We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Dining”
Review of Hideaway Bistro - CLOSED

Hideaway Bistro
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb Dining”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We visit Winter Park Colorado annually to ski and always dine here. The Bistro offers many gourmet selections and at quite reasonable prices. My wife had the Rainbow Trout and it "was to die for" and I had the shrimp stuffed Sole that was delicious as we'll! The service was great and the atmosphere was "intimate". Even though this restaurant is inside the lobby of the Silverado II condos, it still maintains a quaint bistro feeling. Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skibumscu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    10
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“way better than da vinci”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

French onion soup was outstanding; not too salty, cheese crispy on the top and gooey in the middle. Trout with pecan crust was a little over-cooked for me, but then again I like my fish under-done. Nevertheless it was a flaky and juicy fillet (no bones!), with a very interesting topping of nuts. Just a little spicy too. I really enjoyed the live piano (sat only 7-9pm I think) - ask for ragtime! Otherwise the ambience was more the style of a condo basement than a romantic bistro. Service was good considering that there was only one person doing everything - she warned me it would be slow, but it wasn't really. Only Fishtaco is better than this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SchrodingersBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Surprise!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

What a great little restaurant, out of the way and excellent food! Don't tell everyone that it is there!!! Nice surprise.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fraser, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I'm a local and had no clue!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

I've live here for a long time and finally made my way up to the bistro and loved it! Perfect meal for the price and Shayla was a wonderful server.

Helpful?
1 Thank mptyahyouknowme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bent NM
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Hideaway Bistro is a very small restaurant with an absolutely great chef. It is located in a condo (Silverado II). Park underground (free) and find the restaurant about 80 feet down the hall. There is a full bar and about 6 tables. I cannot explain why it is not crowded.
One person does the barkeeping and waiting tables. There are two chefs.
Some may complain that service is slow, and that is true, but if you need fast food, go to McDonalds.
The crab stuffed sole is one signature dish. Three filets are wrapped around crabmeat, conical style, and topped by shrimp in vodka sauce to make delicious little volcanoes. It comes with saffron rice and quick-cooked spinach. The trout comes grilled and covered with a thick layer of toasted pecans. The steak is tender and flavorful.
This is one of the most amazing meals I have eaten in years, and I left out the butternut bisque and the crisp green salads.
A plate like these would easily cost $50 elsewhere, but at Hideaway, nothing ran over $20. A tremendous bargain.
Naturally I went back the next night.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Odis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hideaway Bistro also viewed

Winter Park, Grand County
Winter Park, Grand County
 
Winter Park, Grand County
Winter Park, Grand County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing