We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“treat yourself while on the mountain” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dining Room at Sunspot

Dining Room at Sunspot
Reserve with OpenTable
Dining Room at Sunspot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 73 Restaurants in Winter Park
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
92 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“treat yourself while on the mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

You deserve a break after a few hours of skiing. Treat yourself to lunch at the Sunspot. Go late to miss the crowds. Sure it's pricey, but you can't get the same experience anywhere in Winter Park.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank markjchambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    33
    13
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunspot at Christmas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Ate at the restaurant here once for lunch and the food was good but the service was slow. At least the views were nice to see while we waited. May have been better off going through the cafeteria line. We also ate dinner here on Christmas and enjoyed the gondola ride and the buffet but not sure if we would do again. However, it was a memorable experience that I'm sure our family will always remember.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mrs_ktw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We enjoyed a five course dinner Saturday night at the Dining Room at Sunspot. What a beautiful experience from beginning to end. Take a gondola ride up the mountain with a full view of the resort and ski slopes. Enter Sunspot to the warmth of fireplaces and a friendly staff and enjoy the view from the walls of windows. The waiters were attentive and knowledgable and the food was out of this world. If you're really lucky like we were you can enjoy Sunspot by the light of a full moon! A true magical experience!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank movingexperiences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“You've got to eat here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

What a surprise! Lunchtime on the slopes is something I normally dread - you know, big crowds, no tables, mediocre cafeteria style food court. Not so at Sunspot, the experience was a 10 in all categories. Rustic log cabin atmosphere, and best of all, a sit down restaurant! To top it off the food was excellent and the wait staff were very well trained - you felt very welcome. The menu was first class and the prices were not outrageous as you might expect at a ski resort. I had the bison chili served in a bread bowl and my son had an excellent penne pasta dish. A must stop when skiing Winter Park!

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Spectacular view!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Every single window has a breathtaking view!! Worth the trip up the mountain for sure! Bring a camera

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rootdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dining Room at Sunspot also viewed

Winter Park, Grand County
Winter Park, Grand County
 
Winter Park, Grand County
 
Winter Park, Grand County
Winter Park, Grand County
 

Been to Dining Room at Sunspot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing