We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Rocky Mountian Style”

Lion's Gate Pine Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winter Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lion's Gate Pine Lodge
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Lion's Gate Pine Lodge was a charming resort with easy access to the mountains. We enjoyed hiking, biking and wildlife viewing. The rooms were cozy and clean. Yes, the train runs through the town - not a problem for me and it did not wake me up. We stayed five nights and had a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lori G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Lion's Gate Pine Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 28 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed for one week on the side of the building facing the train tracks (mentioned by everyone else). Never got woken up by it and really didn't find it to be that loud at all, even during the day when trains are more frequent. One of the toilets got backed up, but they fixed it within 15 minutes (probably because we stayed at an off-peak time). They change towels on Tuesdays, but otherwise it's up to you for cleaning. There are also some travel-size toiletries provided (shampoo, conditioner, lotion). The living room furniture also seemed to be fairly new, comfy couches for after the slopes. Overall it exceeded my expectations (though they were pretty low given some of the reviews on here). Certainly not 5 star accommodation, but also not nearly as bad some reviews suggest.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank TnnsBrvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

My biggest complaint was the age of the building, and that it has very thin walls. The resort was pretty full and kids were running around all the time. The train is an issue, but if you are going to stay in Winter Park, the train tracks runs all along the west side of US-40, or Main Street. We stayed one hall way away from the tracks and the passing train woke everyone in our unit at least once.

The resort itself is nice. Good hot tub (2 actually), working outdoor pool in the dead of winter, sauna, and the kids loved the rec room, which had a pool table, ping pong, fussball, and air hockey. The kitchen is better stocked with cooking utensils than any other resort I have stayed at. Gas fireplace was a great bonus. As others have mentioned, the location is great.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lib88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
7537
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Nice furniture and decent location...BUT limited parking in dirt and gravel lot. Had to climb 3 flights of stairs with heavy luggage and supplies...Trains with whistles come by about avery 30 minutes at night (like midnight on) toilet broke...they wanted us to clean up the carpet, etc...we told them they could it. Broke again later that night...Chip, the after hours guy,had to be called twice - he asked if we couldn;t wait until morning. Stairs and floors creaked, only 1 tv for 6 of us...pool did not work and the gas fireplaces could not be used...Fitness center was 2 miles away...no one to help on premises..had to go several blocks to a storefront. Try another place....I would NOT go here!!!

Room Tip: Try another hotel
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

Best place to y if your ever in winter park, also easy access to the alpine slide( just down the road)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jerm1390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

i like that it was close enough to main st. to go for a walk w/ a stroller, the people were pleasant, the room was just fine, & if there was a train, i didnt really notice it. i like how close the room was to the pool, i loved the hot tub room. im going to look into purchasing a time share there because my family & i had a good time.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank deirdre2833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2010

My parents have a timeshare condo here that they get for 1 week every year (same week every year) and they've had it since before I was born (they probably bought into the timeshare in about 1980 or so). We've gone up almost every year for at least the weekend, though usually not much more than that. I have always enjoyed it. It isn't the nicest place, but it's comfortable - they updated the living room furniture a couple of years ago ('07 or '08, I think) which definitely made it look a bit homier and less outdated.

They have a game room, which my brother and I used to use constantly, but I haven't been in it for a few years. The hot tubs and pool are great - outdoor pool, so make sure to cover it up when you're done! - but I don't like saunas so I can't tell you how it is. They didn't used to have a DVD player but they added one about 5 years ago (they do at least attempt to stay up-to-date) and while the TV isn't massive and flat-panel, it does the job, so we enjoy watching movies in the comfy couches next to the fireplace :). One of our favorite things is pulling out board games/cards & playing on the dining room table - this is the perfect atmosphere for that!

I saw lots of complaints about train noise - that must be just on certain sides of the building, because it really surprised me! I have NEVER noticed a train while staying there - maybe I heard it and didn't register it, but it has certainly never been enough to bother me! We have an inside room (balcony to the pool), so maybe that makes a difference.

This is definitely a good place for families with kids and young teens as well as travelers who aren't picky about lodging - when we go elsewhere with friends we like to find places with nice entertainment centers and that are fairly up-to-date, bu

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Song7_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winter Park hotels
2.6 mi away
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
Winter Park Mountain Lodge
#3 of 14 in Winter Park
512 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Vintage Resort Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
Best Western Alpenglo Lodge
#1 of 14 in Winter Park
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
Zephyr Mountain Lodge
#3 of 25 in Winter Park
324 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Viking Lodge and Ski Shop
The Viking Lodge and Ski Shop
#4 of 25 in Winter Park
156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trailhead Inn
Trailhead Inn
#2 of 14 in Winter Park
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion's Gate Pine Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion's Gate Pine Lodge

Address: 55 North Lions Gate Drive, Winter Park, CO 80482
Location: United States > Colorado > Grand County > Winter Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Winter Park
Price Range: $90 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lion's Gate Pines is a private, self-contained condominium complex, ideally located in the center of downtown Winter Park, just one block from Main Street and the free shuttle pick up. This 25-unit property consists primarily of 3-bedroom, 2-bathroom condos, and some 2-bedroom, 1-bedroom units. Common area amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool. Inside, guests can enjoy two hot-tubs, saunas, game room and a coin-operated laundry. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lion`s Gate Pine Hotel Winter Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing