We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stopping point before entering Rocky Mt Nat'l Park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winter Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We were traveling by motorcycle & stopped here due to severe weather. Pleasant, clean hotel with helpful front desk. In between storms, I was able to walk 2 blocks to a 7-11.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peg3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 551 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2011

About our trip: We came from a conference in Denver and stayed over night while enroute to Rocky Mountain National Park. We decided to go west on 70, take 40 north and come into the RMNP through the south west entrance. I am so glad we did, especially after exiting through Estes Park and seeing how packed it was with people. Winter Park is a neat mountain town and didn't seem over run at all. Now onto the hotel...

The good:

We arrived with two larger families and shared three rooms. The rooms were clean, of decent size, and the beds were Simmons Posturepedic matresses and comfortable. Each room had a fridge and a microwave, cable TV etc. The breakfast was provided by the hotel and was delicious. There were waffles (the kind where you pour in the batter and flip them), microwavable scrambbled eggs, sausage, biscuits and gravy, which was outstanding, fruit, juice, coffee, french vanilla and Italian cappuccino, patries, muffins, bagels, oatmeal etc. We have four kids, our friends have six. It was a great set-up for our breakfast.

The hotel staff was excellent!! When we arrived I asked about horseback riding. The employee (younger guy with a beard, don't remember his name) offered to call and get me rates while I unloaded our van. My wife, two older children, and a couple children from the other family went. We went with Fossil Ridge Guide Service whic was about a half mile from the hotel south on 40. My family absolutely loved it and it was affordable ($35 for an hour). Of the three rooms, two were connecting as we requested, all rooms had two queens in each room. Upon checkout the staff was again friendly and helpful.

The bad:

I don't really have any negative comments. There was a nice hot tub, but no pool. We knew that when we reserved the rooms so it wasn't a big deal. Overall, it is a nice clean hotel, with great staff, and a good breakfast. It was everything we needed and wanted without the huge prices you may pay at 5 star hotels. We will definately stay here again as we would like to make visiting the Rockies a yearly trip.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iowafamilyofsix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

This was an overnight, in old downtown Winter Park, was very pleasantly surprised by the fresh, new feel, very clean, comfortable beds, quiet. I highly recommend it.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank SharonRR2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2011

We stayed in this hotel because of the good price. It was not the prettiest hotel there ever was. In our room, in the nightstand, there were some explosives. That was very unsafe. We told the front desk, and the person there was very helpful. She was nice, and caring about our situation. She told us that it is a safe hotel and that we were fine. Everyone that was a staff member was helpful and kind, although because of the explosives, we will not return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Friends101USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW-Alpenglo-Owner, Owner at Best Western Alpenglo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2011

It is our highest priority to provide safe and comfortable accommodations, creating a perceivable value to our guests. We like to think our other Tripadvisor reviews confirm this objective.

This review & incident has caught us completely by surprise, as management had no knowledge of this issue occuring in November of 2010. In addition, being a resort property during the November "off-season", we had no female front desk employees at the time.

We've asked this particular guest to provide additional details so that we may investigate further, but as of this writing, we have not heard back from them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Great staff, friendly.
Very pet friendly.
Great, affordable place to stay.

Room Tip: Go online
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJL628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

My boyfriend and I spent two nights at this hotel. Overall, its a great stay for the price. The only complaint was the group of 30 plus preteens yelling and running through the halls late into the night and into the morning. This left us with little sleep, which was rather unfortunate after a long day of skiing.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brie12791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 15, 2011

Thank you for your comments and we're glad you found our hotel to be a good value - - - which is what we strive for everyday. I do apologize for the noise resulting from the group at our hotel during your stay. Not that it excuses their behavior, but it was a student group from abroad who had been delayed in their travels and had just arrived. I believe they were just excited about their visit, causing them to temporarily forget their manners. Rest assured this situation is the exception at our property, as we work hard to provide our guests with a comfortable and restful stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

In short the Best Western Aplenglo Lodge is one of the very best places you can stay in Winter Park. The lodge staff are second to none. From the property owner to the house keeping staff each member of the team shares the general managers’ goal to ensure that your stay is a comfortable one.

The lodge looks as new as the day it was built and if the team look after their hotel this well, can you imagine how the staff are going to look after you?

The lodge offers both quality and value which in my experience the others can’t match.

The lodge is the perfect base from which to vacation in the area.

The rooms are large with the most comfortable beds in town. You can even buy the bed if you like it.

Most rooms have two queen size beds, table & chairs, dresser set, large TV, microwave, fridge, wardrobe, phone, alarm clock, coffee machine with supplies of beverages, ice bucket and a decent hairdryer. There’s two dedicated handicapped rooms with single king size beds and lots of space. There’s also a family suite and interconnected rooms for larger groups.

Each room has its own AC/heater unit which you can easily control with the thermostat.

The bathrooms are clean with a mountain of towels in different sizes and endless amounts of hot water. The hotel provides soaps, shampoos etc and also has guest kits if you’ve forgotten your essentials and don’t have the energy to run to the stores.

The rooms have windows that face up the valley towards the mountains or down the valley towards Fraser. Both views are attractive so don’t worry about which side you get. It’s all good.

The breakfast is included in the price saving a small fortune. The helpful staff ensure that the stock is always fresh, well presented and abundant. They seldom seam to run out of anything. Eggs, pancakes, sausage, cereals, breads, bagels, donuts, porridge, oatmeal, biscuits and gravy, jelly, peanut butter, cream cheese, juices, teas, coffees. There really is something for everyone.

Within the lodge there are vending machines filled with good quality snacks and drinks plus ice machines.

The hot tub is out the back and is large enough for 8 people. It’s open from 10am till 10pm and is the perfect way to rest the body after a hard days play.

Within the lodge there are vending machines filled with good quality snacks and drinks plus ice machines.
Location is everything and in this case you are seconds from the bus stops, car parking, shops and restaurants.

I really can’t say enough about this accommodation and the staff that work here. A home from home? You bet . . . :)

Room Tip: All the rooms are good . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Crash_Rescue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winter Park
2.8 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#4 of 14 in Winter Park
519 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Fraser - Winter Park Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 mi away
Gateway Inn
Gateway Inn
#2 of 7 in Grand Lake
543 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trailhead Inn
Trailhead Inn
#2 of 14 in Winter Park
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Sundowner Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Alpenglo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Alpenglo Lodge

Address: 78665 US Highway 40, Winter Park, CO 80482
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Winter Park
Price Range: $101 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Alpenglo Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Alpenglo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alpenglo Hotel Winter Park
Best Western Winter Park
Winter Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing