfast. It was everything we needed and wanted without the huge prices you may pay at 5 star hotels. We will definately stay here again as we would like to make visiting the Rockies a yearly trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iowafamilyofsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

This was an overnight, in old downtown Winter Park, was very pleasantly surprised by the fresh, new feel, very clean, comfortable beds, quiet. I highly recommend it.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SharonRR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
2.8 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#4 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
Hi Country Haus Condominiums
#7 of 15 in Winter Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#4 of 25 in Winter Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fraser Crossing / Founders Pointe
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge

Property: BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge
Address: 78665 US Hwy 40, Winter Park, CO 80482
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Best Western, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Alpenglo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alpenglo Hotel Winter Park
Best Western Winter Park
Winter Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing